Financial Centre Frankfurt emerges as major winner of Brexit

Germany’s financial industry is in firm agreement that the Financial Centre Frankfurt will profit from a British exit from the EU, although the outcome of the British vote largely came as a surprise to the industry. The potential impacts on the German economy are also regarded as neutral to positive. These were among the results of a survey of financial institutions and service providers in the Financial Centre Germany. Securities trading and settlement in the Financial Centre Frankfurt will receive a particular boost, according to 78% of respondents. Just over half the survey participants believe the European Banking Authority (EBA) will move from London to Frankfurt. Regarding potential shortages in Frankfurt in case of an influx of business, 72% of the surveyed financial firms are concerned about adequate living space.

“The survey results confirm that many financial market participants had not expected the Brexit outcome at all. This surprise effect is reflected in the high level of stock market volatility we can expect to see in the coming months,” Professor Volker Brühl, Managing Director of the Center for Financial Studies, interprets the results.

For almost all companies surveyed (95%), the Financial Centre Frankfurt emerges as the major winner. In addition, just over two thirds see Paris as another beneficiary of a British exit. 15% expect Amsterdam to profit. Just 6% see a positive effect for London. Hardly any respondents expect to see Milan or Madrid benefit, but one third expect positive impacts on other financial centres.

For almost all companies surveyed (95%), the Financial Centre Frankfurt emerges as the major winner. In addition, just over two thirds see Paris as another beneficiary of a British exit. 15% expect Amsterdam to profit. Just 6% see a positive effect for London. Hardly any respondents expect to see Milan or Madrid benefit, but one third expect positive impacts on other financial centres.

“Frankfurt was well prepared for a Brexit. We will make every effort to take advantage of this once in a century chance. It is clear to us that London will maintain its position as the central financial centre. We hope that the Financial Centre Frankfurt will become the bridge between London and the Eurozone,” explained Hubertus Väth, Managing Director of Frankfurt Main Finance e.V..

When asked in which business areas the Financial Centre Frankfurt could benefit in particular, 78% of respondents pointed to securities trading and settlement. Half the participants see opportunities for the areas of asset management and corporate banking, followed closely by professional services (43%). By contrast, only 7% named retail banking in this regard.

“The results reveal the market participants’ high expectations about the future role of the Financial Centre Frankfurt. Yet other financial centres are also hoping to benefit. I therefore anticipate stiff competition between various locations, so it will be crucial to highlight Frankfurt’s specific strengths to top decision-makers,” adds Professor Brühl.

It is unlikely that the European Banking Authority (EBA) will be able to keep its headquarters in a country outside of the EU. However, it remains to be seen where the EBA will choose as its next location. The majority of the German financial industry (57%) believes the EBA will move to Frankfurt. However, 33% of respondents expect the EBA to relocate to another city.

The German financial industry is also anticipating certain bottle-necks in case business activities shift from London to Frankfurt. Almost three quarters of those surveyed (72%) point to a shortage of living space; half (53%) are concerned about having enough qualified personnel; 27% believe the transport infrastructure may not be sufficient; 22% point to the availability of office space. By contrast, only 11% see Frankfurt’s IT infrastructure as a potential bottle-neck.

Majority of the financial industry in favour of limiting Britain’s access to the EU interior market and expects a Brexit to have neutral to positive impacts on the German economy

In the opinion of most financial institutions and service providers surveyed (68%), the EU should not grant Britain unrestricted access to the EU interior market after a Brexit. By contrast, 22% advocate not introducing any restrictions in spite of a Brexit. Around half the respondents (48%) regard the potential impacts of a Brexit on the German economy as neutral, while 35% see them as positive. Just 15% are anticipating negative impacts.

The results are based on a quarterly management survey of around 400 companies in the German financial sector.
The Center for Financial Studies (CFS) conducts independent and internationally-oriented research in important areas of Financial and Monetary Economics, ranging from Monetary Policy and Financial Stability, Household Finance and Retail Banking to Corporate Finance and Financial Markets. CFS is also a contributor to policy debates and policy analyses, building upon relevant findings in its research areas. In providing a platform for research and policy advice, CFS relies on its international network among academics, the financial industry and central banks in Europe and beyond.

Finanzplatz Frankfurt ist großer Profiteur eines Brexits

Die deutsche Finanzbranche ist sich geschlossen darüber einig, dass der Finanzplatz Frankfurt vom Ausstieg Großbritanniens aus der EU profitieren wird, auch wenn die Entscheidung der Briten die Branche größtenteils überrascht hat. Ebenso werden eher neutrale bis positive Auswirkungen auf die deutsche Wirtschaft erwartet. Das ergab eine aktuelle Umfrage des Center for Financial Studies unter Finanzinstituten und Dienstleistungsunternehmen am Finanzplatz Deutschland. Speziell der Bereich Wertpapierhandel und Abwicklung wird am Finanzplatz Frankfurt dazugewinnen laut 78% der Befragten. Mit einem Umzug der Europäischen Bankenaufsicht (EBA) von London nach Frankfurt rechnet gut die Hälfte der Umfrageteilnehmer. Dabei stellt primär der knappe Wohnraum in Frankfurt bei der Verlagerung von Geschäftsaktivitäten für die befragten Finanzunternehmen (72%) einen Engpass dar.

„Die Umfrageergebnisse bestätigen, dass viele Finanzmarktteilnehmer mit einem Brexit überhaupt nicht gerechnet haben. Dieser Überraschungseffekt spiegelt sich auch in der hohen Volatilität der Aktienmärkte wieder, die uns in den kommenden Monaten begleiten dürfte“, kommentiert Prof. Dr. Volker Brühl, Geschäftsführer des Center for Financial Studies, die Umfrage.

Für nahezu alle befragten Unternehmen (95%) ist der Finanzplatz Frankfurt der große Gewinner. Daneben sehen gut zwei Drittel Paris als weiteren Profiteur eines Brexits. 15% erwarten, dass Amsterdam dazugewinnen wird. Lediglich 6% gehen davon aus, dass auch London profitieren wird. Für Mailand und Madrid werden kaum Vorteile erwartet. Ein Drittel der Befragten erwartet, dass auch andere Finanzplätze profitieren werden.

„Frankfurt ist auf einen Brexit sehr gut vorbereitet gewesen. Wir werden alles daran setzen, diese Jahrhundertchance für Frankfurt zu nutzen, für uns ist klar, dass London der zentrale Finanzplatz bleibt. Daher wollen wir, dass Frankfurt zu der Brücke für London in die Eurozone wird“, kommentiert Hubertus Väth, Geschäftsführer von Frankfurt Main Finance e.V. die Umfrageergebnisse.

Auf die Frage, in welchen Geschäftsbereichen der Finanzplatz Frankfurt besonders profitieren kann, wird der Bereich Wertpapierhandel und Abwicklung von 78% der Befragten genannt. Die Hälfte sieht weitere Chancen für das Asset Management / Vermögensverwaltung und für den Bereich Corporate Banking, knapp gefolgt vom Bereich Professional Services (43%). Retail Banking hingegen wird nur von 7% der Umfrageteilnehmer genannt.

„Die Ergebnisse zeugen von hohen Erwartungen der Marktteilnehmer an die künftige Rolle des Finanzplatzes Frankfurt. Dies erhoffen sich aber auch andere Finanzplätze. Ich rechne daher mit einem intensiven Standortwettbewerb, in dem es darauf ankommen wird, die Stärken Frankfurts gezielt bei Top-Entscheidern hervorzuheben“, führt Professor Brühl weiter aus.

Die Europäische Bankenaufsicht (EBA) wird voraussichtlich ihren Sitz nicht mehr in einem Land haben können, das außerhalb der EU liegt. Wohin die EBA jedoch verlagert wird, ist offen. Die deutsche Finanzbranche rechnet mehrheitlich damit (57%), dass die EBA nach Frankfurt umzieht. Hingegen erwarten 33% der Befragten, dass sich die europäische Bankenbehörde an einem anderen Standort ansiedelt.

Die deutsche Finanzbranche stellt sich auch auf gewisse Engpässe ein, wenn es zu einer Verlagerung von Geschäftsaktivitäten von London nach Frankfurt kommt. Knapp drei Viertel der Befragten (72%) nennt hier den knappen Wohnraum, die Hälfte (53%) sorgt sich um ausreichend qualifiziertes Personal, 27% beurteilen die Verkehrsinfrastruktur kritisch und 22% das Angebot an Büroflächen. Hingegen sehen nur 11% die IT-Infrastruktur in Frankfurt als Engpass an.

Finanzbranche befürwortet mehrheitlich eine Beschränkung der Briten zum EU-Binnenmarkt und erwartet eher neutrale bis positive Auswirkungen auf die deutsche Wirtschaft

Nach Meinung der Mehrheit der befragten Finanzinstitute und Dienstleistungsunternehmen (68%) sollte die EU Großbritannien zukünftig keinen uneingeschränkten Zugang zum Europäischen Binnenmarkt mehr gewähren. Hingegen sprechen sich 22% dafür aus, trotz eines Brexits keine Beschränkungen einzuführen. Die möglichen Auswirkungen eines Brexits auf die deutsche Wirtschaft werden von der Hälfte der Befragten (48%) neutral und von 35% positiv beurteilt. Lediglich 15% erwarten negative Auswirkungen.

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on LinkedInEmail this to someone

Weitere Beiträge zu diesem Thema

CFS-Diskussionsabend zur Entwicklung des deutschen... Das Center for Financial Studies (CFS) feiert den 80. Geburtstag von Dr. Rolf-E. Breuer mit einem Diskussionsabend zu den Zukunftsperspektiven des Kap...
CFS-Umfrage: Finanzbranche hält Blasenbildung auf ... Finanzbranche hält Blasenbildung auf den europäischen Finanzmärkten durch QE-Maßnahmen und Nullzinspolitik der EZB für wahrscheinlich. Rascher Ausstie...
Rationale Anwendung der EBA-Vergabekriterien spric... Die EU-Kommission hat sich zur Vergabe des Sitzes der Europäischen Bankenaufsicht (EBA) geäußert. Die EBA muss als Folge des Ausscheidens von Großbrit...
Ein Jahr Referendum in Großbritannien – eine Brexi... Die Überraschung kam über Nacht, und es gab ein böses Erwachen. Um zwei Uhr in der Nacht, als die ersten Hochrechnungen eintrafen, sah alles noch nach...