Written by 10:00 Financial Centre

Pessimistic sentiment among service providers leads to lower CFS Index level

The CFS Index, which tracks the sentiment of the German financial sector on a quarterly basis, falls by -1.3 points to the level of 106.6 points. The surveyed service providers report lower growth for the second quarter in terms of revenue, earnings, employee numbers and investment volume.

The financial institutions, on the other hand, report a positive trend across all sub-indices. In particular, their growth in revenue and earnings has increased. For the current third quarter, the expectations of the entire financial sector are somewhat more restrained. Only the service providers expect to bring the short-term job cuts of the second quarter to an end.

“The slump in the economy as a whole is increasingly affecting the financial sector; sentiment is currently worse than the actual situation,” comments Professor Rainer Klump, Director of the Center for Financial Studies.

The rating of the future international importance of the Financial Centre Germany fell significantly in the second quarter of 2023, based on the assessment of the financial institutions. With a decline of -4.9 points, the index currently stands at 96.2 points, which puts it below the neutral mark of 100 points again after a brief recovery in the previous quarter.

“This development is a wake-up call. The successes of the past, such as the high number of banks that have relocated business to the Main after Brexit or the establishment of the International Sustainability Standards Board (ISSB), offer numerous starting points for further growth. We should make more determined use of these. Frankfurt can do more,” explains Gerhard Wiesheu, President of Frankfurt Main Finance.

Contrasting sentiment: financial institutions report rising revenue and earnings growth / Sub-indices down for service providers

Revenue growth among the financial institutions increased by +4.4 points to 114.8 points in the second quarter of 2023. This represents an increase of +4.1 points compared to the previous year. By contrast, the service providers report a significant decline of -6.5 points to 109.3 points. This puts their revenue sub-index -2.5 points below the level of a year ago. For the third quarter, the expectations of the financial sector are more restrained.

The surveyed financial institutions and service providers also report contrasting data regarding earnings growth. The corresponding sub-index of the financial institutions rises by +6.2 points to 118.4 points and is now +5.8 points above the level of the previous year. The service providers’ sub-index declines by -1.4 points to 105.2 points and is -4.8 points lower than one year ago. For the current quarter, both groups are anticipating a slight decrease.

Growth in investment volume among service providers drops significantly and is now at the neutral level of 100 points

Growth of the investment volume in product and process innovations among the financial institutions sees a slight gain of +0.4 points to 104.9 points and is only -3.6 points below the previous year’s level. The service providers report a huge drop of -10.9 points to the neutral level of 100 points. This means their sub-index for investment volume is -7.5 points below the level of a year ago. Looking ahead to the current quarter, both groups expect a slight decline.

Service providers report job cuts

In line with the other sub-indices, the financial institutions also record higher growth in employee numbers. The sub-index rises by +2.4 points to 107.8 points and is clearly above the previous year’s level (+5.2 points). Conversely, the service providers report a decline, which is also consistent with the other indicators. The employee numbers sub-index falls by -3.9 points to 99.4 points, which reflects job cuts among the service providers. At -8.5 points, this sub-index is also significantly below the previous year’s level. For the current quarter, the financial institutions expect to recruit fewer employees. The service providers plan to end the job cuts of the second quarter and start hiring again.

More from the latest CFS Index:

Digital Euro

The CFS Index addresses the need for the digital euro in this special issue.

Source: Press Release CFS, 24. August 2023
Images: CFS / Frankfurt Main Finance / Looker_Studio via stock.adobe.com

(Visited 38 times, 1 visits today)
Close

Written by 10:00 Finanzplatz

Pessimistische Stimmung der Dienstleister führt zu rückläufigem CFS-Index-Niveau

Der CFS-Index, der vierteljährlich die Verfassung der deutschen Finanzbranche abbildet, sinkt um -1,3 Punkte auf den Stand von 106,6 Punkten. Die Dienstleister melden rückläufige Daten für das zweite Quartal bezüglich ihres Umsatz-, Ertrags- und Mitarbeiterwachstums sowie des Wachstums des Investitionsvolumens.

Die Finanzinstitute hingegen verzeichnen eine positive Entwicklung aller Sub-Indizes. Besonders das Umsatz- und Ertragswachstum ist gestiegen. Für das laufende dritte Quartal sind die Erwartungen der gesamten Finanzbranche etwas verhaltener. Lediglich die Dienstleister erwarten, den kurzfristigen Stellenabbau des zweiten Quartals wieder beenden zu können.

„Der Konjunktureinbruch in der Gesamtwirtschaft wirkt sich zunehmend auch auf die Finanzbranche aus; die Stimmung ist momentan schlechter als die Lage selbst“, kommentiert Prof. Dr. Rainer Klump, Direktor des Center for Financial Studies, die Ergebnisse.

Die Bewertung der zukünftigen internationalen Bedeutung des Finanzplatzes Deutschland ist im zweiten Quartal 2023 deutlich gesunken, basierend auf der Einschätzung der Finanzinstitute. Mit einem Minus von -4,9 Punkten liegt der aktuelle Indexwert bei 96,2 Punkten und befindet sich nach einer kurzen Erholung im vorangegangenen Quartal wieder unter der neutrale Marken von 100 Punkten.

„Diese Entwicklung ist ein Weckruf. Die Erfolge der Vergangenheit, wie die hohe Zahl der Banken, die nach dem Brexit Geschäft an den Main verlagert haben oder die Ansiedlung des International Sustainability Standards Board (ISSB), bieten zahlreiche Ansatzpunkte für weiteres Wachstum, die wir beherzter nutzen sollten. Frankfurt kann mehr“, erläutert Gerhard Wiesheu, Präsident von Frankfurt Main Finance.

Gegensätzliche Stimmung: Finanzinstitute melden steigendes Umsatz- und Ertragswachstum / gesunkene Sub-Indizes bei den Dienstleistern

Das Wachstum der Umsätze der Finanzinstitute ist im zweiten Quartal 2023 um +4,4 Punkte auf 114,8 Punkte gestiegen. Das entspricht einem Plus von 4,1 Punkten im Vergleich zum Vorjahr. Hingegen melden die Dienstleister einen deutlichen Rückgang um -6,5 Punkte auf 109,3 Punkte. Sie liegen nun -2,5 Punkte unter dem Stand von vor einem Jahr. Für das dritte Quartal sind die Erwartungen der Finanzbranche verhaltener.

Auch hinsichtlich des Wachstums der Erträge melden die befragten Finanzinstitute und Dienstleister gegensätzliche Daten. Der entsprechende Sub-Index der Finanzinstitute steigt um +6,2 Punkte auf 118,4 Punkte und liegt nun +5,8 Punkte über dem Stand des Vorjahres. Bei den Dienstleistern sinkt der Sub-Index um -1,4 Punkte auf 105,2 Punkte und befindet sich -4,8 Punkte unter dem Stand des Vorjahres. Für das laufende Quartal rechnen beide Gruppen mit einem leichten Rückgang.

Das Wachstum des Investitionsvolumens der Dienstleister sinkt deutlich und befindet sich nun auf dem neutralen Niveau von 100 Punkten

Das Wachstum des Investitionsvolumens in Produkt- und Prozessinnovationen der Finanzinstitute steigt leicht um +0,4 Punkte auf 104,9 Punkte und liegt nur noch -3,6 Punkte unter dem Vorjahresniveau. Die Dienstleister melden einen enormen Rückgang um -10,9 Punkte auf den neutralen Stand von 100 Punkten. Sie liegen damit -7,5 Punkte unter dem Stand von vor einem Jahr. Für das laufende Quartal erwarten beide Gruppen einen leichten Rückgang.

Dienstleister melden Stellenabbau

Wie bereits bei den anderen Sub-Indizes verzeichnen die Finanzinstitute auch beim Mitarbeiterwachstum einen Anstieg. Der Sub-Index steigt um +2,4 Punkte auf 107,8 Punkte und befindet sich mit +5,2 Punkten deutlich über dem Vorjahresniveau. Die Dienstleister hingegen melden, ebenfalls wie bei den anderen Sub-Indizes, einen Rückgang. Der Mitarbeiter-Sub-Index sinkt um -3,9 Punkte auf 99,4 Punkte, was einem Stellenabbau entspricht. Der Sub-Index befindet sich mit -8,5 Punkten auch deutlich unter dem Vorjahresniveau. Für das laufende Quartal rechnen die Finanzinstitute mit weniger Mitarbeitereinstellungen. Die Dienstleister planen, den Stellenabbau des zweiten Quartals zu beenden und wieder Mitarbeiter einzustellen.

 

Mehr aus dem aktuellen CFS-Index:

Digitaler Euro

Der CFS Index befasst sich in dieser Sonderfrage mit der Notwendigkeit des digitalen Euro.

Quelle: Pressemitteilung CFS vom 24. August 2023
Bilder: CFS / Frankfurt Main Finance / Looker_Studio via stock.adobe.com

(Visited 62 times, 1 visits today)
Close