Written by 8:00 Financial Centre

Optimistic expectations in the financial sector keep CFS Index level unchanged despite lower values in third quarter

The CFS index, which assesses the state of the German financial sector on a quarterly basis, remains virtually unchanged at 106.5 points (-0.1 points) – even though the financial sector reported declining figures in the third quarter. Find out more about the background in this article.

The CFS Index, which tracks the sentiment of the German financial sector on a quarterly basis, remains at 106.5 points, almost unchanged in the last quarter (-0.1 points). The financial sector as a whole reported a decline in revenue, earnings and workforce growth for the third quarter. Only the growth in investment volume increased, particularly among the financial institutions. However, expectations for the current fourth quarter are much more optimistic across the entire financial sector.

“The expectations of the surveyed institutions are starting to pick up again, contrary to the trend of rising refinancing costs and loan defaults,” comments Professor Andreas Hackethal, Director of the Center for Financial Studies.

The rating of the future international importance of the Financial Centre Germany fell dramatically again in the third quarter of 2023. With a drop of -6.0 points, the current level of 90.2 points is the lowest since the index surveys began in 2007. This assessment is shared by the financial institutions and service providers alike.

 “The international standing of the financial centre is clearly better than the expectations for its future. Therefore, it is important that the city and state are now working with renewed vigour on the future viability of the financial centre. Above all, we need to make people who are new to the financial centre feel welcome and offer them attractive prospects,” explains Gerhard Wiesheu, President of Frankfurt Main Finance.

Financial sector reports lower revenue and earnings growth

Revenue growth among the financial institutions fell by -5.9 points to 108.9 points in the third quarter of 2023. This level still represents a rise of +2.3 points compared to the previous year. The service providers also reported a decline of -4.8 points to 104.5 points. This puts their revenue sub-index at the previous year’s level. Expectations for the whole financial sector are somewhat more optimistic for the fourth quarter.

Growth in financial industry earnings is also slowing. The corresponding sub-index for the financial institutions fell by -1.6 points to 116.8 points, but is still +11.5 points higher than one year ago. The earnings sub-index for the service providers declined by -1.7 points to 103.5 points, which is +3.5 points above the previous year’s level. For the current quarter, the financial institutions expect a slight downturn, while the service providers anticipate increased growth in earnings.

Higher growth in investment volume across the financial industry

Growth of the investment volume in product and process innovations among the financial institutions climbs +5.1 points to 110.0 points and is now +1.7 points higher than the previous year’s level. The service providers also reported an increase of +2.0 points to 102.0 points, which is the same level as a year ago. For the current quarter, the financial institutions expect investment growth to decline, while the service providers anticipate an increase.

Service providers make significant job cuts but are optimistic for the fourth quarter

As with other sub-indices, the financial institutions reported lower growth in employee numbers. The sub-index fell by -1.7 points to 106.1 points, but is still +2.7 points above the previous year’s level. The service providers also recorded a decline. The employee numbers sub-index dropped by -4.5 points to 94.9 points, which reflects substantial job cuts. At -7.9 points, the sub-index is also well below the previous year’s level. The financial institutions hardly anticipate any change in the current quarter. The service providers are optimistic that they can stop cutting jobs in the fourth quarter and start hiring again.

More from the current CFS Index:

Debt Brake

In this special issue, the CFS Index looks at the adherence to the debt brake.

Source: CFS press release from 30 November 2023

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
(Visited 26 times, 1 visits today)
Close

Written by 8:00 Finanzplatz

Optimistische Erwartungen der Finanzbranche sorgen für unverändertes CFS-Index-Niveau trotz gesunkener Werte im dritten Quartal

Der CFS-Index, der die Verfassung der deutschen Finanzbranche quartalsweise bewertet, bleibt mit -0,1 Punkten nahezu unverändert bei 106,5 Punkten – obwohl die Finanzbranche im dritten Quartal rückläufige Zahlen meldete. Erfahren Sie jetzt mehr zu den Hintergründen in diesem Artikel.

Der CFS-Index, der vierteljährlich die Verfassung der deutschen Finanzbranche abbildet, verweilt mit -0,1 Punkten nahezu unverändert auf dem Stand von 106,5 Punkten. Dabei meldet die gesamte Finanzbranche für das dritte Quartal rückläufige Daten bezüglich ihres Umsatz-, Ertrags- und Mitarbeiterwachstums. Nur das Wachstum des Investitionsvolumens ist gestiegen, besonders bei den Finanzinstituten. Jedoch sind die Erwartungen für das laufende vierte Quartal der gesamten Finanzbranche deutlich optimistischer.

 „Die Erwartungen der befragten Institute hellen sich gegen den Trend steigender Refinanzierungskosten und Kreditausfälle wieder etwas auf“, kommentiert Prof. Dr. Andreas Hackethal, Direktor des Center for Financial Studies, die Ergebnisse.

Die Bewertung der zukünftigen internationalen Bedeutung des Finanzplatzes Deutschland ist im dritten Quartal 2023 weiter drastisch gesunken. Mit einem Minus von -6,0 Punkten erreicht der aktuelle Indexwert bei 90,2 Punkten den tiefsten Stand seit Beginn der Indexbefragungen im Jahr 2007. Diese Einschätzung teilen die Finanzinstitute und Dienstleister gleichermaßen.

„Das internationale Standing des Finanzplatzes ist eindeutig besser als die Erwartungen an seine Zukunft. Da ist es gut, dass jetzt in Stadt und Land mit neuem Elan an der Zukunftsfähigkeit des Finanzplatzes gearbeitet werden soll. Vor allem müssen wir die Menschen, die neu an den Finanzplatz kommen, spürbar willkommen heißen und ihnen eine attraktive Perspektive bieten“, erläutert Gerhard Wiesheu, Präsident von Frankfurt Main Finance.

Finanzbranche meldet rückläufiges Umsatz- und Ertragswachstum

Das Wachstum der Umsätze der Finanzinstitute ist im dritten Quartal 2023 um -5,9 Punkte auf 108,9 Punkte gesunken. Das entspricht immer noch einem Plus von +2,3 Punkten im Vergleich zum Vorjahr. Die Dienstleister melden ebenfalls einen Rückgang um -4,8 Punkte auf 104,5 Punkte. Sie liegen nun auf dem Vorjahresniveau. Für das vierte Quartal sind die Erwartungen der Finanzbranche etwas optimistischer.

Auch das Wachstum der Erträge der Finanzindustrie ist rückläufig. Der entsprechende Sub-Index der Finanzinstitute sinkt um -1,6 Punkte auf 116,8 Punkte, liegt jedoch +11,5 Punkte über dem Stand des Vorjahres. Bei den Dienstleistern sinkt der Sub-Index um -1,7 Punkte auf 103,5 Punkte und befindet sich +3,5 Punkte über dem Vorjahresniveau. Für das laufende Quartal rechnen die Finanzinstitute mit einem minimalen Rückgang, die Dienstleister mit einem erhöhten Wachstum der Erträge.

Das Wachstum des Investitionsvolumens der Finanzbranche steigt

Das Wachstum des Investitionsvolumens in Produkt- und Prozessinnovationen der Finanzinstitute steigt um +5,1 Punkte auf 110,0 Punkte und liegt nun +1,7 Punkte über dem Vorjahresniveau. Die Dienstleister melden ebenfalls einen Anstieg um +2,0 Punkte auf 102,0 Punkte. Sie liegen nun auf dem Stand von vor einem Jahr. Für das laufende Quartal erwarten die Finanzinstitute ein sinkendes, die Dienstleister hingegen ein steigendes Wachstum der Investitionen.

Dienstleister bauen erheblich Stellen ab, sind aber optimistisch für das vierte Quartal

Wie bereits bei anderen Sub-Indizes verzeichnen die Finanzinstitute auch beim Mitarbeiterwachstum einen Rückgang. Der Sub-Index sinkt um -1,7 Punkte auf 106,1 Punkte, befindet sich jedoch +2,7 Punkte über dem Vorjahresniveau. Die Dienstleister melden ebenfalls einen Rückgang. Der Mitarbeiter-Sub-Index sinkt um -4,5 Punkte auf 94,9 Punkte, was einem erheblichen Stellenabbau entspricht. Der Sub-Index befindet sich mit -7,9 Punkten auch deutlich unter dem Vorjahresniveau. Für das laufende Quartal rechnen die Finanzinstitute kaum mit Änderungen. Die Dienstleister sind optimistisch, den Stellenabbau im vierten Quartal beenden zu können und wieder Mitarbeiter einzustellen.

Mehr aus dem aktuellen CFS-Index:

Schuldenbremse

Der CFS Index befasst sich in dieser Sonderfrage mit der Einhaltung der Schuldenbremse.

Quelle: CFS Pressemitteilung vom 30.11.2023

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
(Visited 39 times, 1 visits today)
Close