Destination Frankfurt

You’ve heard about the Eurozone’s leading financial centre, but have you ever really met Frankfurt?

Modern architecture, scenic landscapes, a vibrant museum and theatre scene and emerging start-ups: The Financial Centre Frankfurt and the Rhine-Main-Region combine modern lifestyle with tradition and culture of its region. Outstanding infrastructure, great schools and universities, and an amazing Quality of Life – just a few reasons why banks and Financial Services affected by Brexit are flocking to Frankfurt.

Still not convinced? Take two minutes to watch our short film and we’re sure you’ll Fall in love with Frankfurt!

Frankfurt am Main is one of the most important Financial Centres in the world. But the city is much more than just its bank towers which shape the unique Skyline in the middle of Germany. The city’s countless advantages make the Financial Centre Frankfurt the destination of choice for financial services firms and banks affected by Brexit. Why have 26 banks chosen Frankfurt? For example, in Mercer’s Quality of Life Ranking 2018 the Financial Centre Frankfurt ranks 7th – the city is one of the most liveable cities in the world. Or becuase with 52 percent of green areas in the city centre, Frankfurt is more green than mertropolises like New York with only 26 percent or Paris with 23 percent.

What other factors make Frankfurt to such a great place to live? Learn more below about why its inhabitants, workers and travellers love Destination Frankfurt.

Events

What events are taking place in the Frankfurt Rhine-Main Region this weekend? From the Apfelwein Festival to Grüne Söße Festival or the Dippemess: Frankfurt parties, loves food and dances. Also theatres, galeries and museums invite their visitors to escape the everyday hustle and bustle with exhibits and shows from renowned German and international artists. In our category Frankfurt Life we announce and review events in the Frankfurt Rhine-Main Region.

Academia

Goethe Business School, House of Finance, Frankfurt School of Finance & Management, WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management, Gutenberg School of Management and Economics, Mannheim Business School and many more! The Frankfurt Rhine-Main Region is an international talent pool for the financial sector. 160,000 students who study at the region’s renowned universities strengthen the Rhine-Main Region and the Financial Centre Frankfurt’s innovative power.

Nature

Frankfurt is green! Almost one third of the city area is covered by Frankfurt’s Green Belt. This green area surrounding the Financial Centre Frankfurt offers, within a short distance to the vibant city centre, spaces for relaxation, sports and art. The Green Belt’s cycling track, its meadow orchards and small streams: the Hessian television station HR made a reportage about Frankfurt’s green lung. Click here to watch the full reportage (in German).

Infrastructure

Frankfurt is the European centre for data traffic. DE-CIX one of the world’s leading internet exchange hubs is located in Frankfurt am Main. Especially for FinTechs and emerging digital start-ups of all sectors, this excellent digital infrastructure is an important advantage of the location. But Frankfurt does not only boast highspeed digital connections, travellers are able to reach almost every European capital in two hours from the Frankfurt Airport, Europe’s third busiest. And Frankfurt’s Main Station, the busiest in Germany, connects Frankfurt to the rest of Europe and Germany with more than 1100 trains every day!

FinTech Ecosystem

Many emerging FinTechs are located in Frankfurt am Main. In fact, the Financial Centre Frankfurt was named the Digital Hub for FinTech by Germany’s Federal Ministry of Economics. The Frankfurt Rhine-Main Region offers young companies great advantages like excellent life- and work conditions. One advantage that is clearly visible with a view to the famous sykline is the proximity to established banks. Many of the established banks already offer extensive cooperation models to FinTechs. Moreover, the city of Frankfurt and the state of Hesse actively support the Frankfurt Rhine-Main Region’s FinTech ecosystem. Find more information in our FinTech category.

Market Environment

The Frankfurt Rhine-Main Region is a cluster region with strong network of companies from divers sectors and countries. Whether the financial industry, health care, autotomotive, aerospace, chemical industry or logistics: The business potential for German and international actors is based on a strong concentration of successfull future-oriented companies across all sectors that build the thriving economy in the Frankfurt Rhine-Main Region.

Destination Frankfurt

Sie haben sicher schon von Europas führendem Finanzzentrum gehört, aber haben Sie Frankfurt am Main wirklich kennengelernt?

Moderne Architektur, malerische Landschaften, eine lebendige Museen- und Theaterszene und aufstrebende Start-Ups: Das Finanzzentrum Frankfurt am Main und die Rhein-Main-Region verbinden einen hochmodernen Lifestyle mit Traditionen und der Kultur der Region. Eine großartige Infrastruktur, ausgezeichnete Schulen und Universitäten und eine herausrandende Lebensqualität – dies sind nur einige der vielen Gründe, warum Banken und Finanzdienstleister, die von den Folgen des Brexit Bretroffen sind, sich von Frankfurt am Main angezogen fühlen.

Noch nicht überzeugt? Nehmen Sie sich für unseren Kurzfilm zwei Minuten Zeit und wir versichern Ihnen, Sie werden sich in Frankfurt verlieben!

Der Finanzplatz Frankfurt ist eines der bedeutendsten Finanzzentren der Welt. Aber die Stadt ist weitaus mehr als ihre Bankentürme, die die einzigartige Skyline in Mitten Deutschlands formen. Unzählige Standortvorteile machen Frankfurt am Main zur beliebten Wahl für Finanzdienstleister und Banken, die direkt vom Brexit betroffen sind. Warum haben sich bereits 26 Banken für Frankfurt entschieden?  In Mercer’s Quality of Life Ranking 2018 belegte Frankfurt Platz sieben und ist somit eine der zehn lebenswertesten Städte der Welt. Außerdem überholt Frankfurt am Main mit einem Grünanteil von 52 Prozent im Stadtgebiet beispielswiese Metropolen wie New York mit nur 26 Prozent Grünanteil oder Paris mit 23Prozent.

Welche anderen Faktoren sind es außerdem, die die Stadt Frankfurt am Main so lebenswert machen? Unten erfahren Sie, warum echte Frankfurter, aber auch Personen die hier arbeiten oder auf Reisen sind, Destination Frankfurt lieben.

Events

Rheingau Gourmet und Wein Festival_Abendveranstaltung. Source: Rheingau Gourmet und Wein Festival

Welche Veranstaltungen finden dieses Wochenende in der Rhein-Main Region statt? Vom Apfelweinfest bis zum Grüne Soße Festival und der Dippemess: Am Finanzplatz Frankfurt wird gefeiert, geschlemmt und getanzt. Aber auch Theater, Galerien und Museen laden ihre Besucher ein, die Zeit zu vergessen und sich nationalen und internationalen Künstlern zu widmen. In unserer Kategorie Frankfurt Life berichten wir regelmäßig über die Veranstaltungen in der Rhein-Main Region.

Wissenschaft

House of Finance, SAFE, Goethe Business School, Frankfurt School of Finance and Management, WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management, Gutenberg School of Management and Economics: Das Rhein-Main Gebiet ist ein internationaler Talentpool für den Finanzsektor. 160.000 Studenten, die an renommierten Universitäten der Region studieren, stärken die Innovationskraft der Rhein-Main Region und des Finanzplatz‘ Frankfurt.

Natur

Frankfurt ist grün! Denn knapp ein Drittel der Stadtfläche wird vom Frankfurter Grüngürtel bedeckt. Dieser grüne Ring, der sich um den Finanzplatz Frankfurt legt, bietet in direkter Nähe zur lebendigen Innenstadt, Räume für Erholung, Sport und Kunst. Den Radwanderweg des Grüngürtels, seine Streuobstwiesen und malerischen Bäche hat der Hessische Rundfunk zum Anlass genommen, eine Reportage über Frankfurts grüne Lunge zu drehen. Hier geht es zur Reportage.

Infrastruktur

Frankfurt ist das europäische Center für Data Traffic. Mit De-CIX hat der weltweit führende Internet Exchange Hub seinen Sitz in Frankfurt am Main. Diese exzellente digitale Infrastruktur ist vor allem für FinTechs und aufstrebende Digitalunternehmen aller Branchen ein bedeutender Standortvorteil. Nicht nur durch die virtuellen Welten lässt es sich in Frankfurt mit Highspeed reisen, in der reelen Welt erreicht man vom Frankfurter Flughafen fast alle europäischen Hauptstädte in maximal zwei Stunden. Und, Frankfurts Hauptbahnhof, der größte in Deutschland, verbindet Frankfurt mit anderen Teilen Deutschlands und Europas mit mehr als 1100 Zugverbindungen täglich!

FinTech Ökosystem

Zahlreiche aufstrebende FinTechs haben ihren Sitz in Frankfurt am Main. Die Stadt wurde sogar vom Bundeswirtschaftsministerium als Digital-Hub für FinTechs bezeichnet. Und das nicht ohne Grund. Das Rhein-Main-Gebiet bietet jungen Unternehmen besondere Standortvorteile wie exzellente Lebens- und Arbeitsbedingungen. Ein Vorteil, der bei einem Blick auf die Frankfurter Skyline besonders deutlich auf der Hand liegt, ist die Nähe zu etablierten Banken. Viele der etablierten Banken bieten FinTechs bereits ausführliche Kooperationsmodelle an. Außerdem fördern die Stadt Frankfurt und das Land Hessen die Frankfurter FinTech Szene aktiv. Weiter Informationen haben wir in unserer Kategorie FinTech zusammengestellt.

Märkte

Das Rhein-Main Gebiet ist eine Cluster Region mit starken Unternehmensnetzwerken aus zahlreichen Branchen und Ländern. Ob Finanzindustrie, HealthCare, Automotive, Aerospace, Chemieindustrie oder Logistik: Das Geschäftspotenzial für inländische wie ausländische Akteure beruht auf der hohen Konzentration erfolgreicher, zukunftsorientierter Unternehmen aus vielen Branchen, die aus der Region Rhein-Main einen prosperierenden Wirtschaftsraum machen.