Do you have any questions?

In the wake of the Brexit decision, a number of banks will be relocating. This raises a lot of questions – political ones as well as quite practical ones.

The search for an alternative location to London is currently occupying the thoughts of globally operating banks. Some have already opted for Frankfurt and are currently moving here. Others are still weighing up the pros and cons of the alternatives in the European Union (EU). Frankfurt has a number of advantages in such comparisons.

As an international financial centre, Frankfurt has a lot to offer. The residence of the European Central Bank alone lends the location a special allure. But there are more solid arguments. That’s why – not only since the ultimate Brexit resolution – the city and state governments, politicians and interest groups have been working hard to provide decision-makers in the banking world with tangible arguments and sound Information.

Core issue labour law

One of the core issues that comes up again and again in dialogues is the protection against dismissal in German labour law. This requires that alternative employment must be sounded out. If a trader loses money for his employer, the employer will not want to have to employ him elsewhere. This is because the game runs differently on the trading floors. The dealers have less security, but are paid far better. Around 80 percent of the income millionaires from EU banks are based in London. Most of them are employed in dealing. Such a deal turns out to be good for both parties: if an employer wants to dismiss an employee, he or she receives an easily calculated compensation.

The importance of this aspect is also well-known in the political community. The Hessian Finance Minister Dr. Thomas Schäfer has already taken up the topic: “Nothing has changed as far as our objective is concerned of easing protection against dismissal for employees with very high income in credit and financial service companies,” he stressed once again in recent days. He knows that he has the support of the majority of people when he says that a high-paid trader is less worthy of protection than a normal bank employee. And this hits home with the decision-makers in the major banks.

However, the Finance Minister is convinced that the solution cannot merely be derived from the income: “It has become clear that a solution in labour law tailored to the specific credit and financing companies finds much greater support.” What he means is to exclude a precisely defined group of risk carriers from the protection against dismissal – and therefore to remove the basis of one of the main criticisms of the Frankfurt location. The Hessian state government considers such a statutory amendment to be feasible and expects a bill to be introduced after the German federal elections in autumn 2018.

Dr. Thomas Schäfer, Hessian Finance Minister: “We want to ease the protection against dismissal rights for the group of risk carriers in credit and financial service companies.”

Go Frankfurt Tax

There are also questions in the UK as regards German tax law that require elucidation. A major hurdle is not only the interpretation of the law, but also the German language. In order to help all those who want to come to Frankfurt as Brexit immigrants, the Hessian Ministry of Finance has set up an English-language homepage and a hotline. This is an offer to answer the very practical questions that arise when employees and their families move to another country, to a new city where a foreign language is spoken. The Finance State Secretary Bernadette Weyland has activated the service in mid-June: “Call us, write an e-mail or visit us online. We are happy to help you in English.”

Dr. Bernadette Weyland, Hessian Finance State Secretary: “Citizen Service has a long tradition with us. We now offer this service in English as well.”

Frankfurt is being heard

From major political decisions to small-scale assistance in day-to-day issues – there’s a lot of movement going on at the moment to make Frankfurt an attractive, and also likeable, location for the employees of banks from all over the world. To do the right thing is the indispensable prerequisite in such a competition among locations. To talk about it is the essential groundwork. This is also the maxim of Hubertus Väth, who, as Managing Director of Frankfurt Main Finance, has conducted over 600 discussions with journalists from all over the world since the Brexit decision: “We have achieved that the world is talking about Frankfurt. We are in the pole position as regards major banks relocating their headquarters after the Brexit and can already record numerous successes.” That’s why he is not only meeting with representatives of large and prestigious media companies, but also with the Japanese newspaper Yomiuri Shimbun, the New Zealand channel Newstalk ZB and the Russian online platform Vestnik Kavkaza. In this way, the message of Frankfurt Main Finance can be transported into the farthest corners of the world. The fact that he is being heard is shown by the great media echo: since the Brexit decision, there have been reports in more than 200 media from 31 countries in 525 articles, which corresponds to a coverage reaching over 2.6 billion Readers.

Hubertus Väth, Managing Director of Frankfurt Main Finance: “We are in the pole position as regards major banks relocating their headquarters after the Brexit.”

Picture credits: bilder-bibliothek.blogspot.de / Skyline – Frankfurt am Main, HMdF / Sabrina Feige

Do you have any questions?

Im Zuge des Brexit werden einige Banken ihren Standort verlagern. Da kommen viele Fragen auf – politische und auch ganz praktische.

Die Suche nach der Standortalternative zu London treibt derzeit die global agierenden Banken um. Einige haben sich schon für Frankfurt entschieden und siedeln derzeit um. Andere wägen die Vor- und Nachteile der Alternativen in der Europäischen Union (EU) noch ab. Frankfurt hat in diesen Vergleichen einige Pluspunkte.

Als internationales Finanzzentrum hat Frankfurt vieles zu bieten. Allein schon der Sitz der europäischen Zentralbank verleiht dem Standort eine Sonderstellung. Aber es gibt noch mehr handfeste Argumente. Deshalb wird – nicht erst seit der finalen Brexit-Entscheidung – von Stadt und Land, von Politikern und Interessensvertretungen mit größtem Engagement daran gearbeitet, die Entscheider in den Banken mit fundierten Informationen zu versorgen.

Knackpunkt Arbeitsrecht

Einer der Knackpunkte, der in Gesprächen immer wieder aufkommt, ist der Kündigungsschutz im deutschen Arbeitsrecht. Dieser fordert, dass Alternativbeschäftigungen ausgelotet werden müssen. Verliert ein Händler Geld für seinen Arbeitgeber, will der ihn nicht anderweitig beschäftigen müssen. Denn in den Handelsräumen läuft das Spiel anders. Dort finden die Händler zwar weniger Sicherheit, werden dafür aber weit besser bezahlt. Rund 80 Prozent der Einkommensmillionäre aus den Banken der EU sitzen in London. Die meisten davon sind im Handel beschäftigt. Dieser Deal geht für beide auf: Will ein Arbeitgeber sich von einem Mitarbeiter trennen, bekommt der eine einfach zu bestimmende Abfindung.

Wie wichtig dieser Aspekt ist, weiß auch die Politik. Hessens Finanzminister Dr. Thomas Schäfer hat sich dem Thema schon länger verschrieben: „An unserer Zielsetzung, den Kündigungsschutz bei Mitarbeitern von Kredit- und Finanzdienstleistungsunternehmen mit sehr hohem Einkommen zu lockern, hat sich nichts geändert“, betonte er dieser Tage erneut. Er weiß sich mit der Mehrzahl der Menschen einig, dass ein Händler mit hohem Gehalt weniger schutzbedürftig ist, als der normale Bankangestellte. Und damit trifft er bei den Standortentscheidern in den Großbanken auch ins Schwarze.

Pauschal am Einkommen könne eine Lösung aber nicht festgemacht werden, ist sich der Finanzminister sicher: „Es hat sich gezeigt, dass eine passgenau auf die Kredit- und Finanzierungsunternehmen zugeschnittene Lösung im Arbeitsrecht deutlich größere Unterstützung findet.“ Gemeint ist damit, einen eng definierten Personenkreis der Risikoträger vom rigiden Kündigungsschutz auszunehmen – und damit einem der Hauptkritikpunkte am Standort die Grundlage zu entziehen. Die hessische Landesregierung hält diese gesetzliche Änderung für realisierbar und rechnet nach der Bundestagswahl – im Herbst 2018 – mit einer Vorlage.

Dr. Thomas Schäfer, Finanzminister Hessen: „Wir wollen den Kündigungsschutz für den Personenkreis der Risikoträger in Kredit- und Finanzdienstleistungsunternehmen lockern.“

Go Frankfurt Tax

Fragen gibt es auf der Insel aber auch zum erklärungsbedürftigen deutschen Steuerrecht. Eine große Hürde ist dabei nicht nur die Auslegung des Gesetzes, sondern auch die deutsche Sprache. Um all jenen zu helfen, die als Brexit-Zuzügler nach Frankfurt kommen wollen, hat das hessische Finanzministerium deshalb eine englischsprachige Homepage und Hotline eingerichtet. Es ist ein Angebot für die ganz praktischen Fragen, die aufkommen, wenn Mitarbeiter und ihre Familien in ein anderes Land, eine neue Stadt mit einer fremden Sprache ziehen. Finanzstaatssekretärin Dr. Bernadette Weyland hat den Service Mitte Juni freigeschaltet: „Rufen Sie uns an, schreiben Sie eine Mail oder besuchen Sie uns online. Wir helfen gerne auf Englisch weiter.“

Dr. Bernadette Weyland, Hessens Finanzstaatssekretärin: „Bürgerservice hat bei uns eine lange Tradition. Diesen Service bieten wir nun auch auf Englisch an.“

Frankfurt findet Gehör

Von der großen politischen Entscheidung bis zur kleinen Hilfe in alltäglichen Fragen – es ist derzeit vieles in Bewegung, um Frankfurt zu einem attraktiven und auch sympathischen Standort für Mitarbeiter der Banken aus aller Welt zu machen. Das Richtige tun ist in einem solchen Standortwettbewerb die unabdingbare Voraussetzung. Darüber zu reden, die unverzichtbare Kür. Das ist auch das Motto von Hubertus Väth, der als Geschäftsführer von Frankfurt Main Finance seit dem Brexit-Entscheid über 600 Gespräche mit Journalisten aus aller Welt geführt hat: „Wir haben erreicht, dass die Welt über Frankfurt spricht. Wir sind in der Poleposition für die Ansiedlung von Europazentralen von großen Banken nach dem Brexit und können schon zahlreiche Erfolge verbuchen.“ Deshalb trifft er sich nicht nur mit den Vertretern großer, renommierter Medien, sondern beispielsweise auch mit der japanischen Yomiuri Shimbun, mit dem neuseeländischen Sender Newstalk ZB und auch mit der russischen Online-Plattform Vestnik Kavkaza. So gelingt es, die Botschaften von Frankfurt Main Finance in die entlegensten Ecken der Welt zu transportieren. Dass er damit Gehör findet, zeigt die große Medienresonanz: Seit dem Brexit-Entscheid wurde von über 200 Medien aus 31 Ländern in 525 Artikeln berichtet, was einer Reichweite von über 2,6 Mrd. Lesern entspricht.

Hubertus Väth, Geschäftsführer Frankfurt Main Finance: „Wir sind in der Poleposition für die Ansiedlung von Europazentralen von großen Banken nach dem Brexit.“

Bildnachweise: bilder-bibliothek.blogspot.de / Skyline – Frankfurt am Main, HMdF / Sabrina Feige

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on LinkedInEmail this to someone