Financial Centre Initiative Resonates Worldwide

FMF knows how to make use of expertise and appreciation in all matters and interests of the financial industry

Lutz Raettig

By Dr. Lutz Raettig, President of Frankfurt Main Finance

This month, Frankfurt Main Finance (FMF) will be celebrating its ten-year anniversary – not without pride of what has been achieved, not without self-criticism as to what could have been done better, and not without respect for what foreseeably still lies ahead of us – but also with confidence and well-founded and justified hopes.

FMF has now been the voice of the Frankfurt financial centre for a decade. This does not only mean the City of Frankfurt, but the region as a whole. The initiative to establish the association is attributed to former Prime Minister of Hesse Roland Koch and the former Lord Mayor of the City of Frankfurt, Petra Roth. Both wanted to remedy an obvious deficiency. After all, according to a very apt analysis by “Börsen-Zeitung” in August 2008, what was lacking – unlike the situation in France or in Great Britain – was an effective, overarching marketing drive for the national financial centre. Another factor in this important and so vital industry for a highly developed economy like Germany was the lack of an independent and clearly audible mouthpiece.

The purpose of the association, as formulated in its founding charter, logically and primarily was to reinforce Frankfurt’s position and that of the Rhine-Main region as a business centre and, in particular, as a location for financial services in international competition. A task that those responsible have been pursuing over the last ten years and have not lost sight of to this day.

“Frankfurt Main what?” This is how the already mentioned article of this newspaper managed to pinpoint the probably most common response to the question concerning Frankfurt Main Finance – appropriate and provocative in the year of its foundation. Today, ten years later, it can be claimed with all justification, backed up by figures, that the financial centre initiative meets with a worldwide response, is appreciated as a competent contact in all matters relating to the financial industry and knows how to benefit from this for positioning the location as such.

This certainly did not happen automatically. One example: Frankfurt Main Finance was ready when Brexit triggered an absolute storm in the European map of the financial industry literally overnight. In the early hours after the officially announced outcome of the Brexit referendum, of all European financial centre initiatives FMF was the first to raise a response, succeeding in drawing the attention of the world press alone. Interviews were given every quarter of an hour.

This elevated FMF to the position of a highly coveted contact. Until today, FMF has been quoted in over 90 countries in the world in just under 6,500 articles in almost 2,000 different media in connection with Brexit alone. The media equivalent value achieved is in the region of 100 million dollars.

No Simple Task

However, in the early years after its foundation, the task at hand was to establish the association, set up work flows, establish topics and work through the financial crisis. It was important to find resonance at all, to be of relevance and to raise money to this end. This was only possible by broadening the membership base. It is never an easy task to collect private money for the public good. This was even more difficult in our foundation phase.

All of us can recall August 2008: the financial crisis had almost reached its peak with the failure of the US investment bank Lehman Brothers. The financial industry was busy reducing its risks and avoiding expenditure like the plague. Therefore, we are all the more grateful to our members, the twelve founding members and some 50 members who have joined us since. Without them, we certainly would not exist today. Many thanks!

The financial crisis and the course it took laid down the topics not only for the media, but also for FMF. To this day, it is a key interest of the financial centre initiative to regain trust and confidence lost in the financial industry, to draw attention to the indispensable services of the financial sector for the welfare of a state and its societal relevance, as well as to raise interests of budding talents for the industry as such.

Additional topics included the following: first of all, RMB Clearing, then Fintech, Regtech, Insurtech, Legaltech – the settlement, promotion and financing of young start-up enterprises in the region that transfer digitisation to the processes of all these industries. In this way, not least thanks to the efforts of FMF, it was possible to establish Frankfurt as a fintech cluster alongside Berlin, virtually at the very last minute. It goes without saying that the region justified this trust and confidence and has since regained a great deal of lost ground. Whereas at the beginning we were asked whether we knew that fintechs would compete with the established banks, today “Coopetition”, a term combining cooperation and competition, has become quite common: it has a secure future, much like sustainability. We are just as willing to lend the Green Finance Cluster our voice as well as many other invaluable initiatives.

“FMF has now been the voice of the Financial Centre Frankfurt for a decade. This does not only mean the City of Frankfurt, but the region as a whole.”

However, the last two years have been characterised by Brexit, by the possible impacts of Great Britain’s decision to leave the European Union and, immediately associated with this, the changing role of Frankfurt as the key financial centre within the EU. Brexit brought Frankfurt into direct competition with other financial locations in Europe, after it was clear that London would foreseeably surrender its role as the leading financial capital within the EU. One of the immediate consequences of Brexit was a self-reflection of Frankfurt and the region on the strengths and advantages of the city and its surroundings.

The level of cooperation with the various institutions fostering economic development, with state and municipal policymakers, as well as with consultants, lawyers and other players at this location has become closer and more efficient in recent years. This is beneficial for the work of FMF and the financial centre. An entity that is all too frequently forgotten is the supervisory sector. Yes, it is true to say that German regulators are a strength of this financial centre. The watchdogs are internationally perceived as competent, clear, challenging and reliable.

Despite the financial centre’s well-founded self-confidence, it was a wise decision not to be aggressive or even divisive when it came to competing for the relocation of jobs from the Thames to the Main River. Frankfurt wants to build bridges rather than tear them down. “Welcome to Frankfurt”“ and “Let’s build a new London Bridge” were the mottos of our campaign with which we competed for banks to settle here following Brexit, a process that is still ongoing. This orientation has certainly proved its worth.

A huge success story

Until today, 25 banks have decided to establish or expand business in Frankfurt, and jobs will be next to follow. The importance of the financial metropolis is growing. Undoubtedly a huge success story. However, it is an achievement that needs to be secured and extended if possible. A task in which the FMF will assume its role.

An anniversary is not only an occasion to celebrate, but also an opportunity to say thanks. This expression of gratitude by the FMF goes to all our fellow campaigners and critics. And of course we are also grateful to our football club, Eintracht Frankfurt. With the three Frankfurt Main Finance Cups in the years 2014 to 2016, we succeeded for the very first time in reaching a broader public in the region and – a matter that is close to our hearts – perhaps it was also possible in this context to finally bring the financial centre and the Eintracht a great deal closer again. If our football club now manages to play an enduring leading European role, that would be quite overwhelming. I now wish to close by quoting Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, one of Frankfurt’s most famous sons: “It’s not enough to want to do something – it also needs to be done.”

Weitere Beiträge zu diesem Thema

Highly respected and sought-after contact Frankfurt Main Finance authentically combines the business and social aspects of the region and financial centre By Roland Koch, Former Prime Minist...
Initiative Gives a Face to the Financial Centre A reliable partner for 10 years with a strong and weighty voice – ideally geared to meet future challenges By Volker Bouffier, Prime Minister of the...
A Network for the Future of the Financial Centre Frankfurt is well equiped for this  – forum creates platform for discourse on wide array of topicsby Peter Feldmann, Lord Mayor of the City of Fr...
Frankfurt Main Finance – ten years of service to t... Frankfurt Main Finance (FMF) has reason to celebrate. The financial centre initiative was founded ten years ago and is continuously growing in importa...

Finanzplatzinitiative findet weltweit Gehör

FMF weiß Kompetenz und Wertschätzung in allen Belangen der Finanzindustrie zu nutzen

Lutz Raettig

Von Dr. Lutz Raettig, Präsident von Frankfurt Main Finance

Frankfurt Main Finance (FMF) begeht in diesem Monat sein zehnjähriges Jubiläum, nicht ohne Stolz, auf das Geleistete, nicht ohne Selbstkritik, was hätte besser gemacht werden können, und nicht ohne Respekt vor dem, was absehbar noch vor uns liegt, aber doch auch mit Zuversicht und wohlbegründeter Hoffnung. FMF ist seit nunmehr einem Jahrzehnt die Stimme des Finanzplatzes.

Damit ist nicht nur die Stadt Frankfurt gemeint, sondern auch die ge­samte Region. Die Initiative zur Gründung des Vereins ging vom damaligen Ministerpräsidenten Ro­land Koch und der früheren Oberbürgermeisterin der Stadt Frankfurt Petra Roth aus. Beide wollten einen offensichtlichen Mangel beheben. Denn es fehle, so analysierte im August 2008 die „Börsen-Zeitung“ treffend, anders als in Frankreich oder in Großbritannien, an einer wirkungsvollen, übergreifenden Vermarktung des nationalen Finanzzentrums. Es fehlte diesem wichtigen, für eine entwickelte Volkswirt
schaft so bedeutungsvollen Indus­triezweig in Deutschland ein eigenstän­diges und vernehmliches Sprachrohr. Zweck des Vereins, wie ihn das Gründungsdokument formuliert, war folgerichtig und in erster Linie, die Position Frankfurts und des Rhein-Main-Gebiets als Wirtschaftsstandort und insbesondere als Standort für Finanzdienstleistungen im internationalen Wettbewerb zu stärken. Ein Auftrag, den die Verantwortlichen über die Jahre zielgerichtet verfolgt und bis heute nicht aus den Augen verloren haben.

„Frankfurt Main was?“ So konnte der bereits erwähnte Beitrag dieser Zeitung die wohl gängige Reaktion auf die Frage nach Frankfurt Main Finance zuspitzen – im Jahr der Gründung zutreffend und provokant. Heute, zehn Jahre später, lässt sich mit Fug und Recht behaupten und mit Zahlen belegen, dass die Finanzplatzinitiative weltweit Gehör findet, als kom­petenter Ansprechpartner in allen Belangen der Finanzindustrie ge­schätzt wird und dies für die Positionierung des Standorts zu nutzen weiß.

Das kam nicht von selbst. Ein Beispiel: Frankfurt Main Finance war vorbereitet, als der Brexit die europäische Landkarte der Finanzbranche buchstäblich über Nacht durcheinanderwirbelte. In den ersten Stunden, nachdem das offizielle Ergebnis des Referendums in Großbritannien feststand, war von den betroffenen europäischen Finanzplatzinitiativen als Erste FMF redefähig und hatte die Aufmerksamkeit der Weltpresse für sich. Interviews wurden im Viertelstundentakt gegeben.

Das brachte FMF in die Position eines gefragten Ansprechpartners. Bis heute wurde FMF allein im Zusammenhang mit dem Brexit in mehr als 90 Ländern der Erde in knapp 6 500 Artikeln in fast 2 000 verschiedenen Medien zitiert. Der erzielte Medienäquivalenzwert liegt bei rund 100 Mill. Dollar.

Keine leichte Aufgabe

In den ersten Jahren, die auf die Gründung folgten, galt es dagegen zunächst, den Verein zu etablieren, die Arbeitsabläufe einzurichten, Themen zu besetzen und die Finanzkrise aufzuarbeiten. Wichtig war es, überhaupt Gehör zu finden, relevant zu sein und dafür Gelder einzusammeln. Das ging nur über die Verbreiterung der Mitgliederbasis. Es ist niemals eine leichte Aufgabe, für ein öffentliches Gut private Gelder einzusammeln. In unserer Gründungszeit umso mehr.

Wir erinnern uns alle, August 2008: Die Finanzkrise stand vor ihrem Höhepunkt, dem Zusammenbruch der US-amerikanischen Investmentbank Lehman Brothers. Die Finanzindustrie war damit beschäftigt, Risiken zu verringern und Ausgaben tunlichst zu vermeiden. Umso mehr gilt unser Dank den Mitgliedern, den zwölf Gründungsmitgliedern und den rund 50 seither hinzugestoßenen. Ohne sie gäbe es uns nicht. Danke!

Die Finanzkrise und ihr Verlauf gaben die Themen nicht nur für die Medien, sondern auch für FMF vor. Bis heute ist es wesentliches Anliegen der Finanzplatzinitiative, damals verlorenes Vertrauen in die Finanzbranche wiederzugewinnen, auf die unverzichtbaren Leistungen der Finanzindustrie für die Wohlfahrt eines Staates und ihre gesellschaftliche Relevanz hinzuweisen ebenso wie junge Talente für die Branche zu interessieren.

Weitere Themen kamen hinzu: Zuerst: RMB Clearing, dann Fintech, Regtech, Insurtech, Legaltech – die Ansiedlung, Förderung und Finanzierung junger Start-up-Unternehmen in der Region, die die Digitalisierung auf die Prozesse all dieser Branchen übertragen. So gelang es nicht zuletzt dank des Einsatzes von FMF, Frankfurt quasi noch in letzter Minute zum Fintech-Cluster neben Berlin zu machen. Selbstredend hat die Region das Vertrauen gerechtfertigt und seither einiges an verlorenem Terrain aufgeholt. Wurden wir am Anfang noch gefragt, ob wir wohl wüssten, dass Fintechs den etablierten Banken Konkurrenz machen würden, so ist heute Coopetition, die Verbindung aus Kooperation und Wettbewerb in aller Munde. Ihr ge­hört die Zukunft, ebenso wie der Nachhaltigkeit. Dem Frankfurter Green-Finance-Cluster leihen wir ebenso gerne unsere Stimme, wie vielen anderen wertvollen Initiativen.

„FMF ist seit nunmehr einem Jahrzehnt die Stimme des Finanz­platzes. Damit ist nicht nur die Stadt Frankfurt gemeint, sondern auch die ge­samte Region.“

Die beiden jüngst vergangenen Jahre waren jedoch geprägt vom Brexit, von den möglichen Auswirkungen des Ausscheidens Großbritanniens aus der Europäischen Union und damit unmittelbar verbunden der sich wandelnden Rolle Frankfurts als dem wichtigsten Finanzzentrum innerhalb der EU. Der Brexit brachte Frankfurt in direkte Konkurrenz zu anderen Finanzstandorten in Europa, nachdem London die Rolle des führenden Finanzzentrums in­nerhalb der EU absehbar abgeben würde. Eine der unmittelbaren Folgen des Brexit war eine Selbstbesinnung Frankfurts und der Region auf die Stärken und Vorteile, die diese Stadt und ihre Umgebung ausmachen.

Die Zusammenarbeit mit den verschiedenen Institutionen der Wirtschaftsförderung, mit den politisch Verantwortlichen in Stadt und Land, ebenso wie mit Beratern, Anwälten und allen anderen Akteuren am Standort ist über die Jahre enger und effizienter geworden. Davon profitieren die Arbeit von FMF und der Finanzplatz. Wer dabei oft vergessen wird, ist die Aufsicht. Ja, die deutsche Aufsicht ist eine Stärke des Finanzplatzes. Kompetent, klar, fordernd und zuverlässig wird sie international wahrgenommen.

Bei allem wohlbegründeten Selbstbewusstsein des Finanzplatzes war es eine kluge Entscheidung, im Werben um die Verlagerung von Arbeitsplät
zen von London an den Main nicht aggressiv oder gar spaltend aufzutreten. Frankfurt will Brücken bauen, nicht einreißen. „Wel­come to Frankfurt“ und „Let’s build a new London Bridge“ waren die Mottos unserer Kampagne, mit der um die Ansiedlung von Banken nach dem Brexit geworben wurde und wird. Diese Ausrichtung hat sich bewährt.

Ein riesiger Erfolg

Bis heute haben sich 25 Banken entschieden, Geschäft in Frankfurt auf- oder auszubauen, Arbeitsplätze werden folgen. Die Bedeutung der Finanzmetropole nimmt zu. Ein riesiger Erfolg, ohne Zweifel. Ein Erfolg aber, der gesichert und nach Möglichkeit erweitert werden muss. Eine Aufgabe, bei der FMF seine Rolle übernehmen wird.

Ein Jubiläum ist nicht nur ein An­lass zu feiern, sondern auch Gelegenheit, Danke zu sagen. Der Dank von FMF gilt all unseren Mitstreitern und Kritikern. Der Dank gilt auch Eintracht Frankfurt. Mit den drei Frankfurt Main Finance Cups in den Jahren 2014 bis 2016 gelang uns erstmals, eine breitere Öffentlichkeit in der Region zu erreichen, und – eine Herzensangelegenheit – vielleicht auch infolgedessen kamen Finanzplatz und Eintracht endlich wieder ein gutes Stück näher zusammen. Wenn es nun auch der Eintracht gelingt, eine dauerhaft führende europäische Rolle zu spielen, kaum auszudenken. Schließen möchte ich mit dem Wort von Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, einem der berühmtesten Söhne Frankfurts: „Es ist nicht genug zu wollen – man muss auch tun.“

Weitere Beiträge zu diesem Thema

Allseits respektierter und gesuchter Gesprächspart... Frankfurt Main Finance verbindet sachliche und menschliche Seiten der Region und des Finanzzentrums glaubwürdig Von Roland Koch, hessicher Ministerp...