FinTechGermany Award Honors Best FinTechs

The financial center Frankfurt, represented by the FTGA organizers Frankfurt Main Finance, TechFluence and the WM Group / Börsen-Zeitung, honors outstanding FinTech companies in various categories with the leading investor-side startup award – The FinTechGermany Award Golden Garage.

The renowned prize for entrepreneurs will honor the most promising FinTech, InsurTech, and RegTech companies from the following categories: Seed-/Early Stage, Late Stage, Growth Stage und Foreign New Entrant to Germany and this year’s special prizes InsurTech, Blockchain and AI. The jury, comprised of the Financial Centre’s top actors and FinTech supporters, will award the prizes to the FinTech, InsurTech and RegTech companies whose business models show the most promise for the future success and to add long term value to the marketplace. The three most important criteria are financial viability, scalability, and exit-potential.

Review: FinTechGermany Award

Outstanding Start-ups – FinTechGermany Awards presented

Top performance in difficult times: Eight financial start-ups received the FinTechGermany Awards in Frankfurt on September 17, 2020 – the most important FinTech award in the German-speaking countries for five years. At the awards ceremony in the Tatcraft New Hardware Studios, over 200 FinTech and InsurTech enthusiasts, bankers and investors celebrated the winners. The livestream was followed by numerous interested people.

The award was presented in eight categories:

  • Category
  • Seed Stage
  • Early Stage
  • Late Stage
  • Growth Stage
  • Foreign New Entrant to Germany
  • Insurtech
  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Blockchain
  • 1. Place
  • Tangany
  • Myos
  • Penta
  • Raisin
  • Qonto
  • Getsafe
  • Hawk AI
  • Cashlink

In total, more than 220 startups and scaleups from Germany and around the world had applied or were nominated by the jury at the beginning of the year. The jury then compiled a shortlist of 43 start-ups. The prestigious FintechGermany Award has been presented since 2016 – this time, due to the corona pandemic and the resulting hygiene and distance regulations, the award ceremony was held for the first time as a hybrid event and not, as usual, in the Tech Quarter at Messe Frankfurt.

Dr. Jens Zinke, Managing Director of WM Gruppe/Börsen-Zeitung, which has been accompanying the award since 2016 as media partner and co-organizer, says: “This was the fifth time that the FinTechGermany Awards were presented and once again it showed the high performance density among young and innovative companies in the financial sector. A big praise to all participants, all applications were of high quality, which is really impressive in an international comparison”.

Michael Mellinghoff, Managing Director of TechFluence UK, co-organizer and co-head of the jury: “For the top-class, 19-member jury it was a very special challenge to track down the top FinTechs from all over Germany among so many really great applications this year. We are particularly pleased that this year, with Raisin, a company has managed to take home our award for the second time”.

Dr. Lutz Raettig, President of the Financial Center Initiative Frankfurt Main Finance: “This year’s edition of the FinTechGermany Award has once again proven that young financial companies can establish themselves alongside the top performers of the financial industry and that the source of ideas for new business models, products and services does not dry up.”

The complete list of the winners:

  • Category
  • Seed Stage
  • Early Stage
  • Late Stage
  • Growth Stage
  • Foreign
  • Insurtech
  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Blockchain
  • 1. Place
  • Tangany
  • Myos
  • Penta
  • Raisin
  • Qonto
  • Getsafe
  • Hawk AI
  • Cashlink
  • 2. Place
  • Spherity
  • Trade Republic
  • Fraugster
  • N26
  • SumUp
  • -*
  • -*
  • -*
  • 3. Place
  • Crypto Tax
  • Arabesque S-Ray
  • FinTecSystems
  • Mambu
  • Klarna
  • -*
  • -*
  • -*

*In the categories Insurtech, Artificial Intelligence and Blockchain no second and third places were awarded.

Impressions FintechGermany Award 2020

 

Photos: Kaleidomania / Axel Gaube

FinTechGermany Award 2019

FinTechGermany Award “Golden Garage” honours outstanding FinTech companies in the Financial Centre Frankfurt

With the leading investor award for start-ups, the Financial Centre Frankfurt honours outstanding FinTech companies in six different categories. The jury’s vote went to AUTHADA GmbH in the Seed/Early Stage category and to Barzahlen – Cash Payment Solutions GmbH in the Late Stage Category, while solarisBank AG received the prize for the best FinTech in the Growth Stage category. TransferWise Ltd. was voted the Best Foreign FinTech on the German market. The special prize for the best PropTech was awarded to Exporo AG, while Wefox Germany GmbH was honoured in the special InsurTech category.

The organisers, Börsen-Zeitung (WM Group), Business Angels Frankfurt RheinMain, Frankfurt Main Finance and TechFluence, have now presented the FinTechGermany Award to high-potential FinTech companies for the fifth time. “Our ‘Golden Garage’ award offers young entrepreneurs, in particular, the opportunity to enter into dialogue with FinTech insiders and financial centre representatives and expand their network. We are pleased to be able to offer this platform for the fifth time,” says Dr. Jens Zinke, Managing Director of the Börsen-Zeitung. Andreas Lukic, Chairman of Business Angels Frankfurt RheinMain comments: “We award the prize to the best FinTech, InsurTech and PropTech companies, whose innovative business models and new technologies create value and transform the financial sector. At the same time, the Financial Centre Frankfurt offers the entire financing chain for start-ups – from their foundation and time of growth until they become established.” Hubertus Väth, Managing Director of Frankfurt Main Finance says: “Cooperation between FinTechs and the established players in the financial centre is the key to future success. The FinTechGermany Award creates the platform to make this possible.” And Michael Mellinghoff, Managing Director at TechFluence UK, adds: “In awarding this prize, we above all support start-ups with promising FinTech concepts, while at the same time increasing their visibility on the German market.”

The focus of the sixteen-strong jury was on the companies’ financial viability, scalability and exit capability. Among other things, they evaluated the business concept, competitive advantages, positioning, financial plan and management. The “Seed/Early Stage” category comprises FinTechs with no or only initial revenues, and with no or only a basic prototype. Companies with at least cumulative six-digit revenues were able to apply for the “Late Stage” category. The prerequisites for an award in the “Growth Stage” category were a more than seven-digit turnover and international expansion. Günter Rothenberger, the founder of Günter Rothenberger Industries GmbH and inventor of the R-System, donated the six perpetual trophies in the form of gold-plated water pump pliers mounted on American oak.

Andreas Plies, managing director of AUTHADA GmbH, stated: “The prize is not just for us alone, but for the entire company. It’s nice to have your work recognised.” Ulrike Czekay, Head of PR & Marketing at Barzahlen – Cash Payment Solution GmbH, aims to begin with the payment infrastructure and “dispel customers’ fear of digitisation and offer new possibilities.” Jörg Diewald, Chief Commercial Officer at solarisBank AG, announced, “Our Sales division is growing, and we are desperately looking for new employees to meet our customer needs.” Thomas Adamski, European PR Manager at TransferWise Ltd, was delighted with his trophy, “Our foremost concern is to help people and enable them to drastically reduce the cost of foreign bank transfers. Especially in such a large and active market as FinTech, I am immensely grateful that the scene is very open to new alternatives. I am delighted to be here and get to know all the nice people from the different areas.” Botho von Hülsen, Senior Manager at Exporo AG, commented that “A lot of construction is taking place in Germany, and fund packages can also be purchased from us in the form of products consisting of existing properties.  Our digitalisation rollout is initially planned for France and the Netherlands, as the economic performance of these countries can be easily assessed.” John Shewell, Head of Group Marketing & Communications at Wefox Germany GmbH, felt honoured by the golden garage trophy and expressed that “It is a privilege to be here tonight. At the same time, it is also an honour for all tech start-ups to have the opportunity to transform the financial industry. We want to make insurance easy and convenient for our customers.”

 

Interview with Andreas Lukic about the 2019 FinTechGermany Award

Andreas Lukic, CEO of ValueNet-Capital-Partners GmbH

Andreas Lukic, CEO of ValueNet-Capital-Partners GmbH

In an interview with Frankfurt Main Finance, Andreas Lukic, CEO of ValueNet-Capital-Partners GmbH and jury coordinator of the FinTechGermany Award (FTGA), explains how the award has evolved in recent years and why the “Golden Garage” should be awarded monthly.

What inspired you to establish the FinTechGermany Awards as an annual event?

In the ’90s and around the turn of the millennium, I worked in the USA and England. Upon my return, I noticed that the start-up ecosystem in the Rhine-Main region was rather small. Moreover, there was a lack of private investor networks or other initiatives bringing start-ups, investors, and clients together. Thus, I decided to join a small Business Angel Club in 2002 and became chairman of the Business Angels Frankfurt Rhein-Main in 2006. By now, we review about 900 start-ups a year and invest in about 20 to 30 – furthering the start-up ecosystem is an important factor.

With the end of the financial crisis, interest in founders grew substantially. Initiatives such as the FinTech Dialogue forum – which later initiated the TechQuartier and the FinTechGermany Award the “Golden Garage” – were formed. The award allows us to draw attention to the internationally renowned Financial Centre Frankfurt as an attractive location for founders. We cannot say “We are the coolest, the most creative and have been on the market the longest.” However, what we can say is “We are a Financial Centre – with capital and financial market competence” and we have been for more than 100 years. Furthermore, the investor-driven award demonstrates that we can evaluate to what extent start-ups are financially viable, scalable and likely to provide feasible exit options.

How has the event evolved over the years?

Approximately 180 start-ups are nominated for the FTGA every year. However, interested start-ups can also hand in applications. With about 200 participating companies, start-ups from every market segment are represented. Today, we are established enough to award the Golden Garage, with this year’s ceremony taking place in the Eurotheum. An open jury session also took place as part of the Finanzplatztag.

Which challenges were FinTechs facing in Germany during the early days of the FinTechGermany Award?

First of all, FinTechs are nothing new, but the growing public awareness is. Back in 2005, we would not have been able to initiate such an award – all the necessary resources were not accessible in one place.  However, by now it is standard practice in the financial sector to use new technologies and FinTechs are well-established.

Whereas a few years ago start-ups needed to explore new ideas and enter untapped market segments to position themselves, start-ups nowadays need to successfully become established. They have to penetrate the market to a much greater extent and be able to handle customers, competition, and profit equally well. While fewer start-ups are founded these days, we find a lot of FinTechs that are “partially or fully financed”. That is what has changed.

You have kept track of the progress previously winning companies have made to this day. Have the founders and their companies gained increased attention from investors after winning the FinTechGermany Award?

Yes, founders and entrepreneurs receive greater attention from the public after the award. The attention grows proportionally with the increasing importance of the FinTechGermany Awards.

FinTechgermany Award 2018

FinTechgermany Award 2018

A start-up – whether at the Seed/Early Stage, Late Stage or Growth Stage – always needs unique selling points. Everyone makes a lot of noise. Thus, every competition, every price and every chance of access to partners and networks is an essential aspect for a start-up. However, this effect also works the other way around: The Financial Centre and the players draw benefits from it – by forming a cooperation or increasing their number of clients.

With regards to investors: We must show that Frankfurt is worth locating to. Not just because of the networking opportunities but also because of the start-ups. Actually, we need something like the FintechGermany Awards to happen every month (laughs).

The name “Golden Garage” refers to the early beginnings of technology pioneers such as Bill Gates, Steve Jobs and Larry Page. Are those career paths we can still observe today?  Or are FinTechs already moving away from garages and bedrooms to FinTech hubs and offices around the world?

The garage symbolizes the unconventional founding of which Hewlett-Packard is a prototype. There even is a museum in Silicon Valley called “the old garage”. And yes, this original founding continues to occur.

Three characteristics define a start-up hub:

1. Founding Landscape

When looking at Silicon Valley, it becomes evident that only a few founders were born there.

Hence, there is no “founding gene” that one region has or has not got. It is upon us to establish an attractive start-up landscape. This a consistent factor and the Rhine-Main region has caught up significantly over the past few years.

2. Educational Landscape

This includes universities, but also cultural institutions such as museums. The educational landscape in the Rhine-Main region has a strong focus on start-ups and their founders.

3. Finance Chain
A financing landscape must be created in which start-ups are able to get access to all forms of investments – from 1,000 to 10,00 to 100,000 Euros. That is why I always emphasize the investor-driven award and the jury’s capital market competence. Financing is our future topic. A golden garage is characterized by the fact that it a place where I can get settled while also getting my company financed. When looking at Facebook and Co.: at some point, someone gave them between one hundred and five hundred thousand dollars. At the same time, that business angel had an idea of where the start-up was heading. In the FinTech sector, we are on the right track today.

 

Andreas Lukic is the founder and managing director of ValueNet-Capital-Partners GmbH, a private equity and consulting company founded in 2000. The company focuses on investing, financing and M&A transactions in management buyouts/buy-ins as well as company successions, occasionally invests in growth-oriented companies from the corporate, SME and start-up sectors and supports their corporate development. Mr. Lukic is a member of several advisory boards, CEO of Business-Angels FrankfurtRheinMain e.V. and has been an active business angel since 1999. In addition, he supports renowned and ambitious artists as part of Schirn Zeitgenossen, Frankfurt. Please find more information on Andreas Lukic here.

FinTechGermany Award Golden Garage prämiert beste FinTechs

Mit dem führenden investorenseitigen Gründerpreis zeichnet der Finanzplatz Frankfurt, vertreten durch die FTGA-Organisatoren Frankfurt Main Finance, Business Angels Frankfurt RheinMain, TechFluence und der WM Gruppe/Börsen-Zeitung, herausragende FinTech-Unternehmen in verschiedenen Kategorien aus. Aam 16.Mai 2019 wird  zum fünften Mal der FinTechGermany Award „Golden Garage“ verliehen. Eine offene Jurysitzung findet bereits am 6. März 2018 im Rahmen des 12. Finanzplatztags der WM-Gruppe statt.

Der führende investorenseitige Gründerpreis für FinTech-Unternehmen umfasst die Kategorien Seed-/Early Stage, Late Stage, Growth Stage und Foreign new entrant to Germany. Das Augenmerk bei der Auswahl der Preisträger liegt insbesondere auf der Finanzierbarkeit, Skalierbarkeit und Exitfähigkeit der Unternehmen, insgesamt somit auf der Werthaltigkeit im jeweiligen Entwicklungsstadium.

Informationen zum FinTechGermany Award

FinTechGermany Award 2019

FinTechGermany Award „Golden Garage“ prämiert herausragende FinTech-Unternehmen am Finanzplatz Frankfurt

Mit dem führenden investorenseitigen Gründerpreis zeichnet der Finanzplatz Frankfurt herausragende FinTech-Unternehmen in sechs verschiedenen Kategorien aus. In der Kategorie Seed-/Early Stage konnte AUTHADA GmbH die Jury überzeugen, Barzahlen – Cash Payment Solutions GmbH in der Kategorie Late Stage. Als bestes FinTech in der Growth Stage wurde solarisBank AG ausgezeichnet. TransferWise Ltd. als bestes ausländisches FinTech auf dem deutschen Markt. Zudem ging der Sonderpreis für das beste PropTech an Exporo AG und Wefox Germany GmbH wurde in der Sonderkategorie Insurtech gewürdigt.

Bereits zum fünften Mal verliehen die Organisatoren Börsen-Zeitung (WM Gruppe), Business Angels Frankfurt RheinMain, Frankfurt Main Finance und TechFluence den FinTechGermany Award an FinTech-Unternehmen mit hohem Potential. „Unser Award ‘Golden Garage‘ bietet vor allem jungen Unternehmern die Möglichkeit, mit FinTech-Insidern und Vertretern des Finanzplatzes in Dialog zu treten und Ihr Netzwerk zu erweitern. Wir freuen uns, diese Plattform bereits das fünfte Mal anbieten zu können“, so Dr. Jens Zinke, Geschäftsführer der Börsen-Zeitung. Andreas Lukic, Vorsitzender der Business Angels Frankfurt RheinMain, sagt: „Wir zeichnen die besten Fintechs, Insurtechs und Proptechs aus, die mit ihren innovativen Geschäftsmodellen und neuen Technologien den Finanzsektor wertschaffend verändern. Gleichzeitig bilden wir am Finanzplatz Frankfurt die gesamte Finanzierungskette für Startups ab – von der Gründung über Wachstum bis zur Etablierung.“ Hubertus Väth, Geschäftsführer von Frankfurt Main Finance, führt an: „Die Kooperation zwischen FinTechs und den etablierten Akteuren am Finanzplatz ist der Schlüssel für den zukünftigen Erfolg. Der FinTechGermany Award schafft die Plattform dafür.“ Michael Mellinghoff, Managing Director bei TechFluence UK, stellt fest: „Mit der Verleihung des Preises unterstützen wir insbesondere Startups mit aussichtsreichen FinTech-Konzepten und erhöhen gleichzeitig ihre Sichtbarkeit auf dem deutschen Markt.“

Das Augenmerk der sechszehnköpfigen Jury lag insbesondere auf Finanzierbarkeit, Skalierbarkeit und Exit-Fähigkeit der Unternehmen. Sie bewerteten u.a. das Geschäftskonzept, Wettbewerbsvorteile, Positionierung, Finanzplan und das Management. Seed-/Early-Stage umfasst FinTechs, die bislang keine oder erste Umsätze sowie keinen oder einen ersten Prototyp vorweisen konnten. Für die Kategorie „Late Stage“ konnten sich Unternehmen mit einem kumulierten Umsatz im mindestens sechsstelligen Bereich bewerben. Ein deutlich siebenstelliger Umsatz sowie internationale Expansion war Voraussetzung für eine Würdigung in der Kategorie „Growth Stage“. Günter Rothenberger, Gründer der Günter Rothenberger Industries GmbH sowie Erfinder des R-Systems, stiftete die sechs Wanderpokale in Form von vergoldeten Wasserpumpenzangen.

Andreas Plies, Geschäftsführer von AUTHADA GmbH, führte an: „Der Preis ist nicht nur für uns, sondern auch für das ganze Unternehmen. Es ist schön eine Anerkennung für die eigene Arbeit zu erfahren.“ Ulrike Czekay, Head of PR & Marketing bei Barzahlen – Cash Payment Solution GmbH, möchte bei der Zahlungsinfrastruktur ansetzen und „den Kunden die Angst vor der Digitalisierung nehmen und neue Möglichkeiten anbieten.“ Chief Commercial Officer bei der solarisBank AG, Jörg Diewald, kündigte an: „Unsere Vertriebslinie ist auf Wachstumskurs und wir suchen händeringend nach neuen Mitarbeitern, um unseren Kundenanfragen gerecht zu werden.“ Thomas Adamski, European PR Manager bei TransferWise Ltd., freute sich über seine Trophäe: „In erster Linie geht es uns darum, anderen Menschen zu helfen und ihnen eine drastische Kostensenkung bei Auslandsüberweisungen zu ermöglichen. Gerade bei einem großen und aktiven Markt wie Fintech bin ich unheimlich dankbar, dass die Szene sehr aufgeschlossen gegenüber neuen Alternativen ist. Ich freue mich hier sein zu dürfen und die vielen netten Menschen aus den unterschiedlichen Bereichen kennenzulernen.“ Botho von Hülsen, Senior Manager bei der Exporo AG, teilte mit: „In Deutschland wird viel gebaut und bei uns können Fondpakete auch in Form von Bestandsprodukte erworben werden. Es ist geplant, unsere Digitalisierung zunächst in Frankreich und in den Niederlanden auszurollen, da diese Länder wirtschaftlich gut einzuschätzen sind.“ John Shewell, Head of Group Marketing & Communications von Wefox Germany GmbH, fühlte sich geehrt über die Trophäe in Form einer Wasserpumpenzange: „It is a privilege to be here tonight. At the same time, it is also a honour for all tech start-ups to have the opportunity to transform the financial industry. We want to make insurance easy and convenient for our customers.”

 

Kategorie InsurTech: Wefox Germany GmbH

Kategorie PropTech: Exporo AG

Kategorie Bestes ausländisches FinTech in Deutschland: TransferWise Ltd.

Kategorie Growth Stage: solarisBank AG

Kategorie Late Stage: Barzahlen – Cash Payment Solutions GmbH

Kategorie Seed-/Early Stage: AUTHADA GmbH

FinTechGermany Award 2019: Das sagen die Sponsoren

Am 16. Mai wird Deutschlands führender investorenseitiger Gründerpreis FinTechGermany Award zum fünften Mal am Finanzplatz Frankfurt verliehen. Dabei werden herausragende FinTech-Start-ups mit vielversprechenden Geschäftsmodellen in verschiedenen Kategorien mit der Golden Garage ausgezeichnet. Das Augenmerk der Jury liegt insbesondere auf Finanzierbarkeit, Skalierbarkeit und Exit-Fähigkeit der Unternehmen. Unterstütz wird der Award für Excellenz im FinTech Bereich von Blackprint Proptech Booster, Ernest & Young, Heleba Digital, Metzler, ODDO BHF und Oliver Wymann. Warum sie sich für den Award einsetzen, lesen Sie hier:

 

„FinTech und PropTech haben deutliche Überschneidungen und ich halte es für wichtig, gerade über naheliegende Branchengrenzen hinweg zusammenzuarbeiten. Damit stärken wir gemeinsam den Standort Frankfurt am Main, der gerade im europäischen PropTech-Ökosystem weiterhin an Bedeutung gewinnen soll.“– Alexander Ubach-Utermöhl, Managing Partner bei blackprintpartners

 

„Der FinTechGermany Award prämiert erfolgreiche und potenzialstarke Unternehmen in vielen verschiedenen Kategorien. Deutschland als Standort für FinTech Start-ups hat stark an Attraktivität zugenommen. Erste Unicorns sind der beste Beweis für das gestiegene Interesse von inländischen und ausländischen Investoren. Das Engagement von EY für den FTGA seit der erstmaligen Verleihung geschieht mit dem Ziel, durch die Auszeichnung erfolgreicher Start-ups Vorbilder im Ökosystem herauszustellen und einen Ansporn für viele andere Gründer zu geben. Der FTGA bietet mit seinem breiten Ansatz über verschiedenste FinTech-Geschäftsmodelle, den starken Sponsoring-Partnern und seiner exzellent besetzten Jury eine ausgezeichnete Basis, um dem Zweck der Förderung des FinTech Start-up Ökosystems und der Kommunikation über die nachhaltig positive Entwicklung auch über die Grenzen Deutschlands hinaus gerecht zu werden.“– Christopher Schmitz, Partner Financial Services bei Ernest & Young 

 

„Insbesondere, wenn die B2B-FinTechs nicht nur an der Oberfläche „kratzen“, sondern sich auf Kernprozesse von Banken fokussieren, ist der Widerstand noch deutlich spürbar. Dies zu überwinden, braucht einen langen Atem und Partner, die an einen glauben. Plattformen wie der FinTechGermany Award unterstützen dabei, besondere FinTechs hervorzuheben, diese mit Unternehmen zusammenzuführen und damit die ersten Hürden einer Kooperation zu nehmen.“ – Lucie Haß, Managing Director bei Helaba Digital

 

„Der FinTechGermany Award ist ein wichtiger Impuls, zukünftigen Gründern einen guten Start zu ermöglichen und sie zu unterstützen. Hier wird Zukunft geschrieben – es entsteht eine neue Finanzindustrie. Das birgt nicht nur für Kunden Vorteile, sondern auch für etablierte Unternehmen.“ – Jörg-Matthias Butzlaff, Leiter Unternehmenskommunikation bei Metzler

 

Mit unserem Engagement beim FinTechGermany Award möchten wir zur Stärkung des FinTech-Standorts Frankfurt aktiv beitragen und ihn mit unserem Know-how unterstützen.“ – Sven Gräbedünkel, Managing Director bei ODDO BHF

 

„Wir möchten Innovation und Digitalisierung in der Finanzbranche fördern und Frankfurt dabei unterstützen, sich – als Teil einer „vierten Säule“ des deutschen Bankensystems – als führender FinTech-Hub zu positionieren.“ – Matthias Hübner, Partner bei Oliver Wyman

 

Interview mit Andreas Lukic zum FinTechGermany Award 2019

Andreas Lukic, Geschäftsführer der ValueNet-Capital-Partners GmbH

Andreas Lukic, Geschäftsführer der ValueNet-Capital-Partners GmbH

Andreas Lukic, Geschäftsführer der ValueNet-Capital-Partners GmbH und Jury-Koordinator des FinTechGermany Awards (FTGA), gibt im Interview mit Frankfurt Main Finance einen Einblick in die Entwicklung des Preises. Warum es den FinTechGermany Award eigentlich jeden Monat geben sollte, erfahren wir auch.

Was hat Sie inspiriert, den FinTechGermany Award als eine Reihe jährlicher Veranstaltungen ins Leben zu rufen?

Ich habe in den 90ern und um die Jahrtausendwende in den USA und England gearbeitet. Bei meiner Rückkehr fiel mir auf, dass es im Rhein-Main-Gebiet nur ein sehr kleines Startup-Ökosystemen gab. Es mangelte an Privatinvestorennetzwerken oder andere Initiativen, die Startups, Investoren und Auftraggeber zusammenbringen. Deshalb bin ich 2002 Mitglied in einem kleinen Business Angel Club geworden, seit 2006 bin ich Vorsitzender der Business Angels Frankfurt Rhein Main. Wir schauen uns jedes Jahr rund 900 Startups an und machen dann ca. 20 bis 30 Investments – auf privater Basis. Der Beitrag zum Startup-Ökosystem steht dabei im Fokus.

Mit dem Ausklang der Finanzkrise haben Wirtschaft und Politik begonnen, sich stärker für Gründer zu interessieren. Es bildeten sich Initiativen wie das Dialogforum FinTech, aus der auch das TechQuartier und der FinTechGermany Award, die „Golden Garage“, entstanden. Mit dem Award zeigen wir, dass Frankfurt als Finanzzentrum von Weltrang im Bereich Startups Flagge zeigen muss, um attraktiv für Gründer zu sein. Wir können zwar nicht sagen „Wir sind die Coolsten, die Kreativsten und die, die am längsten im Markt sind“. Aber wir können sagen, „Wir sind ein Finanzplatz – inklusive Kapital- und Finanzmarktkompetenz“. Und das auch schon 100 Jahre Plus. Der investorenseitige Award ist ein Beleg dafür, dass wir beurteilen können, ob Startups finanzierbar, skalierbar und Exit-fähig sind.

Wie hat sich die Veranstaltung im Laufe der Jahre entwickelt?

Inzwischen haben wir etwa 180 Startups, die jedes Jahr – wie bei den „Oskars“ – für den FTGA nominiert werden. Startups können sich natürlich auch extern bewerben. Mit diesen knapp 200 Unternehmen haben wir jedes Jahr den Markt gut abgebildet. Mittlerweile sind wir groß genug, dass wir eine eigene Preisverleihung haben. Diese findet dieses Jahr im Eurotheum, also im Zentrum der Stadt, statt. Eine offene Jurysitzung hat zudem im Rahmen des Finanzplatztages stattgefunden.

Was waren zu Beginn des FinTechGermany Awards die Herausforderungen für FinTechs in Deutschland?

FinTech ist zunächst einmal nichts Neues. Neu ist die breite öffentliche Wahrnehmung. Wir hätten im Jahr 2005 so einen Award nicht machen können. Es gab kein Zentrum, wo man gebündelt Ressourcen finden konnte. Mittlerweile ist das Thema FinTech doch recht etabliert. Es ist selbstverständlich geworden, neue Technologien im Finanzbereich einzusetzen.

Während es vor einigen Jahren darum ging, erste Ideen und Marktbereiche zu besetzen und sich richtig zu positionieren, liegt der Fokus heute darauf, sich richtig zu etablieren. Heutzutage müssen Startups viel tiefer eindringen und einen Mehrklang aus Endkunden, Wettbewerbslandschaft und Profit hinkriegen. Daher gibt es heute weniger Gründungen, dafür aber sehr viel „an- und durchfinanzierte“ FinTechs. Das ist der Wandel.

Sie haben die Entwicklungen der Gewinner-Unternehmen bis heute verfolgt. Haben die Gründer und ihre Unternehmen nach dem Gewinn des FinTechGermany Awards eine erhöhte Aufmerksamkeit von Investoren erfahren?

Ja, Gründer und Unternehmer haben nach dem Award erhöhte Aufmerksamkeit von der relevanten Öffentlichkeit. Diese Aufmerksamkeit wächst proportional mit der Bedeutung des FinTechGermany Award.

FinTechgermany Award Verleihung 2018

FinTechgermany Award Verleihung 2018

Als Startup – egal ob Seed/Early Stage, Late Stage oder Growth Stage – brauchen Sie immer Alleinstellungsmerkmale. Jeder macht viel Lärm. Jeder Wettbewerb, jeder Preis und jeder Zugang zu Partnern und Netzwerken sind für ein Startup daher sehr wichtig. Dieser Effekt gilt aber immer auch andersrum: Auch der Finanzplatz und die Spieler hier profitieren davon – beispielsweise in Form von Kooperationen und Aufträgen.

Was die Investoren angeht: Wir müssen zeigen, dass es sich lohnt nach Frankfurt zu kommen. Nicht nur wegen des herkömmlichen Netzwerkens, sondern eben auch wegen der Startups. Wir bräuchten so etwas wie den FintechGermany Award eigentlich jeden Monat (lacht).

Der Name „Goldene Garage“ bezieht sich auf die frühen Anfänge von Technologiepionieren wie Bill Gates, Steve Jobs und Larry Page. Sehen wir Karrieren wie diese heute auch noch? Oder sind aufstrebende FinTechs bereits auf dem Weg von ihren Garagen und Schlafzimmern zu den FinTech Hubs und Büros dieser Welt?

Die Garage ist das Symbol der unkonventionellen Gründung. Hewlett-Packard ist dabei die Urform. Im Silicon Valley gibt es ja sogar ein Museum, „die alte Garage“. Und ja, dieses unkonventionelle Gründen hält an.

Es gibt drei Merkmale, die ein Gründerzentrum ausmachen:

1. Gründer-Landschaft

Wenn man das Silicon Valley betrachtet, fällt auf, dass dort nur wenige Gründer geboren wurden.  Es gibt also nicht dieses eine Gründergen, das eine Region hat – oder nicht. Wir müssen daher eine attraktive Gründer-Landschaft selbst schaffen.
Dieser Faktor bleibt konstant und wir haben im Rhein-Main-Gebiet über die Jahre deutlich aufgeholt.

2. Ausbildungslandschaft

Dazu zählen Universitäten, das Handwerk, aber auch Kulturangebote wie Museen. Das Rhein-Main-Gebiet hat sich in dieser Hinsicht deutlich auf das Gründen spezialisiert.

3. Finanzierungskette

Es muss eine Finanzierungslandschaft geschaffen werden, in der Startups alle Investmentformen – von 1000 über 10.00 bis 100.000 Euro – bekommen können. Deswegen betone ich auch immer den investorenseitigen Award und die Kapitalmarktkompetenz der Jury. Finanzierung ist unser Zukunftsthema. Die Goldene Garage lebt davon, dass ich mich dort niederlassen kann und mein Unternehmen auch finanziert bekomme. Wenn man mal an Facebook und Co. denkt: Irgendjemand hat denen ja mal zwischen einhundert- und fünfhunderttausend Dollar in die Hand gedrückt. Gleichzeitig hatte dieser Business Angel im Hinterkopf eine Idee, wo es mit diesem Startup einmal hingehen wird. Im Fintech-Bereich sind wir da heute auf einem guten Weg.

 

 

Andreas Lukic ist Gründer und Geschäftsführer der ValueNet-Capital-Partners GmbH, einer im Jahr 2000 gegründeten privaten Beteiligungs- und Beratungsgesellschaft, die Beteiligungen, Finanzierungen sowie M&A-Transaktionen bei Management-Buy-outs/Buy-ins sowie Unternehmensnachfolgen durchführt, sich fallweise an wachstumsorientierten Unternehmen aus dem Konzern-, Mittelstands- sowie Startup-Bereich beteiligt sowie deren Unternehmensentwicklung unterstützt und daneben in ausgewählte Immobilien investiert. Herr Lukic ist Mitglied mehrerer Beiräte, Vorstandsvorsitzender der Business-Angels FrankfurtRheinMain e.V. und seit 1999 als Business-Angel aktiv. Daneben unterstützt er renommierte, aufstrebende Künstler im Rahmen der Schirn Zeitgenossen, Frankfurt. Weitere Informationen zur Person finden Sie hier.