Written by 10:00 Financial Centre, Financial Centre, Member, Member

Future of the European Banking Ecosystem 2035

At a pivotal era of digital and regulatory evolution, the European banking sector anticipates significant shifts. Insightful collaboration between industry leaders and academics has led to four scenarios forecasting the industry’s transformation, highlighting digital banking, decentralized finance, and ESG regulations as key factors. This analysis offers a strategic blueprint for navigating the future.

The challenges that threaten traditional banking business models are ubiquitous. Among a myriad of market developments, FinTechs are entering the market using blockchain and other innovative technologies. And regulators are introducing costly requirements to protect consumers and the economy. Meanwhile, BigTechs are developing more and more banking-related products. Considering these trends and changes, it is crucial to continuously reevaluate and adapt current business strategies. As these developments remain highly uncertain, scenario-based thinking is an excellent tool to help with orientation.

Therefore, our Deloitte Banking Experts and the Center for the Long View take a glimpse into the future. Our proprietary scenario analysis methodology starts with identifying impactful drivers using our European Banking Trend Radar as well as extensive AI analysis, supported by expert interviews and workshops. In a next step, the drivers are divided into those that will most likely occur in the future and uncertain ones whose occurrence remains unclear.

Certain drivers

Even though the overall future remains uncertain, there are some drivers that influence all our scenarios:

  • Rising customer expectations about real-time banking and transparency
  • Demographic change leading to a divergence of customer needs between younger and older generations
  • New crypto-asset products
  • The rise of decentralized finance systems, and the ability of regulators to control them
  • Adoption of automation and AI in financial services
  • Metaverse and Web 3.0 applications
  • New interdisciplinary requirements for talent
  • New leadership archetypes to attract talent
  • Standardization of ESG-regulation and increased stakeholder pressure regarding ESG compliance

Uncertain drivers

From the multitude of uncertain driving forces, our experts have determined two main dimensions that will predominately shape the future of the European banking ecosystem.

The first dimension is the scope of the ecosystem. On the one hand, banks could face a narrow ecosystem in which innovative products are scarce, and customer choice is limited and standardized. On the other hand, the ecosystem could be comprised of a multitude of integrated services offered by startups. For this purpose, they rely on open interfaces and embedded finance as well as on novel technologies such as distributed ledger technology.

The level of regulatory intervention characterizes the second dimension. A regulatory “long-leash” allows banks with considerable leeway for new ideas and experiments. However, it is also conceivable that significant interventions could be at the center of the European regulatory framework, ensuring stability but suppressing innovation.

Our four future scenarios for the European Banking Ecosystem 2035

Based on these two dimensions, we have developed four distinct future scenarios, each of them marking the endpoints of the dimensions:

Scenario 1: Mild Wild West

[Long-leash & a multitude of integrated services]

In this scenario, European banking is set in a highly dynamic environment with a multitude of players who often flourish but also disappear quickly. Updated regulatory frameworks lead to increasing efficiency and innovation, and eventually foster competition. New challengers appear on the horizon and are often taken over by established players as quickly as they emerge. These dynamics result in a myriad of innovative services aimed at meeting every customer demand.

Scenario 2: Sandboxed Innovation

[Significant intervention & a multitude of integrated services]

In this scenario, the European banking ecosystem is characterized by inter- and intrasector collaboration taking place in a safeguarded sandbox environment for innovation. Regulatory bodies are primarily concerned about stability. Yet, as a secondary goal, they intend to maintain competition and innovation. Startups enter the market under strict regulatory constraints designed to protect traditional banks as providers of critical infra-structure. In contrast, big tech players are banned from offering financial services on their own.

Scenario 3: Caught in the Matrix

[Significant intervention & a narrow ecosystem]

In this scenario, strict regulatory frameworks enforce stability and safety of the European financial system. However, competition and breakthrough innovations have to be sacrificed for that purpose. Consequently, high regulatory entry barriers lead to oligopolistic market structures in which large traditional banks dominate. Customers are searching in vain for fully digitized and personalized banking services. Instead, the focus is on established values, such as data protection and transparency, and rather conservative and cost-focused business models.

Scenario 4: Big Players’ Paradise

[Long-leash & a narrow ecosystem]

In this scenario, banking in Europe is shaped by the dominance of international big players. Low regulatory standards and the softening of licensing requirements have prompted well-financed big tech companies to leverage their large customer base and enter the financial services market. Along with incumbent banks, these players constitute a powerful oligopoly, hindering the emergence of new innovative startups. This market structure comes at the disadvantage of customers: They have to face high prices, low transparency, and dubious data protection standards.

Conclusion

Each of these four future scenarios will pose critical challenges for the European banking ecosystem. Traditional banking players will face innovative challengers, such as FinTechs or neobanks, and platform orchestrators, such as big tech companies or decentralized financial service providers. Regulators will update their frameworks and customer expectations will change. Our scenario analysis enables banks to proactively prepare for the upcoming developments.

Source: Deloitte
Image:  Onchira via stock.adobe.com

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
(Visited 35 times, 1 visits today)
Close

Written by 10:00 Finanzplatz, Mitglieder

Die Zukunft des europäischen Banken-Ökosystems 2035

Der europäische Bankensektor befindet sich in einer entscheidenden Phase der digitalen und regulatorischen Entwicklung und steht vor bedeutenden Veränderungen. Die aufschlussreiche Zusammenarbeit zwischen Branchenführern und Wissenschaftlern hat zu vier Szenarien geführt, die den Wandel der Branche prognostizieren und das digitale Bankwesen, dezentralisierte Finanzen und ESG-Vorschriften als Schlüsselfaktoren hervorheben. Diese Analyse bietet einen strategischen Entwurf für die Navigation in der Zukunft.

Die Herausforderungen, die traditionelle Bankgeschäftsmodelle bedrohen, sind allgegenwärtig. Neben einer Vielzahl von Marktentwicklungen drängen FinTechs mit Blockchain und anderen innovativen Technologien auf den Markt. Und die Regulierungsbehörden führen kostspielige Anforderungen zum Schutz der Verbraucher und der Wirtschaft ein. Gleichzeitig entwickeln BigTechs immer mehr bankbezogene Produkte. In Anbetracht dieser Trends und Veränderungen ist es von entscheidender Bedeutung, die aktuellen Geschäftsstrategien ständig neu zu bewerten und anzupassen. Da diese Entwicklungen nach wie vor sehr unsicher sind, ist szenariobasiertes Denken ein hervorragendes Instrument zur Orientierung.

Deshalb wagen unsere Deloitte Banking Experts und das Center for the Long View einen Blick in die Zukunft. Unsere eigens entwickelte Szenario-Analyse-Methodik beginnt mit der Identifizierung der wichtigsten Einflussfaktoren mithilfe unseres European Banking Trend Radar sowie einer umfassenden KI-Analyse, unterstützt durch Experteninterviews und Workshops. In einem nächsten Schritt werden die Einflussfaktoren in solche unterteilt, die mit hoher Wahrscheinlichkeit in der Zukunft eintreten werden, und in unsichere, deren Eintreten noch unklar ist.

Sichere Einflussfaktoren

Auch wenn die Zukunft insgesamt unsicher bleibt, gibt es einige Faktoren, die alle unsere Szenarien beeinflussen:

  • Steigende Kundenerwartungen an Echtzeit-Banking und Transparenz
  • Demografischer Wandel führt zu unterschiedlichen Kundenbedürfnissen zwischen jüngeren und älteren Generationen
  • Neue Krypto-Asset-Produkte
  • Aufstieg dezentralisierter Finanzsysteme und die Fähigkeit der Regulierungsbehörden, diese zu kontrollieren
  • Einführung von Automatisierung und KI in Finanzdienstleistungen
  • Metaverse und Web 3.0 Anwendungen
  • Neue interdisziplinäre Anforderungen an Talente
  • Neue Führungsarchetypen zur Talentgewinnung
  • Standardisierung der ESG-Regulierung und erhöhter Druck der Stakeholder bezüglich ESG-Konformität

Unsichere Einflussfaktoren

Aus der Vielzahl der unsicheren Antriebskräfte haben unsere Experten zwei Hauptdimensionen ermittelt, die die Zukunft des europäischen Banken-Ökosystems maßgeblich prägen werden.

Die erste Dimension ist der Umfang des Ökosystems. Einerseits könnten die Banken mit einem engen Ökosystem konfrontiert sein, in dem es kaum innovative Produkte gibt und die Auswahl für die Kunden begrenzt und standardisiert ist. Auf der anderen Seite könnte das Ökosystem aus einer Vielzahl integrierter Dienstleistungen bestehen, die von Start-ups angeboten werden. Zu diesem Zweck setzen sie auf offene Schnittstellen und eingebettete Finanzen sowie auf neuartige Technologien wie die Distributed-Ledger-Technologie.

Die zweite Dimension ist durch das Ausmaß der regulatorischen Eingriffe gekennzeichnet. Eine regulatorische “lange Leine” lässt den Banken einen großen Spielraum für neue Ideen und Experimente. Es ist jedoch auch denkbar, dass erhebliche Eingriffe im Zentrum des europäischen Regulierungsrahmens stehen, die zwar Stabilität gewährleisten, aber Innovationen unterdrücken.

Unsere vier Zukunftsszenarien für das europäische Banken-Ökosystem 2035

Auf der Grundlage dieser beiden Dimensionen haben wir vier verschiedene Zukunftsszenarien entwickelt, die jeweils die Endpunkte der Dimensionen markieren:

Szenario 1: Mild Wild West

[Lange Leine & eine Vielzahl integrierter Dienstleistungen]

In diesem Szenario befindet sich das europäische Bankwesen in einem äußerst dynamischen Umfeld mit einer Vielzahl von Akteuren, die oft florieren, aber auch schnell wieder verschwinden. Aktualisierte regulatorische Rahmenbedingungen führen zu mehr Effizienz und Innovation und fördern schließlich den Wettbewerb. Neue Herausforderer tauchen am Horizont auf und werden oft so schnell wie sie auftauchen von etablierten Akteuren übernommen. Diese Dynamik führt zu einer Vielzahl innovativer Dienstleistungen, die alle Kundenwünsche erfüllen sollen.

Szenario 2: Sandboxed Innovation

[Erhebliche Interventionen und eine Vielzahl integrierter Dienste]

In diesem Szenario ist das europäische Banken-Ökosystem durch eine branchenübergreifende und brancheninterne Zusammenarbeit gekennzeichnet, die in einem geschützten Sandkastenumfeld für Innovationen stattfindet. Die Regulierungsbehörden sind in erster Linie um Stabilität bemüht. Als sekundäres Ziel beabsichtigen sie jedoch, Wettbewerb und Innovation aufrechtzuerhalten. Startups treten unter strengen regulatorischen Auflagen in den Markt ein, die darauf abzielen, traditionelle Banken als Anbieter kritischer Infrastrukturen zu schützen. Im Gegensatz dazu ist es den großen Technologieunternehmen untersagt, selbst Finanzdienstleistungen anzubieten.

Szenario 3: Gefangen in der Matrix

[Erhebliche Eingriffe & ein enges Ökosystem]

In diesem Szenario sorgen strenge regulatorische Rahmenbedingungen für die Stabilität und Sicherheit des europäischen Finanzsystems. Zu diesem Zweck müssen jedoch Wettbewerb und bahnbrechende Innovationen geopfert werden. Folglich führen hohe regulatorische Eintrittsbarrieren zu oligopolistischen Marktstrukturen, in denen große traditionelle Banken dominieren. Voll digitalisierte und personalisierte Bankdienstleistungen suchen die Kunden vergeblich. Stattdessen stehen etablierte Werte wie Datenschutz und Transparenz sowie eher konservative und kostenorientierte Geschäftsmodelle im Vordergrund.

Szenario 4: Big Players’ Paradise

[Lange Leine & ein enges Ökosystem]

In diesem Szenario ist das Bankwesen in Europa von der Dominanz internationaler Großunternehmen geprägt. Niedrige Regulierungsstandards und die Aufweichung der Zulassungsanforderungen haben gut finanzierte große Technologieunternehmen dazu veranlasst, ihren großen Kundenstamm zu nutzen und in den Finanzdienstleistungsmarkt einzutreten. Zusammen mit den etablierten Banken bilden diese Akteure ein mächtiges Oligopol, das das Aufkommen neuer innovativer Start-ups behindert. Diese Marktstruktur geht zum Nachteil der Kunden: Sie sind mit hohen Preisen, geringer Transparenz und zweifelhaften Datenschutzstandards konfrontiert.

Fazit

Jedes dieser vier Zukunftsszenarien wird das europäische Banken-Ökosystem vor entscheidende Herausforderungen stellen. Traditionelle Bankakteure werden mit innovativen Herausforderern wie FinTechs oder Neobanken und Plattform-Orchestrierern wie großen Technologieunternehmen oder dezentralen Finanzdienstleistern konfrontiert sein. Die Regulierungsbehörden werden ihre Rahmenbedingungen aktualisieren und die Kundenerwartungen werden sich ändern. Unsere Szenarioanalyse ermöglicht es Banken, sich proaktiv auf die kommenden Entwicklungen vorzubereiten.

Quelle: Deloitte; automatische Übersetzung
Bild:  Onchira via stock.adobe.com

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
(Visited 41 times, 1 visits today)
Close