Happy Birthday Deutsche Bundesbank!

The German Central Bank, headquartered in the banking centre Frankfurt am Main, is celebrating its 60th anniversary.

Almost 13 billion German marks (DM) are still in circulation – one of the reasons is because many Germans are still hanging on to the coins or notes from the old currency as a souvenir. The cash can still be exchanged in the branches of the Deutsche Bundesbank, an institution that has watched over the stability of the DM as the monetary watchdog for decades.

With the introduction of the euro as German currency, this responsibility has passed into the hands of the European Central Bank (ECB). But the Bundesbank and its almost 10,000 employees continue to supply banks with fresh cash, sort out counterfeit money, process payment transactions both at home and abroad and supervise the activities of most of the banks in Germany. It also holds and manages the country’s gold reserves.

The Deutsche Bundesbank is celebrating its 60th anniversary this year, and to mark this jubilee it has recorded everything one needs to know about its inception and development in brief yet informative little films. On the Deutsche Bundesbank website, anyone interested can also find key dates, facts and figures about the central bank and has the chance to view a range of historical photos and film footage.

Picture credit: Deutsche Bundesbank

Happy Birthday Deutsche Bundesbank!

Die Zentralbank Deutschlands mit Hauptsitz in der Bankenstadt Frankfurt am Main feiert ihr 60-jähriges Jubiläum.

Fast 13 Milliarden Deutsche Mark (DM) sind immer noch in Umlauf – zum Beispiel, weil viele Deutschen die Münzen oder Geldscheine der alten Währung als Erinnerung aufbewahren. Umtauschen lässt sich das Geld auch weiterhin in den Filialen der Deutschen Bundesbank, die über Jahrzehnte hinweg als Währungshüter über die Stabilität der DM wachte.

Mit der Einführung des Euro hat diese Aufgabe zwar die Europäische Zentralbank (EZB) übernommen. Doch die Deutsche Bundesbank mit ihren knapp 10.000 Mitarbeitern versorgt nach wie vor Banken mit frischem Bargeld, sortiert Falschgeld aus, wickelt Zahlungsverkehr im In- und Ausland ab und beaufsichtigt einen Großteil der Banken in Deutschland. Zudem verwaltet sie die Goldreserven des Landes.

In diesem Jahr feiert die Deutsche Bundesbank ihr 60-jähriges Bestehen und hat anlässlich dieses Jubiläums alles Wissenswerte rund um ihre Gründung und Entwicklung in kurzen, informativen Filmen festgehalten. Auf der Webseite der Deutschen Bundesbank können Interessierte zudem wichtige Zahlen, Daten und Fakten sowie historisches Bildmaterial finden.

Bildnachweis: Deutsche Bundesbank

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on LinkedInEmail this to someone