Initiative Gives a Face to the Financial Centre

A reliable partner for 10 years with a strong and weighty voice – ideally geared to meet future challenges

Volker Bouffier. © Staatskanzlei

By Volker Bouffier, Prime Minister of the State of Hesse

The initiative Frankfurt Main Finance celebrates its ten-year anniversary, and it is an immense pleasure for me to express my cordial congratulations in this regard! It means a great deal as far as the status and reputation of the initiative is concerned that Börsen-Zeitung publishes special pages on this occasion. I also explicitly wish to express my appreciation and am pleased to take this opportunity to thank those responsible for their long-standing commitment.

The Financial Centre Frankfurt is a great deal more for the state of Hesse than just a significant economic factor. It enriches our federal state as an additional facet of which we are proud. For decades now, the bank towers have been a hallmark of Frankfurt’s city silhouette. You can admire them from an aircraft when taking off or landing at Frankfurt International Airport, when driving across a number of motorways in Hesse or from the elevation of the Große Feldberg.

Over 62,000 people currently work in these impressive bank towers in Frankfurt’s city centre. They are employed by 199 banks – including some 160 international institutions. The unique network of these enterprises is augmented by first-class research facilities. Moreover, the key authorities of the European Financial Markets Supervisory Authority, the European Central Bank (ECB) and our national watchdogs, namely the Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (BaFin) and Deutsche Bundesbank are assembled here at Frankfurt. A brisk start-up scene and numerous fintechs round off the ecosystem of the financial sector that has grown in the course of many years.

Identifying and exploiting opportunities

The government of the state of Hesse intensively follows the development of this financial centre and has a reliable partner in Frankfurt Main Finance. Only in constant exchange between policymakers and industry are we able to respond to current developments of the globally networked financial industry. Policymakers are responsible for creating the necessary fundamental conditions. The shared objective of Frankfurt Main Finance and the government of Hesse is to identify and exploit opportunities in tandem with early detection of risks and taking appropriate precautions. The fact that today in Frankfurt we are talking about the most important financial centre in continental Europe shows that our cooperation is successful and that we have already achieved a great deal together. This constitutes motivation to continue our work with an ambitious and confident mindset.

 “Frankfurt Main Finance has always been the central platform for information and exchange of views. By today, 50 noteworthy members have joined the initiative, representing banks and fintechs as well as universities and consultancy firms.”

A stable and prospering economy has its foundations on a healthy financial and capital market. Just how powerful this relationship is was demonstrated during the Financial Crisis in 2008. The tremors of a stumbling financial sector were felt across the globe and in almost all economic areas and walks of life. Many of the errors previously committed suddenly raised their ugly heads in cumulative form, and today it is in the common interests of policymakers, the financial sector and the real economy that this crisis will not be repeated.

The fact that the initiative Frankfurt Main Finance was founded at this precise moment in time was an important signal and of outstanding importance for Frankfurt as a financial centre. This is particularly so because here in Frankfurt lies the monetary heart of Europe’s most important economy.

Since then, Frankfurt Main Finance has been the central platform for information and exchange. By today, 50 noteworthy members have joined the initiative, representing banks and fintechs as well as universities and consultancy firms. Understanding their needs, pooling resources and formulating positions is the collective mandate of Frankfurt Main Finance. Those responsible – led by President Dr Lutz Raettig – meet this requirement in an outstanding manner and, not least, due to their many years’ experience and remarkable international network.

 “The Financial Centre Frankfurt is a great deal more for the state of Hesse than just a significant economic factor. It enriches our federal state as an additional facet of which we are proud.”

However, the task at hand also includes creating a bridge to companies operating in the real economy and to consumers. Understanding the mechanisms of the banking and capital market – particularly in times of rapid digital change and global networking – is not easy and at the same time represents the basis for trust and confidence. Over many years, a vacuum had originated here that could only be resolved through personal commitment, information, and the breaking down of complex facts. Frankfurt Main Finance has given a face to the financial centre of Frankfurt and the institutions to which it serves as a home. This creates credibility, reputation and reliability.

No easy tightrope act

In the past ten years, the general framework conditions for the financial industry have undergone significant change. Today, the regulation standards are much higher, and supervisory structures have been adjusted in relation to 2008. In Europe, at present we clearly are on the important path towards a capital market and banking union. In terms of all agreed measures, policymakers always focus on securing financial market stability while maintaining competitiveness in an international environment. This certainly is no easy tightrope act, which is becoming even more challenging due to geopolitical changes and the process of digital transformation.

The Financial Centre Frankfurt is ideally prepared to meet these challenges. I have already described the very special network comprising all relevant market participants at a single location, with short distances between them. The stability of the financial and economic environment and the reputation of local supervisors are high and important location factors. Another positive factor is a high-performance infrastructure. With Frankfurt International Airport and the central rail and tram traffic systems, the city is ideally connected to European and international capitals, and the world’s biggest Intranet hub in terms of sheer data throughput is “Deutsche Commercial Internet Exchange (DE-CIX)” in Frankfurt. At our local universities and specialised research facilities, we train budding junior talents of which we are proud and for which we are envied at other financial locations across the globe.

We therefore have every reason to look to the future with optimism and self-confidence. Following Great Britain’s decision to leave the EU, which we greatly regret, there is nothing to stop us from moving up into leading position within the overall European structure. At present, we are experiencing intensive location-based competition between financial centres in continental Europe. The question here is who stands to benefit most from the necessary relocation in the wake of Brexit of international banks and service providers from London to the EU 27. The fact that meanwhile many experts – not only in Germany – express their assumption that Frankfurt could become the big winner amongst all continental financial centres is a partial success story of which we are proud.

Time to abandon a stand-alone attitude

At the same time, however, I am convinced that we need to abandon this insular mindset. Europe will only be competitive on an international scale if we cooperate and can truly speak of a European financial centre. Previously, around the world London was widely accepted in this position, and I can say with all due confidence that we plan to take over this role in Frankfurt in the not too distant future. The main prerequisite for this is that we remain attractive in the long run and build bridges to Paris, Dublin, Luxembourg and other financial centres. However, our link to the City of London also remains important. And in London ambassadors like Frankfurt Main Finance certainly are in demand.

Brexit offers us a momentum that we should not leave unused. For this reason, in exchanging views with other market participants, we are taking a very close look at the local framework conditions and discussing where we can lay the foundations to remain attractive in the long term. In the process, we also take into account our high standards as well as the activities of our competitors and changes unfolding in a worldwide structure. Here are two examples to show what I am talking about: For one thing, the future positioning of the clearing business of derivatives denominated in euros; for another, ideas concerning future financial supervisory structures in Europe. This is where the guidelines are being defined for the coming years and where we adopt a clear and unambiguous stance.

We perceive the current challenges as a major opportunity. It is particularly in this process that we need the strong and weighty voice of Frankfurt Main Finance. Accordingly, I look forward to the continuation of our mutual collaboration!

Weitere Beiträge zu diesem Thema

Highly respected and sought-after contact Frankfurt Main Finance authentically combines the business and social aspects of the region and financial centre By Roland Koch, Former Prime Minist...
Financial Centre Initiative Resonates Worldwide FMF knows how to make use of expertise and appreciation in all matters and interests of the financial industry By Dr. Lutz Raettig, President of Fra...
A Network for the Future of the Financial Centre Frankfurt is well equiped for this  – forum creates platform for discourse on wide array of topicsby Peter Feldmann, Lord Mayor of the City of Fr...
Frankfurt Main Finance – ten years of service to t... Frankfurt Main Finance (FMF) has reason to celebrate. The financial centre initiative was founded ten years ago and is continuously growing in importa...

Initiative gibt dem Finanzplatz ein Gesicht

Schon seit 10 Jahren ein verlässlicher Partner mit einer starken und gewichtigen Stimme – Bestens für künftige Herausforderungen gewappnet

Volker Bouffier. © Staatskanzlei

Von Volker Bouffier, Ministerpräsident des Landes Hessen

Die Initiative Frankfurt Main Fi­nance feiert ihr zehnjähriges Bestehen, und es ist mir eine große Freude, auch auf diesem Weg herzlich zu gratulieren! Es sagt bereits viel über den Stellenwert und das Ansehen der Initiative aus, dass die Börsen-Zeitung zu diesem Anlass Sonderseiten veröffentlicht. Ich schließe mich dieser Wertschätzung ausdrücklich an und nutze gerne die Gelegenheit, mich bei den Verantwortlichen für das langjährige Engagement zu bedanken.

Der Finanzplatz Frankfurt ist für Hessen weit mehr als ein bedeutender Wirtschaftsfaktor. Er bereichert unser Land als eine zusätzliche Facette, auf die wir stolz sind. Seit Jahrzehnten prägen die Bankentürme das Frankfurter Stadtbild. Man kann sie aus dem Flugzeug beim Start oder im Landeanflug auf den Frankfurter Flughafen, beim Befahren verschiedener Autobahnen in Hessen oder beim Blick vom Großen Feldberg aus bestaunen.

In diesen eindrucksvollen Bankentürmen arbeiten im Frankfurter Stadtgebiet derzeit über 62 000 Menschen. Sie sind bei 199 Banken beschäftigt – darunter etwa 160 internationale Institute. Das einzigartige Netzwerk dieser Unternehmen wird durch erstklassige Forschungseinrichtungen ergänzt. Darüber hinaus sind die wichtigsten Behörden der Europäischen Finanzmarktaufsicht, die Europäische Zentralbank (EZB) und unsere nationalen Aufseher Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht (BaFin) und Bundesbank an einem Ort vereint. Eine lebhafte Start-up-Szene und zahlreiche Fintechs runden das über viele Jahre gewachsene Ökosystem der Finanzbranche ab.

Chancen erkennen und nutzen

Die Hessische Landesregierung begleitet intensiv die Entwicklung des Finanzplatzes und hat mit Frankfurt Main Finance einen verlässlichen Partner. Nur im stetigen Austausch zwischen Politik und Indus­trie können wir auf aktuelle Entwicklungen der weltweit vernetzten Finanzbranche reagieren. Die Politik trägt dabei die Verantwortung, Rahmenbedingungen zu gestalten. Das gemeinsame Ziel von Frankfurt Main Finance und der Hessischen Landesregierung ist es, Chancen zu erkennen und zu nutzen und zugleich Risiken frühzeitig zu identifizieren und entsprechende Vorkehrungen zu treffen. Dass wir in Frankfurt heute vom wichtigsten Finanzplatz Kontinentaleuropas sprechen, zeigt, dass unser Miteinander erfolgreich ist und wir gemeinsam bereits Vieles erreicht haben. Das ist Motivation, unsere Arbeit auch in Zukunft ambitioniert und selbstbewusst fortzusetzen.

„Frankfurt Main Fi­nance bildet seither die zentrale Plattform für Information und Austausch. Bis heute haben sich 50 namhafte Mitglieder angeschlossen, die sowohl Banken und Fintechs als auch Hochschulen und Beratungsunternehmen repräsentieren.“

Eine stabile und prosperierende Volkswirtschaft fußt auf einem gesunden Finanz- und Kapitalmarkt. Wie stark dieses Wechselspiel ist, hat die Finanzkrise im Jahr 2008 gezeigt. Die Stoßwellen eines strauchelnden Finanzsektors waren weltweit und in beinahe allen Wirtschafts- und Lebensbereichen spürbar. Viele der zuvor gemachten Fehler flogen schlagartig und kumuliert auf, und es liegt heute im gemeinsamen Interesse von Politik, Finanz- und Realwirtschaft, dass sich diese Krise nicht wiederholt.

Dass sich genau in dieser Zeit die Initiative Frankfurt Main Finance gründete, war ein wichtiges Signal und für den Finanzplatz Frankfurt von herausragender Bedeutung. Dies gilt nicht zuletzt, da hier das monetäre Herz der wichtigsten Volkswirtschaft Europas schlägt.

Frankfurt Main Fi­nance bildet seither die zentrale Plattform für Information und Austausch. Bis heute haben sich 50 namhafte Mitglieder angeschlossen, die sowohl Banken und Fintechs als auch Hochschulen und Beratungsunternehmen repräsentieren. Ihre Anliegen zu verstehen, Kräfte zu bündeln und Positionen zu formulieren ist der Auftrag der Frankfurt Main Finance. Die Verantwortlichen – allen voran der Präsident Dr. Lutz Raettig – erfüllen dies in herausragender Weise und nicht zuletzt aufgrund ihrer langjährigen Erfahrung und ihres beachtlichen internationalen Netzwerks.

„Der Finanzplatz Frankfurt ist für Hessen weit mehr als ein bedeutender Wirtschaftsfaktor. Er bereichert unser Land als eine zusätzliche Facette, auf die wir stolz sind.“

Es geht aber auch darum, die Brücke zu Unternehmen der Realwirtschaft und den Verbrauchern zu schlagen. Die Mechanismen des Banken- und Kapitalmarktes zu verstehen – insbesondere in Zeiten eines rasanten digitalen Wandels und einer weltweiten Vernetzung – ist nicht einfach und zugleich die Grundlage für Vertrauen. Hier war über lange Zeit ein Vakuum entstanden, das nur durch das persönliche Engagement, Information und das Herunterbrechen komplexer Sachverhalte aufgelöst werden konnte. Frankfurt Main Finance hat dem Finanzplatz in Frankfurt und den hier niedergelassenen Instituten ein Gesicht gegeben. Das schafft Glaubwürdigkeit, Ansehen und Verbindlichkeit.

Kein einfacher Spagat

In den vergangenen zehn Jahren haben sich die Rahmenbedingungen für die Finanzindustrie stark verändert. Die Regulierungsstandards sind ungleich höher, und die Aufsichtsstrukturen wurden gegenüber 2008 angepasst. In Europa sind wir ganz aktuell auf dem bedeutenden Weg zur Kapitalmarkt- und Bankenunion. Im Fokus der politisch Verantwortlichen liegt bei allen vereinbarten Maßnahmen stets die Sicherung der Finanzmarktstabilität bei gleichzeitiger Wahrung der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit in einem internationalen Umfeld. Kein einfacher Spagat, der aktuell durch geopolitische Veränderungen und den digitalen Wandel noch herausfordernder wird.

Der Finanzplatz Frankfurt ist für diese Herausforderungen bestens gewappnet. Das besondere Netzwerk aller relevanten Marktteilnehmer an einem Ort der kurzen Wege habe ich bereits beschrieben. Die Stabilität des Umfelds und das Ansehen der hiesigen Aufseher sind hoch und wichtige Standortfaktoren. Hinzu kommt eine leistungsstarke Infrastruktur. Die Stadt ist mit dem Frankfurter Flughafen und den zentralen Bahn- und Straßenverkehrsadern bestens an die europäischen und internationalen Hauptstädte angebunden, und der am Datendurchsatz gemessen größte Internet-Knoten der Welt „Deutsche Commercial Internet Exchange (DE-CIX) liegt in Frankfurt. An den hiesigen Hochschulen und spezialisierten Forschungseinrichtungen bilden wir junge Talente aus, auf die wir stolz sind und um die wir an anderen Finanzplätzen beneidet werden.

Wir haben deshalb allen Grund, optimistisch und selbstbewusst in die Zukunft zu blicken. Es steht dem nichts im Wege, nach dem EU-Austritt Großbritanniens, den wir bedauern, die Spitzenposition im europäischen Gefüge einzunehmen. Derzeit erleben wir in Kontinentaleuropa einen intensiven Standortwettbewerb der Finanzplätze. Dabei geht es um die Frage, wer am meisten von den im Zuge des Brexit notwendig gewordenen Standortverlagerungen internationaler Banken und Dienstleister aus London in die EU 27 profitiert. Dass inzwischen viele Experten – nicht nur in Deutschland – die Vermutung äußern, Frankfurt könne unter allen kontinentalen Finanzplätzen der große Gewinner werden, ist ein Teilerfolg, auf den wir stolz sind.

Inseldenken aufgeben

Zugleich bin ich jedoch der Überzeugung, dass wir dieses Inseldenken aufgeben müssen. Europa wird international nur dann wettbewerbsfähig sein, wenn wir kooperieren und von einem europäischen Finanzplatz sprechen können. Weltweit war London bisher in dieser Position akzeptiert, und ich sage ganz selbstbewusst, dass wir diese Rolle perspektivisch in Frankfurt übernehmen wollen. Die Voraussetzung dafür ist, dass wir langfristig attraktiv bleiben und Brücken nach Paris, Dublin, Luxemburg und anderen Finanzplätzen schlagen. Aber auch die Verbindung zur City of London bleibt von Bedeutung. Hier sind Botschafter wie Frankfurt Main Finance gefragt.

Der Brexit bietet uns ein Momentum, das es zu nutzen gilt. Wir schauen uns daher im Austausch mit Marktteilnehmern sehr genau die hiesigen Rahmenbedingungen an und diskutieren, wo wir Weichenstellungen vornehmen können und wollen, um langfristig attraktiv zu sein. Dabei beziehen wir unsere hohen Standards ebenso ein wie die Aktivitäten unserer Konkurrenz und die Veränderungen in einem weltweiten Gefüge. Zwei Beispiele, die anschaulich machen, wovon ich spreche: Zum einen die künftige Aufstellung der Abwicklung und Besicherung (Clearing) von in Euro lautenden Derivategeschäften oder zum anderen die Überlegungen zu den künftigen Finanzaufsichtsstrukturen in Europa. Hier werden die Leitplanken für die kommenden Jahre gesteckt, und wir beziehen klar Position.

Wir begreifen die aktuellen He­­r­ausforderungen als Chance. Gerade in diesem Prozess brauchen wir die starke und gewichtige Stimme der Frankfurt Main Finance. In diesem Sinne freue ich mich auf die Fortsetzung unserer Zusammenarbeit!

 

Weitere Beiträge zu diesem Thema

Allseits respektierter und gesuchter Gesprächspart... Frankfurt Main Finance verbindet sachliche und menschliche Seiten der Region und des Finanzzentrums glaubwürdig Von Roland Koch, hessicher Ministerp...