Potential for further growth of the German start-up scene

The German start-up scene has developed considerably over recent years. However, in international comparison with Israel, the United Kingdom and California, there is still room for improvement regarding entrepreneurial spirit and framework conditions. This is the result of an EY study on the attractiveness of start-up ecosystems, which has been conducted in cooperation with Deutsche Börse. There is especially enough upside potential for the regulatory and tax frameworks. Simultaneously, the authors praise the potential for future growth and progress, as well as the economic framework conditions in Germany. Germany and particularly the Frankfurt/Rhine-Main region scores with good infrastructure and moderate real estate prices.

The promotion of the financial sector’s digitalisation at the Financial Centre Frankfurt was especially positively mentioned. A total of seven incubators in the Rhine-Main region (FinTech Hub from Deutsche Börse, Unibator from Goethe University, Accelerator Frankfurt, Main Incubator, FinTech Headquarter, Digitalfabrik from Deutschee Bank, Tech Quartier, FinTech Lab VABN) promote the development of still-young FinTechs and their business ideas. As an incentive for the improvement of the FinTech scene in Germany, the study suggests the expansion of co-working desks. Here again, Frankfurt sets a good example: The incubator Tech Quartier, for instance, offers working space for FinTechs of any size. Business Angels FrankfurtRheinMain – Germany’s largest organisation with around 100 business angels – brings together start-ups and business angels.

The study also highly praises the “Digital Hub Initiative” by the Federal Government. Within the scope of this initiative aimed at strengthening Germany as the leading industrial nation, the Federal Government honoured the Financial Centre Frankfurt as Digital Hub for FinTechs and Financial Services. Thus, the Financial Centre Frankfurt offers a wide range of emerging FinTechs.

Potential für weiteres Wachstum der Deutschen-Start-up-Szene

Die deutsche Start-up-Szene hat sich in den letzten Jahren stark entwickelt. Allerdings bleibt im internationalen Vergleich mit Israel, dem Vereinigten Königreich und Kalifornien weiter Raum  zur Verbesserung von Gründergeist und Rahmenbedingungen. Zu diesem Ergebnis kommt eine EY-Studie, die in Kooperation mit der Deutschen Börse zu der Attraktivität von Start-up Ökosystemen, erstellt wurde. Luft nach oben gibt es insbesondere bei den regulatorischen und steuerlichen Rahmenbedingungen. Gleichzeitig loben die Autoren das Potential für künftiges Wachstum und Fortschritte, sowie die wirtschaftlichen Rahmenbedingung in Deutschland. Deutschland und insbesondere die Region Frankfurt Rhein-Main punktet mit guter Infrastruktur und moderaten Immobilienpreisen.

Besonders positiv wird das Vorantreiben der Digitalisierung der Finanzbranche am Finanzplatzt Frankfurt am Main erwähnt. Insgesamt sieben Inkubatoren in der Region Rhein-Main (FinTech Hub der Deutschen Börse, Unibator der Goethe Universität, Accelerator Frankfurt, Main Incubator, FinTech Headquarter, Digitalfabrik der Deutschen Bank, Tech Quartier, FinTech Lab VABN) fördern die Entwicklung noch junger Fintechs und deren Geschäftsideen. Als einen Anreiz für die Verbesserung der Fintechszene in Deutschland schlägt die Studie den Ausbau von Co-Working-Büroräume vor. Auch hier geht der Finanzplatz Frankfurt bereits mit guten Beispiel voran: Der Inkubator Tech Quartier beispielsweise bietet Arbeitsraum für Fintechs jeglicher Größe. Business Angels FrankfurtRheinMain – mit rund 100 Business Angels Deutschlands größte Organisation – bringt Start-ups mit Business Angels zusammen.

Lobend erwähnt wird in der Studie außerdem die „Digital Hub Initiative“ der Bundesregierung. Im Rahmen dieser Initiative zur Stärkung Deutschlands als führende Industrienation zeichnete die Bundesregierung im November 2016 den Finanzplatz Frankfurt als Digital Hub für FinTechs und Finanzdienstleistung aus. Der Finanzplatz Frankfurt bietet also zahlreiche Möglichkeiten für aufstrebende Fintechs.

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on LinkedInEmail this to someone