FinTech ecosystem

Welcome to Frankfurt – Germany’s leading FinTech ecosystem

Hessen Trade and Invest has, in cooperation with Frankfurt Main Finance and Wirtschafts- und Infrastrukturbank Hessen, published a new brochure highlighting the many qualities of the FinTech ecosystem in the Frankfurt Rhein-Main region. Hessen Minister of Economics, Energy, Transport and Regional Development, Tarek Al-Wazir states in the brochure, “The digital transition taking place in the financial industry represents an opportunity that we are ideally equipped to capitalize on. The Rhine-Main region is a financial center as well as an ICT industry hot spot. This combination offers enormous potential in today’s world where digital technologies are giving rise to the creation of entirely new business models. And it is precisely this potential that we are now in the process of mobilizing.”

The brochure offers a concrete outline of why Frankfurt and Hessen offers the perfect conditions for international investors and FinTech start-ups. The Financial Centre Frankfurt offers FinTech companies a unique set of location specific advantages. In addition to the numerous supervisory authorities and regulatory agencies, the greater Frankfurt area is home to outstanding expertise in the ever-important are of IT security. In November 2016, the German federal government designated the Financial Centre Frankfurt the digital hub for FinTech and financial services as part of their greater digital hubs initiative.

Frankfurt am Main is already home to great FinTech success stories. One such example is 360T, an electronic FX trading venue that was acquired by Deutsche Börse Group in 2015 for 725 million euros. Another success story is Frankfurt based robo-advisor Vaamo. Born out of the Goethe University’s Unibator, Vaamo quickly became a partner in the B2B segment, working with the likes of N26, Santander and 1822direkt.

Future success stories in the FinTech space are currently being written in Frankfurt’s many incubators and accelerators. As part of the Digital Hub initiative, Frankfurt’s Tech Quartier was named the German FinTech Hub. Tech Quartier offers a varying array of working spaces for start-ups of all sizes. The FinTech brochure maps out the locations of Frankfurt’s incubators and accelerators, like the Deutsche Börse FinTech Hub or Accelerator Frankfurt, illustrating the dynamic FinTech ecosystem and cluster. This dynamic ecosystem is enriched by a numerous events series occurring almost weekly as well as awards for entrepreneurs, like the FinTechGermany Award where the top FinTechs are honored with a Golden Garage.

To learn more about Germany’s leading FinTech ecosystem in the heart of Europe, download the brochure from Hessen Trade and Invest here.

 

Weitere Beiträge zu diesem Thema

Deutsche Börse – Crypto asset dojo 2018 If your daily activities include any of the following: creative thinking, coding, designing, hardware tinkering and lots of coffee, this one is ...
FinTech delegation travels to South Korea and Hong... As in recent years, in January a FinTech delegation will be traveling under the leadership of Dr. Raettig to Hong Kong for the Asian Financial Forum (...
1 Year TechQuartier – FinTech scene in Frank... The Tech Quartier celebrates its 1-year anniversary. Lars Reiner, founder and Manager of Ginmon, Thomas Schalow, founder of AsiaFundManagers.com, Andr...
EY Start-up Academy – successful round of fi... Consortium comprising High-Tech Gründerfonds and lenders from Business Angels FrankfurtRheinMain e.V. invest more than EUR 775,000 in node.energy ...

FinTech ecosystem

Willkommen in Frankfurt – Deutschlands führendes FinTech-Ökosystem

Die vielen Qualitäten des FinTech-Ökosystems der Rhein-Main-Region kurz und knapp beleuchtet – dass bietet die neue Broschüre von Hessen Trade and Invest, der Wirtschaftsentwicklungsgesellschaft des Landes Hessen, in Kooperation mit Frankfurt Main Finance und der Wirtschafts- und Infrastrukturbank Hessen. „Der digitale Wandel innerhalb der Finanzbranche ist eine Herausforderung, für die wir gewappnet sind“, sagt Tarek Al-Wazir, Hessischer Minister für Wirtschaft, Energie, Verkehr und Landesentwicklung, in der Broschüre. „Die Rhein-Main-Region ist eine Finanzmetropole genauso wie ein Hotspot der Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik. Diese Kombination bietet enormes Potential in der heutigen Welt, in der digitale Technologien zahlreiche Möglichkeiten für völlig neue Geschäftsmodelle liefern. Und genau dieses Potential mobilisieren wir gerade.“

Die Broschüre erklärt, warum der Finanzplatz Frankfurt und Hessen die perfekten Bedingungen für internationale Investoren und FinTech-Start-ups bieten. Neben den zahlreichen Aufsichtsbehörden und Regulierungsagenturen hat der Großraum Frankfurt ausgezeichnete Expertise im immer wichtiger werdenden Bereich der IT-Sicherheit. Im November 2016 zeichnete die deutsche Bundesregierung den Finanzplatz Frankfurt als Digital Hub für FinTechs und Finanzdienstleitungen im Rahmen seiner Initiative zur Stärkung Deutschlands als führende Industrienation aus.

Frankfurt am Main ist bereits Geburtsstätte zahlreicher Fintech-Erfolgsgeschichten. So etwa 360T: Die Devisenplattform wurde 2015 von der Deutschen Börse für 725 Millionen Euro aufgekauft. Auch der in Frankfurt ansässige Robo Advisor Vaamo entwickelte sich in kürzester Zeit aus dem Unibator der Goethe-Universität zu einem wichtigen Partner im B2B-Sektor mit Kooperation mit N26, Santander und 1822direkt.

An den nächsten Erfolgsgeschichten wird bereits in den zahlreichen Inkubatoren gearbeitet. Das Tech Quartier bietet beispielsweise Arbeitsraum für Fintechs jeglicher Größe. In der Broschüre werden die verschiedenen Inkubatoren der Region aufgeführt: das FinTech Hub der Deutschen Börse, der Unibator der Goethe Universität, Accelerator Frankfurt, Main Incubator, FinTech Headquarter, die Digitalfabrik der Deutschen Bank, das Tech Quartier, das FinTech Lab sowie VABN. Fast wöchentlich finden Events zum Thema Fintech statt. Die besten Fintech-Unternehmer werden mit der Golden Garage bei den FinTechGermany Awards ausgezeichnet.

Um mehr über Deutschlands führendes Fintech-Ökosystem im Herzen Europas zu erfahren, können Sie die Broschüre von Hessen Trade and Invest hier herunterladen.

 

Weitere Beiträge zu diesem Thema

Frankfurt Rhein-Main entwickelt sich zum führenden... Die Region Frankfurt Rhein-Main soll sich innerhalb von fünf Jahren zum führenden FinTech-Hub in Kontinentaleuropa sowie einer international anerkannt...
FinTech-Delegation reist nach Südkorea und Hong Ko... Wie schon in den letzten Jahren reist eine FinTech-Delegation unter der Führung von Dr. Raettig im Januar wieder nach Hongkong zum Asian Financial For...
1 Jahr TechQuartier – FinTech-Szene in Frankfurt Das TechQuartier feiert 1-Jähriges Bestehen. Zu diesem Anlass werfen Lars Reiner, Gründer und Geschäftsführer von Ginmon, Thomas Schalow, Gründer von ...
EY-Start-Up Academy bahnt erfolgreiche Finanzierun... Konsortium aus High-Tech Gründerfonds und Kapitalgebern des Business Angels FrankfurtRheinMain e.V. investiert mehr als 775.000 Euro in energy ...