Written by 10:00 Financial Centre, TOP-NEWS

CFS survey on the necessity of a “digital euro”

German financial industry considers digital euro desirable –
Risks to the banking system must be avoided

Background: 

Plans to introduce a digital euro are taking concrete shape. Such a currency could be launched as “digital cash” in as little as 3 to 4 years. A survey of financial industry professionals and managers shows that the largest share of respondents (45.9%) consider the introduction of a digital euro to be desirable, but not essential. More than one in eight panelists go even further and regard a digital euro as essential (14.1%). On the other hand, more than a quarter of respondents (26.4%) believe a digital euro is not necessary because the existing means of payment are sufficient. 12.5% of the participants are actually opposed to the digital euro. In addition, two-thirds of the panelists believe that the economy in the eurozone would not be weakened if plans to introduce a digital euro never materialised. By contrast, around 26% of the survey participants do see the risk of a weaker eurozone economy in case the digital euro is not implemented.

“The survey results show that the ECB should emphasise the benefits of a digital euro even more clearly – because a considerable portion of the market remains uncertain at this stage,” explains Professor Volker Brühl from the Center for Financial Studies. A clear majority of respondents (53.3%) believe that a digital euro should only be issued via credit institutions. Only 27.8% are in favour of a digital euro being issued directly by the ECB. A remarkably high 18.9% of respondents have yet to form an opinion on this matter.

“The digital euro must not under any circumstances be allowed to weaken the stability of our two-tier banking system. Therefore, credit institutions should have a central role in the issuance of the digital euro,” Brühl adds.

One question often raised in this context is whether the introduction of a digital euro would increase the risk of a bank run. The survey reveals a mixed picture among the financial experts: 48.6% of the panel participants see a heightened risk, while 42.9% do not. “The introduction of a digital currency issued by central banks is breaking new ground. This also applies to the ECB and the digital euro. In this respect, the mixed opinion is not surprising. The ECB would do well to proceed prudently in order to take advantage of the opportunities offered by the digitalisation of the euro and to keep the risks under control. Under no circumstances should the eurozone leave the field open to other players,” comments Hubertus Väth, Managing Director of Frankfurt Main Finance.

There is broad consensus among the respondents on the question of whether the digital euro should replace cash in the future. Almost 95% of respondents are in favour of keeping cash. “There is a lot to be said for avoiding the coupling of these two strands of discussion in order to alleviate fears,” says Hubertus Väth, Managing Director of Frankfurt Main Finance.

CFS Index in Q2 2023

Pessimistic sentiment among service providers leads to declining CFS Index level

Source: Press release CFS, 24. August 2023
Images: CFS / Frankfurt Main Finance / Looker_Studio via stock.adobe.com

(Visited 80 times, 1 visits today)
Close

Written by 10:00 Finanzplatz, TOP-NEWS

CFS-Umfrage zur Notwendigkeit eines „digitalen Euro“

Deutsche Finanzbranche hält digitalen Euro für wünschenswert – Risiken für das Bankensystem müssen vermieden werden

Hintergrund:

Die Einführung eines digitalen Euros nimmt konkrete Formen an. Er könnte bereits in 3 bis 4 Jahren als „digitales Bargeld“ eingeführt werden. Eine Umfrage unter Fach- und Führungskräften in der Finanzindustrie zeigt, dass die meisten Befragten (45,9%) die Einführung eines digitalen Euro für wünschenswert, aber nicht unbedingt erforderlich halten. Mehr als jeder achte Panelteilnehmer hält einen digitalen Euro sogar für zwingend notwendig (14,1%). Andererseits halten mehr als ein Viertel der Befragten (26,4%) einen digitalen Euro für nicht nötig, weil die bestehenden Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ausreichen würden. 12,5% der Teilnehmer*innen lehnen den digitalen Euro sogar ab. Außerdem sind zwei Drittel der Panelisten der Auffassung, dass die Wirtschaft in der Eurozone nicht geschwächt werden würde, falls ein digitaler Euro nicht eingeführt würde. Dagegen sehen etwa 26% der Umfrageteilnehmer*innen durchaus die Gefahr einer wirtschaftlichen Schwächung der Eurozone, wenn der digitale Euro nicht kommen sollte.

„Die Umfrageergebnisse zeigen, dass die EZB die Vorteile eines digitalen Euro noch deutlicher herausstellen sollte. Denn bislang ist ein erheblicher Teil des Marktes noch verunsichert“, erläutert Prof. Dr. Volker Brühl vom Center for Financial Studies. Eine klare Mehrheit der Befragten (53,3%) ist der Meinung, dass ein digitaler Euro nur über Kreditinstitute ausgegeben werden sollte. Lediglich 27,8% sprechen sich dafür aus, dass ein digitaler Euro direkt über die EZB ausgegeben werden sollte. Ein bemerkenswert hoher Anteil von 18,9% hat zu dieser Frage noch keine Meinung.

„Der digitale Euro darf auf keinen Fall dazu führen, dass die Stabilität unseres zweistufigen Bankensystems geschwächt wird. Daher sollte den Kreditinstituten eine zentrale Rolle bei der Ausgabe des digitalen Euro zukommen“, kommentiert Brühl weiter.

In diesem Zusammenhang wird häufig die Frage diskutiert, ob die Einführung eines digitalen Euro das Risiko eines Bunk Run erhöhen würde. Die Umfrage zeigt hier ein uneinheitliches Bild unter den Finanzexperten. 48,6% der Panelteilnehmer*innen sehen ein erhöhtes Risiko, während 42,9% ein erhöhtes Risiko nicht sehen. „Mit der Einführung einer von Zentralbanken ausgegebenen, digitalen Währung wagen sich die Notenbanken auf Neuland. Das gilt auch für die EZB und den digitalen Euro. Insofern kann das gemischte Meinungsbild nicht verwundern. Die EZB tut gut daran, besonnen vorzugehen, um die Chancen der Digitalisierung des Euro zu nutzen und die Risiken im Griff zu behalten. Keinesfalls sollte die Eurozone das Feld anderen überlassen“, kommentiert Hubertus Väth, Geschäftsführer von Frankfurt Main Finance.

Große Einigkeit unter den Befragten besteht bei der Frage, ob der digitale Euro das Bargeld perspektivisch ersetzen sollte. Für die Beibehaltung von Bargeld sprechen sich knapp 95% der Befragten aus. „Es spricht viel dafür, die Koppelung dieser beiden Diskussionsstränge zu vermeiden, um Ängste zu mindern“, sagt Hubertus Väth, Geschäftsführer von Frankfurt Main Finance.

CFS Index im 2. Quartal 2023

Pessimistische Stimmung der Dienstleister führt zu rückläufigem CFS-Index-Niveau

Quelle: Pressemitteilung CFS vom 24. August 2023
Bilder: CFS / Frankfurt Main Finance / Looker_Studio via stock.adobe.com

(Visited 77 times, 1 visits today)
Close