Written by 17:40 Financial Centre, International, Member

SAFE White Paper: Is there a ‘retail challenge’ to banks’ resolvability?

What do we know about the holders of bail-inable securities in the Banking Union? Those questions and more is to be answered in this in-depth analysis by FMF cooperation partner Leibniz Institute for Financial Research SAFE.

Following the financial crisis 2008-2010, the European banking regulation was redesigned with the aim of terminating Too-Big-To-Fail (TBTF) for large financial institutions. The new Bank Recovery and Resolution Directive (BRRD) regime focuses on bail-in and resolution as precautionary and crisis management tools. Market discipline is supposed to come in large parts from the pricing of bail-inable debt which has to be built up fully by 2024. In this report, it is analysed whether a potential bail-in is endangered by vulnerable parties whose presence among bail-inable debt holders may force governments to bail them out. Two such vulnerable groups stand out: retail investors who are subject to government protection for political reasons, and fellow banks which tend to be bailed out for systemic risk reasons. Thus, for bail-in to be effective, neither retail investors nor fellow banks should hold significant fractions of any bank’s bail-inable debt.

To ensure the credibility of market discipline induced by bail-in, neither retail investors nor peer banks should appear prominently among the investor base of banks’ loss absorbing capital. Empirical evidence on bank-level data provided by the German Federal Financial Supervisory Authority raises a few red flags. The list of policy recommendations at the end of this paper encompasses disclosure policy, data sharing among supervisors, information transparency on holdings of bail-inable debt for all stakeholders, threshold values, and a well-defined upper limit for any bail-in activity.

Download

the PDF in English to read the full paper now!

Source: SAFE Policy Center, November 2022
Image: Unsplash

(Visited 64 times, 1 visits today)
Close

Written by 17:40 Finanzplatz, International, Mitglieder

SAFE-Whitepaper: Gibt es eine „Retail-Herausforderung“ für die Abwicklungsfähigkeit von Banken?

Was wissen wir über die Inhaber von bail-in-fähigen Wertpapieren in der Bankenunion? Diese und weitere Fragen beantwortet der FMF-Kooperationspartner Leibniz-Institut für Finanzforschung SAFE in dieser ausführlichen Analyse.

Nach der Finanzkrise 2008-2010 wurde die europäische Bankenregulierung mit dem Ziel umgestaltet, die Too-Big-To-Fail-Regelung (TBTF) für große Finanzinstitute zu beenden. Die neue Richtlinie über die Sanierung und Abwicklung von Banken (BRRD) konzentriert sich auf Bail-in und Abwicklung als Vorsorge- und Krisenmanagementinstrumente. Die Marktdisziplin soll zu einem großen Teil durch die Preisgestaltung für bail-in-fähige Schuldtitel erreicht werden, die bis 2024 vollständig aufgebaut sein müssen. In diesem Bericht wird untersucht, ob ein potenzielles Bail-in durch gefährdete Parteien gefährdet ist, deren Anwesenheit unter den Inhabern bail-in-fähiger Schuldtitel die Regierungen zwingen könnte, sie zu retten. Zwei dieser gefährdeten Gruppen stechen hervor: Kleinanleger, die aus politischen Gründen dem staatlichen Schutz unterliegen, und andere Banken, die aus Gründen des Systemrisikos gerettet werden. Damit ein Bail-in wirksam ist, sollten weder Kleinanleger noch andere Banken einen signifikanten Anteil an den bail-in-fähigen Schulden einer Bank halten.

Um die Glaubwürdigkeit der durch den Bail-in induzierten Marktdisziplin zu gewährleisten, sollten weder Kleinanleger noch gleichrangige Banken in der Investorenbasis des verlustabsorbierenden Kapitals der Banken eine herausragende Rolle spielen. Empirische Daten auf Bankenebene, die von der deutschen Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht zur Verfügung gestellt wurden, geben Anlass zu Bedenken. Die Liste der politischen Empfehlungen am Ende dieses Papiers umfasst die Offenlegungspolitik, den Datenaustausch zwischen den Aufsichtsbehörden, die Informationstransparenz über Bestände an bail-in-fähigen Schuldtiteln für alle Beteiligten, Schwellenwerte und eine klar definierte Obergrenze für jegliche Bail-in-Aktivität.

Download

Jetzt das Englische Whitepaper lesen!

Source: SAFE Policy Center, November 2022
Image: Unsplash

(Visited 31 times, 1 visits today)
Close