Written by 14:10 Financial Centre, TOP-NEWS

German financial sector expects a recession and sustained high inflation rates / Banks to remain stable

Europe’s economy has been facing enormous challenges since the outbreak of war in Ukraine: high inflation rates, soaring energy prices and falling growth rates could plunge Europe into a severe recession.

Extensive packages of measures have been initiated in Germany and in many other European countries to mitigate the impacts on the population. The question therefore arises as to whether a recession is likely in Germany in the coming year and how inflation is expected to develop. Due to large-scale government aid programmes, there are increasing concerns about a return of the sovereign debt crisis that has afflicted the European Union since 2010. Against this background, the stability of the German banking sector is also under discussion.

Survey results:

A survey of financial industry professionals and managers conducted by CFS showed that over 90% of respondents expect a recession in the coming year. More than half anticipate a (price-adjusted) decline in Germany’s GDP of up to 2%. More than 19% expect an even starker decline in economic output. “This means that the financial experts are clearly more pessimistic than the leading economic institutes, which only forecast slightly negative growth (-0.2%) for 2023 in their current joint diagnosis (autumn report),” says Professor Volker Brühl, Managing Director of the Center for Financial Studies. “Naturally, a recession would also impact the banks’ earnings situation.”

Nevertheless, 78% of survey respondents believe that, even in a severe recession, the stability of German banks would not be threatened. Professor Brühl affirms this view: “European banks have become far more resilient in recent years and are well equipped to withstand a recession. This is also confirmed in the latest stress tests by the banking supervisory authorities.”

In September, the inflation rate in Germany stood at 10.0%, in the Eurozone at 9.9%. The ECB is attempting to combat the high levels of inflation by raising interest rates. At the same time, the euro is losing ground against the US dollar and government debt is rising in the euro area. “Despite the ECB’s repeated assurances to the contrary, an overwhelming majority of more than 90% of participants do not believe that the central bank will succeed in achieving its medium-term inflation target of 2% again in the next two years,” explains Hubertus Väth, Managing Director of Frankfurt Main Finance. “This shows a change in inflation expectations that must be of concern to the ECB.” In fact, a majority of 55% of panelists believe that it is likely or even very likely that Europe could experience a sovereign debt crisis similar to the one experienced in the years starting from 2010 again. “Recent events in the UK have shown how sensitive the markets currently are to more debt,” comments Hubertus Väth, Managing Director of Frankfurt Main Finance.

The results are based on a quarterly management survey in the German financial sector.

The Center for Financial Studies (CFS) conducts independent and internationally-oriented research in important areas of Financial and Monetary Economics, ranging from Monetary Policy and Financial Stability, Household Finance and Retail Banking to Corporate Finance and Financial Markets. The CFS is also a contributor to policy debates and policy analyses, building upon relevant findings in its research areas. In providing a platform for research and policy advice, the CFS relies on its international network among academics, the financial industry and central banks in Europe and beyond.

(Visited 25 times, 1 visits today)
Close

Written by 14:09 Finanzplatz, TOP-NEWS

Deutsche Finanzbranche rechnet mit einer Rezession und anhaltend hohen Inflationsraten – Banken sind stabil

Die europäische Wirtschaft steht seit Ausbruch des Ukraine-Kriegs vor enormen Herausforderungen: Hohe Inflationsraten, explodierende Energiepreise und sinkende Wachstumsraten könnten Europa in eine schwere Rezession stürzen.

Umfangreiche Maßnahmenpakete in Deutschland und in vielen anderen europäischen Ländern sollen die Folgen für die Bevölkerung abmildern. Daher stellt sich die Frage, ob eine Rezession in Deutschland für das kommende Jahr zu erwarten ist und wie es sich mit den Inflationserwartungen verhält. Aufgrund umfangreicher staatlicher Hilfsprogramme mehren sich die Sorgen um die Rückkehr der Staatsschuldenkrise, die ab dem Jahr 2010 die Europäische Union belastet hat. Vor diesem Hintergrund stellt sich auch die Frage nach der Stabilität des deutschen Bankensektors.

Umfrageergebnisse:

Bei einer vom CFS durchgeführten Umfrage unter Fach- und Führungskräften der Finanzbranche hat sich gezeigt, dass mehr als 90% der Befragten mit einer Rezession im kommenden Jahr rechnen. Mehr als die Hälfte rechnen mit einem (preisbereinigten) Rückgang des BIP in Deutschland von bis zu 2%. Mehr als 19% gehen sogar von einem noch stärkeren Rückgang der Wirtschaftsleistung aus. „Damit sind die Finanzexperten deutlich pessimistischer als die führenden Wirtschaftsinstitute, die in ihrer aktuellen Gemeinschaftsdiagnose (Herbstgutachten) lediglich ein leicht negatives Wachstum (-0,2%) für 2023 prognostizieren“, sagt Professor Volker Brühl, Geschäftsführer des Center for Financial Studies. „Eine Rezession hätte natürlich auch Auswirkungen auf die Ertragslage der Banken.“

Dennoch sind 78% der Befragten der Auffassung, dass selbst in einer starken Rezession die Stabilität der deutschen Banken nicht gefährdet wäre. „Die europäischen Banken sind in den vergangenen Jahren deutlich widerstandsfähiger geworden und können auch eine Rezession gut überstehen. Das bestätigen auch aktuelle Stresstests durch die Bankenaufsicht“, bestätigt Professor Brühl die Umfrageergebnisse.

Im September lag die Inflationsrate in Deutschland bei 10,0%, in der Eurozone bei 9,9%. Die EZB versucht die hohen Inflationsraten durch Zinserhöhungen zu bekämpfen. Gleichzeitig ist der Euro gegenüber dem US-Dollar auf Talfahrt und die Staatsverschuldung steigt im Euroraum. „Trotz aller Beteuerungen der EZB hält es eine überwältigende Mehrheit von mehr als 90% der Teilnehmenden nicht für möglich, dass es der Notenbank in den nächsten zwei Jahren gelingen wird, wieder ihr mittelfristiges Inflationsziel von 2% zu erreichen“, erläutert Hubertus Väth, Geschäftsführer von Frankfurt Main Finance. „Hier zeigt sich eine Veränderung der Inflationserwartungen, die der EZB Sorge bereiten muss.“ Eine Mehrheit von 55% der Panelisten hält es sogar für wahrscheinlich oder sogar sehr wahrscheinlich, dass Europa erneut eine ähnliche Staatsschuldenkrise wie in den Jahren ab 2010 erleben könnte. „Die jüngsten Ereignisse in Großbritannien haben gezeigt, wie sensibel die Märkte aktuell auf mehr Schulden reagieren“, kommentiert Hubertus Väth, Geschäftsführer von Frankfurt Main Finance.

Die Ergebnisse basieren auf einer vierteljährlich vom Center for Financial Studies durchgeführten Managementbefragung unter Unternehmen des Finanzstandortes Deutschland.

Das Center for Financial Studies (CFS) betreibt unabhängige und international orientierte Forschung in allen wesentlichen Themenfeldern der Finanzmärkte, Finanzinstitutionen und Monetären Ökonomie: von Finanzstabilität und Bankenregulierung über Wertpapierhandel und -bewertung auf Finanzmärkten, Portfolioentscheidungen von Haushalten und Recht und Ökonomie von Finanzorganisationen bis hin zu Geldpolitik und Ökonomie von Finanzmärkten. Das CFS leistet, unter Verwendung relevanter Erkenntnisse aus seinen Forschungsbereichen, einen Beitrag zu politischen Debatten und Analysen. Es greift für seine Forschungsprojekte und Politikberatung auf ein Netzwerk aus Wissenschaftlern und Persönlichkeiten aus Finanzindustrie und Zentralbanken in- und außerhalb Europas zurück.

(Visited 33 times, 1 visits today)
Close