Written by 9:59 International, Uncategorized

Hubertus Väth on partnership with Finance Montréal: promoting cooperation on sustainability standards

Finance Montréal and Frankfurt Main Finance have signed a Memorandum of Understanding to support the Global Baseline in Sustainability Reporting of the International Sustainability Standards Board (ISSB). Green and Sustainable Finance Cluster Germany Managing Director Michael Schmidt spoke with FMF Managing Director Hubertus Väth about the background.

On 22 June 2023, Frankfurt Main Finance signed a Memorandum of Understanding with Finance Montréal in Montréal. What did the two financial centres agree on?

Väth: The ISSB has decided to move the seat of your Board and Chair to Frankfurt. This was and is a great success for the location to have such an important international standard setter in the financial centre. The ISSB has chosen Montréal as its second important location. In North America, Canada is a pioneer in sustainability. And Montréal, along with Toronto, is the country’s central financial centre and thus a natural partner for us. We therefore found it only logical to work together.

What will the cooperation look like in concrete terms?

Väth: The focus will be on building and transferring knowledge, exchanging best practices and supporting the work of the ISSB through international networking. Frankfurt has a lot to offer here. The joint declaration of intent provides for cooperation and networking, especially in the area of research and capacity building. There is a lot of work and many opportunities waiting for us. The strengths of the financial centre, its universities, its associations, its think tanks, its training structures, etc. must be brought to bear. It was particularly exciting to see how the possibilities of German structures were absorbed there in order to reach small and medium-sized enterprises, which form the backbone of the economy in Canada just as they do in Germany. It is precisely with such companies that the most support is needed.

The Green and Sustainable Finance Cluster Germany is already connected to Montréal through its membership in the global network of Financial Centres for Sustainability (FC4S). How can the forces here be bundled in the future?

Väth: We are active in the World Alliance of International Financial Centers, just as the GSFCG is active in the FC4S. Therefore, our closer cooperation here, as in many other places, makes a lot of sense. We are looking forward to it. Because the cluster is a know-how and competence carrier for us. We have complementary communication channels, networks and proven clout. We can and want to strengthen and network the numerous workstreams of the cluster wherever possible and sensible. The linking of existing networks and initiatives and the pooling of know-how are explicitly also a concern of the ISSB. We think: creating the “global baseline” of sustainability reporting deserves the full support of all actors. And, from the perspective of the location, not to be underestimated: The ISSB has enormous charisma. We see this in high-level visits and the interest of national and international stakeholders.

Finance Montréal and Frankfurt Main Finance jointly sign statement of intent to support ISSB

The two financial centre initiatives signed a joint statement of intent to support the Global Baseline in Sustainability Reporting by the ISSB.
(Visited 17 times, 1 visits today)
Close

Written by 12:19 International, Unkategorisiert

Hubertus Väth über Partnerschaft mit Finance Montréal: Förderung der Zusammenarbeit bei Nachhaltigkeitsstandards

Finance Montréal und Frankfurt Main Finance haben eine gemeinsame Absichtserklärung zur Unterstützung der Global Baseline in Sustainability Reporting des International Sustainability Standards Board (ISSB) unterzeichnet. Green and Sustainable Finance Cluster Germany-Geschäftsführer Michael Schmidt sprach mit dem FMF-Geschäftsführer Hubertus Väth über die Hintergründe.

Am 22. Juni 2023 hat Frankfurt Main Finance in Montréal ein Memorandum of Understanding mit Finance Montréal unterzeichnet. Was haben die beiden Finanzplätze vereinbart?

Väth: Das ISSB hat sich entschieden, den Sitz Ihres Boards und Chairs nach Frankfurt zu verlegen. Das war und ist ein großer Erfolg für den Standort, einen solch bedeutenden internationalen Standardsetzer am Finanzplatz zu haben. Als zweiten bedeutenden Standort hat das ISSB Montréal gewählt. In Nordamerika ist Kanada Vorreiter in Sachen Nachhaltigkeit. Und Montréal ist neben Toronto der zentrale Finanzplatz des Landes und damit ein natürlicher Partner für uns. Wir fanden es daher nur sachlogisch zusammen zu arbeiten.

Wie soll die Zusammenarbeit konkret aussehen?

Väth: Die Schwerpunkte liegen im Wissensaufbau und -transfer, dem Austausch von best practices sowie in der Unterstützung der Arbeit des ISSB durch die internationale Vernetzung. Da hat Frankfurt viel zu bieten. Die gemeinsame Absichtserklärung sieht vor, vor allem im Bereich Forschung und dem sog. „Capacity Building“ zusammen zu arbeiten und Vernetzungen zu ermöglichen. Da warten viel Arbeit und viele Möglichkeiten auf uns. Es gilt die Stärken des Finanzplatzes, seiner Hochschulen, seiner Verbände, seiner Think Tanks, seiner Ausbildungsstrukturen etc. einzubringen. Besonders spannend war, wie man dort die Möglichkeiten deutscher Strukturen aufgesogen hat, um kleine und mittlere Unternehmen zu erreichen, die in Kanada ebenso wie in Deutschland das Rückgrat der Wirtschaft bilden. Gerade bei solchen Unternehmen wird die meiste Unterstützung benötigt.

Das Green and Sustainable Finance Cluster Germany ist Montréal bereits über die Mitgliedschaft im globalen Netzwerk der Financial Centres for Sustainability (FC4S) verbunden. Wie lassen sich die Kräfte hier zukünftig bündeln?

Väth: Wir sind in der World Alliance der International Financial Centers aktiv, so wie das GSFCG in der FC4S aktiv ist. Daher macht unsere engere Zusammenarbeit hier, wie an vielen anderen Stellen, sehr viel Sinn. Wir freuen uns darauf. Denn das Cluster ist für uns Know-How- und Kompetenzträger. Wir verfügen ergänzend über Kommunikationskanäle, Netzwerke und nachgewiesene Schlagkraft. Die zahlreichen Workstreams des Clusters können und wollen wir, wo immer möglich und sinnvoll, verstärken und vernetzen. Die Verknüpfung der bestehenden Netzwerke und Initiativen sowie die Zusammenführung des Know-hows sind explizit auch ein Anliegen des ISSB. Wir finden: die „Gobal Baseline“ der Nachhaltigkeitsberichterstattung zu schaffen, verdient die volle Unterstützung aller Akteure. Und, aus Sicht des Standortes nicht zu unterschätzen: Das ISSB hat eine enorme Strahlkraft. Wir sehen das an hochrangigen Besuchen und dem Interesse von nationalen und internationalen Stakeholdern.

Finance Montréal und Frankfurt Main Finance unterzeichnen gemeinsam ein MoU zur Unterstützung des ISSB

Die beiden Finanzplatzinitiativen unterzeichneten eine gemeinsame Absichtserklärung zur Unterstützung der Global Baseline in Sustainability Reporting des ISSB.
(Visited 76 times, 1 visits today)
Close