Written by 11:42 International, Press Releases, Sustainable Finance, TOP-NEWS

Finance Montréal and Frankfurt Main Finance jointly sign statement of intent to support ISSB

Today, the two financial centre initiatives signed a joint statement of intent to support the Global Baseline in Sustainability Reporting by the ISSB. Montréal and Frankfurt are both home to the ISSB’s offices.

Green and Sustainable Finance Cluster Germany in supporting role

Montréal, June 22, 2023 – Ahead of the International Sustainability Standards Board’s (ISSB) issuing of its first two international standards for sustainability-related disclosures in the week of June 26, 2023, Mr. Jacques Deforges, Chief Executive Officer of Finance Montréal, and Mr. Hubertus Väth, Managing Director of Frankfurt Main Finance, have signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU). Its aim is to advance capacity development related to the ISSB’s global baseline of sustainability-related disclosures. The signing took place in the presence of ISSB Vice-Chair, Mr. Jingdong Hua.

This statement of intent sets out the collaboration between Finance Montréal and Frankfurt Main Finance, the financial clusters that represent the financial ecosystems of the IFRS Foundation’s two ISSB host cities. Both clusters will develop awareness, training and networking opportunities related to the new international sustainability disclosure standards. Their collaboration aims at helping local members of their financial ecosystems understand the new standards, and provide them with the tools to better integrate them into their reporting.

The collaboration between the two organizations will help develop capacity through various activities such as webinars, conferences and thought leadership articles. The specific focus areas will include climate change and – pending public consultation of the ISSB’s agenda priorities for its next two-year work plan – biodiversity and human capital. Expertise, contents and learnings will be exchanged, so as to benefit the Montréal and Frankfurt financial ecosystems, both home of the ISSB’s offices.

“It is great to see that Frankfurt, as a strong financial center, joins forces with Montréal to advance the global sustainable finance agenda. The global baseline of the International Sustainability Standards Board (ISSB) is a major building block in this regard. With the ISSB‘s presence in both Frankfurt and Montréal, the collaboration of these financial hubs on capacity building is of high importance for the global transition towards a climate-neutral and sustainable economy.”

"This collaboration between Finance Montréal and a major international organization is a testament to the leadership of Montréal and all of Québec in sustainable finance. I welcome this initiative, which will help the financial sector play its part in the fight against climate change."

“Finance Montréal is proud to collaborate with Frankfurt Main Finance to establish a common framework for capacity-building programs for the financial sector. These awareness-raising and training efforts will help accelerate alignment of financial sector institutions with the global baseline in sustainability-related disclosures. They also are further evidence of Montréal and Frankfurt's leadership as centres of excellence in sustainable finance. Québec's financial ecosystem has a strong appetite for sustainable finance, which will guide the future of finance. Finance Montréal will support its members in playing a leading role in this essential transition.”

"To address the lack of high-quality data on sustainability is on top of the bucket list for everybody interested in financing the transformation to Net Zero. ISSB addresses this challenge heads on. Their go on establishing the global base line on sustainability reporting deserves the full support of all actors in the financial arena. Our both financial centres cooperation aims to align research and education to ensure a quick uptake."

"On behalf of the ISSB, I would like to congratulate Finance Montréal and Frankfurt Main Finance on formalizing their ongoing collaboration. Together, they are setting an excellent example of cooperation to support the application of the ISSB's inaugural standards."

“As a partner of Finance Montréal in the global network of Financial Centres for Sustainability (FC4S) and of Frankfurt Main Finance in Germany we will support the cooperation in our workstreams. Meaningful, consistent and reliable corporate reporting standards are an important accelerator for financing the ambitious transition paths towards sustainable business models.”

The MoU came into effect at time of signing.

About Finance Montréal

Established in 2010, Finance Montréal, the financial cluster of Quebec, is at the heart of the development and promotion of Quebec’s financial services industry and its positioning as a global business hub that is growing, competitive, attractive, and innovative. With its International Financial Center (CFI) team, Finance Montréal works to attract foreign financial companies to Montreal. The organization also focuses on fintech and innovation, sustainable finance, and talent development. As a hub for the financial community, Finance Montréal mobilizes its stakeholders around these areas, including the community built around the Montréal FinTech Station that it administers. To learn more about Finance Montréal, visit www.finance-montreal.com/en or our LinkedIn page.

About Frankfurt Main Finance

Since 2008, Frankfurt Main Finance has been the financial centre initiative of the leading financial centre in Germany and the euro zone. Its more than 75 members include the State of Hesse, the cities of Frankfurt and Eschborn, numerous well-known financial market players and their service providers as well as private and public universities. Frankfurt Main Finance offers its members a platform for contacts in the world of finance and politics to realise ideas in the financial centre with partners, to initiate business with other financial centres for high quality events on topical issues, to support effective and sustainable public relations, and to effectively promote Frankfurt as a financial centre. To learn more about Frankfurt Main Finance, visit https://frankfurt-main-finance.com/en/ or our Linkedin Page.

About International Sustainability Standards Board (ISSB)

The IFRS Foundation is a not-for-profit organisation created to serve the public interest by developing globally accepted financial reporting standards that meet investors and other capital market participants’ need for reliable, transparent and comparable information to make economic decisions. 
Our standards―IFRS Accounting Standards and IFRS Sustainability Disclosure Standards—are developed by the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB) and the International Sustainability Standards Board (ISSB). The boards are overseen by the IFRS Foundation Trustees, who in turn are accountable to the IFRS Foundation Monitoring Board of public authorities with responsibility for corporate reporting. Our governance arrangements are set out in our Constitution.
IFRS Accounting Standards, set by the IASB, are required in more than 140 jurisdictions.  
For detailed information about our organisation, visit ifrs.org

About the Green and Sustainable Finance Cluster Germany (GSFCG):

As a central hub for sustainable finance in Germany, the GSFCG has been working together with its members and sponsors since 2018 on the implementation and realisation of sustainable financial market structures. Based in Frankfurt, the cluster focuses on activities in the German financial sector while also engaging and cooperating with relevant national and international stakeholders from the financial industry, real economy, politics and regulatory authorities as well as academia and civil society. More about the Cluster: https://gsfc-germany.com/en/

For media inquiries

For Finance Montréal

Clara Guillemin
COPTICOM
+1-438-226-3262

For Frankfurt Main Finance

Dr. Ralf Witzler
Head of Communications
+49-69-9441-80-25

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
(Visited 241 times, 1 visits today)
Close

Written by 11:42 International, Nachhaltigkeit, Presseinformation, TOP-NEWS

Finance Montréal und Frankfurt Main Finance unterzeichnen gemeinsam ein MoU zur Unterstützung des ISSB

Heute unterzeichneten die beiden Finanzplatzinitiativen eine gemeinsame Absichtserklärung zur Unterstützung der Global Baseline in Sustainability Reporting des ISSB. Sowohl in Montréal als auch in Frankfurt befinden sich die Büros des ISSB.

Green and Sustainable Finance Cluster Germany in unterstützender Rolle

Montréal, 22. Juni 2023 – Im Vorfeld der Veröffentlichung der ersten beiden internationalen Standards für nachhaltigkeitsbezogene Angaben durch das International Sustainability Standards Board (ISSB) in der Woche vom 26. Juni 2023 haben Jacques Deforges, Chief Executive Officer von Finance Montréal, und Hubertus Väth, Geschäftsführer von Frankfurt Main Finance, eine Absichtserklärung (MoU) unterzeichnet. Ziel der Vereinbarung ist es, die Entwicklung von Kapazitäten im Zusammenhang mit der globalen Baseline des ISSB für nachhaltigkeitsbezogene Angaben zu fördern. Die Unterzeichnung fand im Beisein des stellvertretenden ISSB-Vorsitzenden Jingdong Hua statt.

Diese Absichtserklärung legt die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Finance Montréal und Frankfurt Main Finance fest, den Finanzclustern, die die Finanzökosysteme der beiden ISSB-Gastgeberstädte der IFRS Foundation repräsentieren. Beide Cluster werden Sensibilisierungs-, Schulungs- und Vernetzungsmöglichkeiten im Zusammenhang mit den neuen internationalen Offenlegungsstandards für Nachhaltigkeit entwickeln. Ihre Zusammenarbeit zielt darauf ab, den lokalen Mitgliedern ihrer Finanzsysteme zu helfen, die neuen Standards zu verstehen und ihnen die Instrumente an die Hand zu geben, um sie besser in ihre Berichterstattung zu integrieren.

Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den beiden Organisationen wird durch verschiedene Aktivitäten wie Webinare, Konferenzen und Thought-Leadership-Artikel zum Aufbau von Kapazitäten beitragen. Zu den spezifischen Schwerpunktbereichen gehören der Klimawandel und – in Erwartung der öffentlichen Konsultation zu den Prioritäten der ISSB-Agenda für den nächsten zweijährigen Arbeitsplan – Biodiversität und Humankapital. Fachwissen, Inhalte und Erfahrungen werden ausgetauscht, so dass die Finanzökosysteme von Montréal und Frankfurt, wo sich die Büros des ISSB befinden, davon profitieren.

"Es ist großartig zu sehen, dass sich Frankfurt als starker Finanzplatz mit Montréal zusammenschließt, um die globale Agenda für nachhaltige Finanzen voranzutreiben. Die globale Basislinie des International Sustainability Standards Board (ISSB) ist in dieser Hinsicht ein wichtiger Baustein. Da der ISSB sowohl in Frankfurt als auch in Montréal vertreten ist, ist die Zusammenarbeit dieser Finanzzentren beim Aufbau von Kapazitäten von großer Bedeutung für den globalen Übergang zu einer klimaneutralen und nachhaltigen Wirtschaft."

"Diese Zusammenarbeit zwischen Finance Montréal und einer großen internationalen Organisation ist ein Beweis für die führende Rolle von Montréal und ganz Québec im Bereich der nachhaltigen Finanzen. Ich begrüße diese Initiative, die dazu beitragen wird, dass der Finanzsektor seinen Teil zum Kampf gegen den Klimawandel beiträgt".

"Finance Montréal ist stolz darauf, mit Frankfurt Main Finance zusammenzuarbeiten, um einen gemeinsamen Rahmen für Programme zum Aufbau von Kapazitäten im Finanzsektor zu schaffen. Diese Sensibilisierungs- und Schulungsmaßnahmen werden dazu beitragen, dass sich die Institutionen des Finanzsektors schneller an die globale Basislinie für nachhaltigkeitsbezogene Angaben anpassen. Sie sind auch ein weiterer Beweis für die führende Rolle von Montréal und Frankfurt als Kompetenzzentren für nachhaltige Finanzen. Das Finanzsystem von Québec hat ein starkes Interesse an nachhaltigen Finanzen, die die Zukunft des Finanzwesens bestimmen werden. Finance Montréal wird seine Mitglieder dabei unterstützen, eine führende Rolle bei diesem wichtigen Wandel zu spielen."

"Der Mangel an qualitativ hochwertigen Daten zur Nachhaltigkeit steht ganz oben auf der Liste aller, die an der Finanzierung der Transformation zu Net Zero interessiert sind. Das ISSB geht diese Herausforderung frontal an. Ihr Bestreben, die globale Basislinie für die Nachhaltigkeitsberichterstattung zu schaffen, verdient die volle Unterstützung aller Akteure in der Finanzwelt. Unsere Zusammenarbeit mit den beiden Finanzzentren zielt darauf ab, Forschung und Bildung aufeinander abzustimmen, um eine schnelle Umsetzung zu gewährleisten.

"Im Namen des ISSB möchte ich Finance Montréal und Frankfurt Main Finance zur Formalisierung ihrer laufenden Zusammenarbeit gratulieren. Gemeinsam geben sie ein hervorragendes Beispiel für die Zusammenarbeit zur Unterstützung der Anwendung der ISSB-Eröffnungsstandards.

“As a partner of Finance Montréal in the global network of Financial Centres for Sustainability (FC4S) and of Frankfurt Main Finance in Germany we will support the cooperation in our workstreams. Meaningful, consistent and reliable corporate reporting standards are an important accelerator for financing the ambitious transition paths towards sustainable business models.”

Die Absichtserklärung trat zum Zeitpunkt der Unterzeichnung in Kraft.

Über Finance Montréal

Finance Montréal, der Finanzcluster von Québec, wurde 2010 gegründet und steht im Mittelpunkt der Entwicklung und Förderung der Finanzdienstleistungsbranche in Québec und ihrer Positionierung als wachsende, wettbewerbsfähige, attraktive und innovative globale Wirtschaftsdrehscheibe. Mit seinem Team für das internationale Finanzzentrum (CFI) arbeitet Finance Montréal daran, ausländische Finanzunternehmen nach Montreal zu holen. Die Organisation konzentriert sich außerdem auf Fintech und Innovation, nachhaltige Finanzen und die Entwicklung von Talenten. Als Drehscheibe für die Finanzbranche mobilisiert Finance Montréal seine Stakeholder in diesen Bereichen, einschließlich der Gemeinschaft, die sich um die von ihr verwaltete Montréal FinTech Station gebildet hat. Um mehr über Finance Montréal zu erfahren, besuchen Sie Finance Montréal, oder unsere LinkedIn Seite.

Über Frankfurt Main Finance

Frankfurt Main Finance ist seit 2008 die Finanzplatzinitiative des führenden Finanzplatzes in Deutschland und der Eurozone. Zu den mehr als 75 Mitgliedern gehören das Land Hessen, die Städte Frankfurt und Eschborn, zahlreiche namhafte Finanzmarktakteure und deren Dienstleister sowie private und öffentliche Hochschulen. Frankfurt Main Finance bietet seinen Mitgliedern eine Plattform für Kontakte in die Finanzwelt und die Politik, um mit Partnern Ideen am Finanzplatz zu verwirklichen, Geschäfte mit anderen Finanzplätzen für qualitativ hochwertige Veranstaltungen zu aktuellen Themen zu initiieren, eine effektive und nachhaltige Öffentlichkeitsarbeit zu unterstützen und den Finanzplatz Frankfurt wirksam zu fördern.

Über das International Sustainability Standards Board (ISSB)

Die IFRS Foundation ist eine gemeinnützige Organisation, die gegründet wurde, um dem öffentlichen Interesse zu dienen, indem sie weltweit anerkannte Rechnungslegungsstandards entwickelt, die dem Bedarf von Investoren und anderen Kapitalmarktteilnehmern an zuverlässigen, transparenten und vergleichbaren Informationen für wirtschaftliche Entscheidungen entsprechen.
Unsere Standards – die IFRS-Rechnungslegungsstandards und die IFRS-Standards zur Offenlegung von Nachhaltigkeitsinformationen – werden vom International Accounting Standards Board (IASB) und dem International Sustainability Standards Board (ISSB) entwickelt. Die Boards werden von den IFRS Foundation Trustees beaufsichtigt, die wiederum gegenüber dem IFRS Foundation Monitoring Board der für die Unternehmensberichterstattung zuständigen Behörden rechenschaftspflichtig sind. Unsere Governance-Regelungen sind in unserer Satzung dargelegt.
Die vom IASB festgelegten IFRS-Rechnungslegungsstandards sind in mehr als 140 Rechtsordnungen vorgeschrieben.
Ausführliche Informationen über unsere Organisation finden Sie unter ifrs.org

Über das Green and Sustainable Finance Cluster Germany (GSFCG):

Als zentrale Drehscheibe für nachhaltige Finanzen in Deutschland arbeitet die GSFCG seit 2018 gemeinsam mit ihren Mitgliedern und Förderern an der Umsetzung und Realisierung nachhaltiger Finanzmarktstrukturen. Der Cluster mit Sitz in Frankfurt konzentriert sich auf Aktivitäten im deutschen Finanzsektor und kooperiert mit relevanten nationalen und internationalen Stakeholdern aus der Finanzindustrie, der Realwirtschaft, der Politik und den Regulierungsbehörden sowie der Wissenschaft und Zivilgesellschaft. Mehr über den Cluster: https://gsfc-germany.com/en/

Für Medienanfragen

Finance Montréal

Clara Guillemin
COPTICOM
+1-438-226-3262

Frankfurt Main Finance

Dr. Ralf Witzler
Head of Communications
+49-69-9441-80-25

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
(Visited 179 times, 1 visits today)
Close