Written by 15:27 Financial Centre, International, Events

100 Women in Finance

Frankfurt am Main / New York. The international organization “100 Women in Finance” will launch on May 4, 2021 with a virtual Germany kick-off event. Frankfurt is expected to become the 27th location. 

With a chancellor at the helm, and a woman in the executive suite of the European Central Bank based here in Frankfurt, Germany is thought to have slowly arrived. 63 years later, towards more égalité, things seem to move slowly.

Financial crises, new scandals and the general public perception of the financial industry are what keep women from starting their career path in this direction. Although the gap seems to have been gradually narrowing since the beginning of the 00s, many facts speak a very different language. Traditional norms and the all popular caste-based thinking unfortunately still pigeonhole people far too often, 

– but CEOs like Christine Lagarde of the ECB or Mary Callahan Erdoes of J.P. Morgan Private Bank show us that this is paradoxical and only serves to confirm crudely constructed role models.  

There’s no question that the financial industry is male-dominated and highly competitive. Thus, it is usually not even the perpetual prejudices that prevent women from taking the path in a different direction, but rather the incompatibility of the industry with their own moral standards 

The initiative “100 Women in Finance”, founded in New York, is committed to giving women a greater voice in the world of finance. It aims to enable women to fully realise their professional potential at every career stage.   

The perpetual intention of it:

“A Mission to Realise our Vision”.  

The members not only want to inspire, but also to equip -to champion a new generation of leaders. A generation in which women, as well as men, are investment professionals and leaders, equal in performance and influence. The ever-supporting pillars: Education, Peer Engagement and Impact.  

Finance and women are therefore concepts that could not be more different. They do not go together from society’s point of view and cannot be defined as one, two aspects that just cannot be united, unless you let them.   

The fact is: In no other country in the world do women have more freedom and are exposed to fewer prejudices, but: sometimes still not in their choice of profession. This should now change, also with the help of this great initiative.  

More information can be found here.

Photo: Emiliano Bar/Unsplash 


Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print
(Visited 86 times, 1 visits today)
Close

Written by 15:39 Finanzplatz, International, Veranstaltung

100 Women in Finance

Frankfurt am Main / New York. Die internationale  Organisation „100 Women in Finance“ geht hierzulande am 4. Mai 2021 mit einem Germany Launch als virtuelle Auftaktveranstaltung an den Start. Frankfurt soll dabei voraussichtlich  27. Standort werden. 

Mit einer Kanzlerin an der Spitze und einer hier in Frankfurt ansässigen Frau in der Führungsetage der Europäische Zentralbank, meint man Deutschland sei langsam angekommen. 63 Jahre später, hin zu mehr Egalität, tut sich jedoch nur
langsam etwas.

Finanzkrisen, neue Skandale und die allgemein öffentliche Wahrnehmung der Finanzbranche sind es jedoch meist, die Frauen davon abhalten, ihren Karriereweg in diese Richtung einzuschlagen. Obwohl die Kluft seit dem Beginn der 00er Jahre allmählich kleiner zu werden scheint, sprechen viele Tatsachen aber eine ganz andere Sprache. Traditionelle Normen und das allbeliebte Kastendenken sorgen leider noch immer viel zu häufig für die Einteilung in Schubladen. 

– Dass dies aber paradox ist und nur der Bestätigung von grobgezimmerten Rollenbildern dient, zeigen uns CEO’s, wie Christine Lagarde und Mary Callahan Erdoes. 

Das die Finanzbranche als männerdominiert und sehr wettbewerbsorientiert gilt ist keine Frage. So sind es nicht einmal die immerwährenden Vorurteile, die Frauen davon abhalten, den Weg in eine andere Richtung zu gehen, sondern vielmehr die mangelnden Vereinbarkeiten der Branche mit den eigenen Moralvorstellungen.  

Die in New York gegründete Initiative 100 Women in Finance setzt sich dafür ein, Frauen mehr Gehör in der Finanzwelt zu verschaffen und es ihnen zu ermöglichen, ihr berufliches Potenzial in jeder Karrierestufe vollends ausschöpfen zu können. 

Die perpetuelle Intention dabei:

A Mission to Realize our Vision“. 

Die Mitglieder wollen nicht nur inspirieren, sondern auch ausstatten –für eine neue Generation von Führungskräften. Eine Generation, in der Frauen als auch Männer als Investmentprofis und Führungskräfte tätig sind, gleichberechtigt in Leistung und Einfluss. Die allweil stützenden Säulen dabei: Bildung, Peer Engagement und Impact. 

Finanzen und Frauen werden also häufig noch als Begriffe verstanden, die unterschiedlicher nicht sein könnten. Sie passen für einige nicht zusammen und können nicht als eins definiert werden, zwei Aspekte, die sich aber nur miteinander vereinen lassen, wenn man es zulässt.  

Fakt ist: In kaum einem anderen Land der Welt haben Frauen mehr Freiheit und sind weniger Vorurteilen ausgesetzt, aber: bisweilen immer noch nicht in der Berufswahl. Das soll sich nun, auch mithilfe dieser großartigen Initiative, ändern. 

Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

Bild: Emiliano Bar/Unsplash   

Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print
(Visited 210 times, 1 visits today)
Close