Written by 12:00 Financial Centre, International, Sustainable Finance, TOP-NEWS

Delegation from the Montréal financial centre on a working visit to Frankfurt

Representatives of the financial centers Montréal and Frankfurt met in Frankfurt for a working visit and discussed the future of their further cooperation.

Representatives of the financial centers Montréal and Frankfurt met in Frankfurt for a working visit and discussed the future of their further cooperation on the 29th of November 2023. The focus was on the topic of Sustainable Finance. The financial center initiatives Finance Montreal and Frankfurt Main Finance had already signed a joint declaration of intent in June of this year to support the International Sustainability Standards Board (ISSB), which has a branch in both financial centers. The financial centers are to cooperate more closely, particularly in the areas of research and capacity building, to support the ISSB in establishing a global baseline for sustainability reporting.

After the welcome at Frankfurt Main Finance and Ernst & Young’s Eschborn office, the ISSB team presented the recently published standards for sustainability reporting in detail at its Frankfurt office. It also presented further milestones of the organization since its foundation in 2021 at the COP 26 World Climate Conference in 2021. There was a clear consensus among the representatives of both financial centers to promote the ISSB standards as a global baseline and to put traceability and transparency first in this process.

Other points of contact for the delegation from Montreal were the Frankfurt School of Finance & Management, the House of Finance at Goethe University and the Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences. The Green and Sustainable Finance Cluster Germany (GSFCG), which plays an important role in the cooperation between Frankfurt and Montréal, was also heavily involved in the organization of the visit and was part of the two-day programme.

In addition, the “Wirtschaftsförderung Frankfurt” and the “Frankfurt RheinMain GmbH” also welcomed the delegation to an expert dialog and offered facts and figures on Frankfurt’s financial centre as well as opportunities to discuss topics such as taxation and regulation. Project-related cooperation was welcomed by both sides.

Voices from the Financial Centre Initiatives

"Meeting our counterparts from Frankfurt Main Finance as part of our sustainable finance mission was a must. Six months ago, our two organizations pledged to work together to establish a common framework for sustainable finance capacity-building programs in the financial sector. The constructive exchanges we had at this meeting are essential in order to achieve the objectives we set ourselves. It is only by working closely together, on a global scale, that we will succeed in the essential transition to which we are committed."

"It was a pleasure to welcome our partners from Montréal to Frankfurt. For a successful global transformation of the economy, it is crucial that we join forces for a more sustainable future and support the ISSB to create a global baseline for this. The working visit to Frankfurt was an important step in this direction."

Impressions from the Working Visit

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
(Visited 104 times, 1 visits today)
Close

Written by 12:00 Finanzplatz, International, Nachhaltigkeit, TOP-NEWS

Delegation des Finanzplatzes Montréal zu einem Arbeitsbesuch in Frankfurt

Vertreter der Finanzplätze Montréal und Frankfurt trafen sich in Frankfurt zu einem Arbeitsbesuch und besprachen die Zukunft ihrer weiteren Zusammenarbeit.

Vertreter der Finanzplätze Montréal und Frankfurt trafen sich am 29. November 2023 zu einem Arbeitsbesuch in Frankfurt und diskutierten die Zukunft ihrer weiteren Zusammenarbeit. Im Mittelpunkt stand das Thema “Sustainable Finance”. Die Finanzplatzinitiativen Finance Montréal und Frankfurt Main Finance hatten bereits im Juni dieses Jahres eine gemeinsame Absichtserklärung zur Unterstützung des International Sustainability Standards Board (ISSB) unterzeichnet, das an beiden Finanzplätzen eine Niederlassung hat. Die Finanzplätze sollen insbesondere in den Bereichen Forschung und Kapazitätsaufbau enger zusammenarbeiten, um das ISSB bei der Schaffung einer globalen Basis für die Nachhaltigkeitsberichterstattung zu unterstützen.

Nach der Begrüßung bei Frankfurt Main Finance und dem Eschborner Büro von Ernst & Young stellte das ISSB-Team in seinem Frankfurter Büro die kürzlich veröffentlichten Standards für die Nachhaltigkeitsberichterstattung im Detail vor. Darüber hinaus stellte es weitere Meilensteine der Organisation seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 2021 auf der Weltklimakonferenz COP 26 vor. Die Vertreter der beiden Finanzplätze waren sich einig, die ISSB-Standards als globale Grundlage zu fördern und dabei Nachvollziehbarkeit und Transparenz in den Vordergrund zu stellen.

Weitere Anlaufstellen für die Delegation aus Montreal waren die Frankfurt School of Finance & Management, das House of Finance der Goethe-Universität und die Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences. Auch das Green and Sustainable Finance Cluster Germany (GSFCG), das eine wichtige Rolle in der Zusammenarbeit zwischen Frankfurt und Montréal spielt, war maßgeblich an der Organisation des Besuchs beteiligt und war Teil des zweitägigen Programms.

Darüber hinaus empfingen die Wirtschaftsförderung Frankfurt und die Frankfurt RheinMain GmbH die Delegation zu einem Expertendialog und boten neben Zahlen und Fakten zum Finanzplatz Frankfurt auch die Möglichkeit, Themen wie Steuern und Regulierung zu diskutieren. Die projektbezogene Zusammenarbeit wurde von beiden Seiten begrüßt.

Stimmen der Finanzplatzinitiativen

"Das Treffen mit unseren Kollegen von Frankfurt Main Finance im Rahmen unserer Mission für nachhaltige Finanzen war ein Muss. Vor sechs Monaten haben sich unsere beiden Organisationen verpflichtet, zusammenzuarbeiten, um einen gemeinsamen Rahmen für Programme zum Aufbau von Kapazitäten für nachhaltige Finanzen im Finanzsektor zu schaffen. Der konstruktive Austausch, den wir bei diesem Treffen hatten, ist unerlässlich, um die Ziele zu erreichen, die wir uns gesetzt haben. Nur wenn wir auf globaler Ebene eng zusammenarbeiten, werden wir den grundlegenden Wandel, zu dem wir uns verpflichtet haben, erfolgreich vollziehen können."

"Es war mir eine Freude, unsere Partner aus Montréal in Frankfurt zu begrüßen. Für eine erfolgreiche globale Transformation der Wirtschaft ist es entscheidend, dass wir unsere Kräfte für eine nachhaltigere Zukunft bündeln und das ISSB dabei unterstützen, eine globale Basis dafür zu schaffen. Der Arbeitsbesuch in Frankfurt war ein wichtiger Schritt in diese Richtung."

Impressionen des Arbeitsbesuches

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
(Visited 84 times, 1 visits today)
Close