Written by 9:00 International, International

Guangzhou, China

Not only the City of Frankfurt formed a partnership with the Chinese metropolis Guangzhou but also the both financial centre initiatives signed an agreement on future cooperation in 2019.

In the Memorandum of Strengthening Communication and Cooperation between Guangzhou Municipal Local Financial Supervision and Administration and Frankfurt Main Finance, both parties emphasize that their main concern is the economic development and mutual support of the financial centres by making the best use of their networks and locational advantages. Moreover, the agreement includes sharing information, participating in each other’s green industries and Fintech infrastructure, exchanging talent, and helping domestic companies to start doing business in the respective allied financial hub.

While the City of Frankfurt upholds a strong sister city relationship and student exchange with the City of Guangzhou since 1988, the both financial centre organizations joined forces in 2019. The capital of the Guangdong province has long been the main hub for European goods in China, and like Frankfurt in Europe, Guangzhou remains one of the most important financial and trading centres in Asia.

panorama bild der skyline von guangzhou, blick auf wolkenkratzer der stadt vor lila-gelbem sonnenuntergang

The port city of southern China is home to the famous Cantonese cuisine

As the origin of the ancient Chinese Maritime Silk Road, China’s third-biggest city has been a strategically important city for centuries due to its location on the Pearl River and its proximity to Hong Kong. In terms of transportation, the city is optimally connected to the rest of China and the world through various ports, an international airport and several railroad stations. Besides a well-organized transportation infrastructure, the city is home to numerous universities and high-tech companies that attract young graduates and scientific workers, driving further the population growth of this highly urbanized region.

More than 2000 years old, the city offers a wide range of attractions that reflect the historical cultural heritage as well as the vibrant modernity of the metropolis. The so called Eight Sights of Guangzhou are a collection of the eight most famous buildings and landmarks in the city. The Canton Tower is one of them, which is the city’s landmark and China’s tallest TV tower at a height of 600 m, from where visitors can enjoy the top view over the whole city. Another popular site is the Chen Clan Ancestral Hall, which is nowadays used as a folk museum, but was originally built as a huge ancient temple in the late 19th century.

An important part of Guangzhou’s culture is the local Cantonese cuisine: food-lovers will find more restaurants per capita than anywhere else in China. Fuelled by the economic development, visitors are offered a seemingly endless variety of dishes – an internationally renowned one is Dim Sum. As part of a comprehensive cultural policy plan, the city plans to increase the number of its libraries and museums many times over by 2035, as prospects for newer creative industries look promising.

Images: Unsplash and Pixabay

(Visited 20 times, 1 visits today)
Close

Written by 9:00 International

Guangzhou, China

Nicht nur die Stadt Frankfurt hat eine Partnerschaft mit der chinesischen Metropole Guangzhou geschlossen, auch die beiden Finanzplatzinitiativen haben 2019 eine Vereinbarung zur zukünftigen Zusammenarbeit unterzeichnet.

Im Memorandum of Strengthening Communication and Cooperation zwischen der lokalen Finanzaufsicht und -verwaltung der Stadt Guangzhou und Frankfurt Main Finance betonen beide Parteien, dass ihr Hauptanliegen die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung und die gegenseitige Unterstützung der Finanzzentren durch die optimale Nutzung ihrer Netzwerke und Standortvorteile ist. Darüber hinaus umfasst die Vereinbarung den Informationsaustausch, die Beteiligung an den Green Industries und der Fintech-Infrastruktur des Partners, den Austausch von Talenten und die Unterstützung inländischer Unternehmen bei der Aufnahme von Geschäften an dem jeweils anderen Finanzplatz.

Während die Stadt Frankfurt seit 1988 eine enge Städtepartnerschaft und regen Schüleraustausch mit der Stadt Guangzhou pflegt, haben sich ebenso die Finanzplatzinitiativen beider Städte 2019 zusammengeschlossen. Die Hauptstadt der Provinz Guangdong war lange Zeit das wichtigste Drehkreuz für europäische Waren in China und, wie Frankfurt in Europa, ist Guangzhou nach wie vor eines der wichtigsten Finanz- und Handelszentren in Asien.

panorama bild der skyline von guangzhou, blick auf wolkenkratzer der stadt vor lila-gelbem sonnenuntergang

Die Hafenstadt in Südchina ist die Heimat der berühmten kantonesischen Küche

Als Ursprung der alten chinesischen maritimen Seidenstraße ist die drittgrößte Stadt Chinas aufgrund ihrer Lage am Perlfluss und der Nähe zu Hongkong seit Jahrhunderten eine strategisch wichtige Stadt. Verkehrstechnisch ist Guangzhou durch verschiedene Häfen, einen internationalen Flughafen und mehrere Bahnhöfe optimal mit dem Rest Chinas und der Welt verbunden. Die Stadt beherbergt auch zahlreiche Universitäten und Hightech-Unternehmen, die junge Akademikerinnen und Akademiker sowie wissenschaftliche Arbeitskräfte anziehen und das Bevölkerungswachstum dieser stark urbanisierten Region weiter vorantreiben.

In der über 2.000 Jahre alten Stadt gibt es eine Vielzahl von Attraktionen, die sowohl das historische kulturelle Erbe als auch die pulsierende Modernität der Metropole widerspiegeln. Die sogenannten Eight Sights of Guangzhou sind eine Sammlung der acht berühmtesten Gebäude und Sehenswürdigkeiten der Stadt. Der Canton Tower beispielsweise ist das Wahrzeichen der Stadt und mit einer Höhe von 600 Metern der höchste Fernsehturm Chinas, von dessen Spitze aus die Besuchenden einen Blick über die ganze Stadt ergattern können. Ein weiterer beliebter Ort ist die Ahnenhalle des Chen-Clans, ein riesiger alter Tempel, der Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts errichtet wurde und heute als Museum dient.

Ein wichtiger Teil der Kultur in Guangzhou ist die lokale kantonesische Küche: In der Stadt finden Feinschmecker mehr Restaurants pro Kopf als irgendwo sonst in China. Angetrieben durch die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung wird den Besuchenden eine schier unendliche Vielfalt an Gerichten geboten – ein international Bekanntes ist Dim Sum. Im Rahmen eines umfassenden kulturpolitischen Plans will die Stadt zudem bis zum Jahr 2035 die Zahl ihrer Bibliotheken und Museen um ein Vielfaches erhöhen, da die Aussichten für neuere kreative Industrien vielversprechend sind.

Bilder: Unsplash und Pixabay

(Visited 54 times, 1 visits today)
Close