Written by 15:07 FinTech, TOP-NEWS

FinTechGermany Award goes Ländle

FinTech community listen up: On 29 September, the FinTech Germany Awards 2021 will be presented – for the first time in Stuttgart and not in Frankfurt as usual!

On 29 September, the FinTech Germany Awards 2021 will be presented – for the first time in Stuttgart and not in Frankfurt as usual ! We asked Gerhard Wiesheu, President of Frankfurt Main Finance and Board Member at Bankhaus Metzler, Michael Mellinghoff, Managing Director of Techfluence UK and Franz Công Bùi, Head of Online Editorial at Börsen-Zeitung, about the role of location for a FinTech in a digital world and where the FinTech Germany Award will continue its journey through Germany in the coming years.

Berlin, Düsseldorf, Frankfurt, Hamburg, Cologne, Munich, Stuttgart – Germany offers several attractive locations for FinTechs. What makes these cities sought-after hubs for FinTechs?

Michael Mellinghoff |Start-ups are often founded where the founder lives, so it is not surprising that in decentrally structured Germany without a dominant metropolis like London for England, Paris for France or Vienna for Austria, the larger urban centres are developing into start-up hubs. But please don’t forget the many many start-ups that are not located in the metropolitan areas. In the past years since 2016, we have received many great applications at the FTGA that did not come from aforementioned metropolitan areas. Good ideas can come from anywhere.

Gerhard Wiesheu | The Brexit also caused movement, as many London FinTechs have relocated their headquarters to Frankfurt, Berlin or Munich, among other places. The choice of these companies in favour of Germany as a business location is favoured by many factors: These include for example, favourable financing conditions, human capital, versatile training opportunities, liveable cities and a good infrastructure. The locations in Germany offer all of these.

Franz Công Bùi | It is well known, that aforementioned metropolitan areas offer a large number of potential employees who expect greater upward mobility from a city, but also a variety of offers for the work-life balance. Then there are logistical and technological advantages, and there are often already existing ecosystems, which makes networking with others and positioning one’s own offering much easier. In addition, there is often a certain density of potential customers and cooperation partners, and in some places a proximity to regulatory authorities or other institutions relevant to the business.

Short List 2021

View the short list for the FinTech Germany Award 2021 now!

What role does the choice of location play for FinTechs? In a digital world, does it matter where the official company headquarters are?

Michael Mellinghoff | It’s true that you can initially have the legal company headquarters in another location, but founders need their team within shouting distance, especially in the early stages. It is not for nothing that people say that in start-up investments – especially in the early phase, the team is the be-all and end-all as long as the business model has not yet proven itself on the market. In times of this pandemic, it has been an additional challenge for young teams, mostly successful founders and founding teams are characterised by a special ability to adapt.

Gerhard Wiesheu | Although the majority of entrepreneurial activities take place digitally, especially in times of a pandemic, one should not underestimate the choice of location – because employees have to live somewhere. The “soft factors” of a company’s location, such as lifestyle, openness, internationality, culture, nature, infrastructure, health, safety and housing, are more than just the icing on the cake in the location competition: they determine whether employees and their families feel comfortable – and Germany can absolutely score points with this.

 

Many companies are suffering from the restrictions of the pandemic, some are benefiting from the situation, because it is a catalyst for a long overdue for digitalisation. To what extent will these developments leave lasting changes in the financial sector after the pandemic is over and FinTechs remain at the centre of attention?

Gerhard Wiesheu | FinTechs are now a serious competitor for classic banks, because they can offer their services to customers without detours. According to a study by the consulting firm PwC, almost 40 % of all European bank branches could close by 2023 to compensate for profit losses. At the same time, many are missing the leap to digitalisation – accordingly their market share in digital offers for their customers is low. FinTechs are filling this market gap, even if their profits and market shares are currently still lower than those of traditional banks. However, the financing rounds of German FinTechs in recent months prove that the FinTech industry has great growth potential and is driving digital innovations within the financial sector. The interest of traditional banks in cooperation opportunities is correspondingly high.

Franz Công Bùi | Currently, it can be observed that some FinTechs are merging, acquiring each other or being taken over by established financial service providers. The same applies to many acting persons, as there have also been many changes from FinTechs to, for example banks. It will be interesting to see whether there are enough new FinTechs and founders to fill the arising gaps. This also depends on the framework conditions for start-ups, where there is still some room for improvement.

Michael Mellinghoff | The pandemic acts like a fire accelerator on all business models that profit directly or indirectly from the change in people’s lives, caused by the pandemic. The study results mentioned by Mr Wiesheu are therefore understandable: If many customers are not allowed to visit a bank branch, are unable to or want to for precautionary reasons, bank management will (have to) quickly ask themselves whether this expensive investment is still worthwhile, if the large mass of customers are able and willing to bank online anyway. A good example are the online brokers, who were literally overrun by the trading storm of the new stock market players sitting at home.

How sustainable the newly achieved turnover levels in the individual FinTech sectors will be depends on the sector and is of course company-specific. What is clear is that the change in lifestyle – otherwise a rather long-term process – has happened or had to happen virtually overnight.

Germany is an attractive location for foreign FinTechs. It is not for nothing that the FinTech Germany Award presents the award “Best Foreign Entrant to Germany”. To what extent do pandemic restrictions have an impact on cross-border activities in the FinTech sector?

Michael Mellinghoff | We introduced the award for foreign FinTech start-ups in Germany at the FTGA a few years ago, because the German market is also appealingly large from an international perspective and thus attractive as a service market. However, a large market also has disadvantages: It sometimes makes market participants sluggish. In smaller markets, we sometimes observe innovative business models earlier than in Germany. So the award for foreign start-ups also has something to do with international competition monitoring and promotion.

Gerhard Wiesheu | The FinTech sector is clearly one of the few winners of the Corona pandemic, as the digitalisation of financial services – and also in many other areas of life – has accelerated immensely and thus boosted the FinTechs’ business model. The global lockdown restrictions have shifted large parts of economic and private life into the digital space: while international supply chains have stalled or come to a complete standstill, the digital ecosystem continues unabated. At the same time, FinTechs have used the time to position themselves more broadly and internationally through cooperations with classic banks.

Franz Công Bùi | There were certainly expansion plans of some FinTechs that were put on hold for the time being during the pandemic. But at the end of the day, I did not notice a real slowdown in the efforts to penetrate the markets of other countries on a broad scale. In some cases, some start-ups have even emphasised the need to expand abroad in order to generate growth.

What challenges and opportunities does the German FinTech ecosystem currently face?

Gerhard Wiesheu | Good conditions must be created for the foundation and growth of FinTechs: For example, Frankfurt has taken many right steps in building the digital ecosystem. Alongside Berlin, Frankfurt has become a funding cluster for FinTechs. Important foundations have been laid with accelerators and incubators, the SDG FinTech Initiative for Sustainability, the Techquartier and the FinTechGermany Award. It is important that the financial industry supports German FinTechs in making the leap to internationality. At the same time, Germany must be a good place for international FinTechs to enter the market. It cannot only be thought of nationally, it’s always embedded in an international context.

Michael Mellinghoff | For the first time in history, the internet enables something like global monopolies. Country-specific regulation prevents this to a certain extent in the FinTech segment, but the trend of the path is marked out, see Paypal for example. Unfortunately, there is a high probability that a global monopolist or a quasi-monopolist will not come from the EU. This prospect should actually unite the individual hubs in Germany and ultimately also fuel the collaboration between banks and FinTechs. A strong opponent unites. Who that will be and when in which segment is, in my view, the exciting question.

The FinTech Germany Award is travelling through Germany and will stop in Stuttgart this year. Can you already reveal where the golden tongs will be presented in the coming years?

Michael Mellinghoff | I hope that we can make guest appearances in all FinTech or InsurTech hubs in Germany in the coming years. Because the core of the FTGA is a wide-ranging jury of 24 members who come from many cities in Germany, and the start-up applications also come from all over the country.

Gerhard Wiesheu | Of course we are looking forward to this year’s award ceremony in Stuttgart, but we can already reveal this much: The next Fintech Germany Award will definitely be presented in Germany.

 

Cover photo: FinTech Germany Award
Short List Photo: Sebastian Staines/Unsplash

Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print
(Visited 7 times, 1 visits today)
Close

Written by 15:07 FinTech, TOP-NEWS

FinTechGermany Award goes Ländle

FinTech-Community aufgepasst: Am 29. September werden die FinTech Germany Awards 2021 verliehen – erstmals nicht in Frankfurt, sondern in Stuttgart!

Am 29. September werden die FinTech Germany Awards 2021 verliehen – erstmals nicht in Frankfurt, sondern in Stuttgart! Wir haben Gerhard Wiesheu, Präsident von Frankfurt Main Finance und Vorstand beim Bankhaus Metzler, Michael Mellinghoff, Managing Director von Techfluence UK und Franz Công Bùi, Leiter der Online-Redaktion der Börsen-Zeitung, gefragt, welche Rolle der Standort für ein FinTech in einer digitalen Welt spielt und wo der FinTech Germany Award seine Reise durch Deutschland in den nächsten Jahren fortsetzt.

Berlin, Düsseldorf, Frankfurt, Hamburg, Köln, München, Stuttgart – Deutschland bietet gleich mehrere attraktive Standorte für FinTechs an. Was macht diese Städte zu gefragten Hubs für FinTechs?

Michael Mellinghoff | Gegründet wird zudem häufig dort, wo der Gründer wohnt, insofern überrascht es nicht, dass im dezentral strukturierten Deutschland ohne dominante Metropole wie London für England, Paris für Frankreich oder Wien für Österreich die größeren Ballungszentren sich zu Gründer-Hubs entwickeln. Aber vergessen Sie bitte nicht die vielen, vielen Startups, die nicht in den Ballungszentren angesiedelt sind. Wir haben in den vergangenen Jahren seit 2016 beim FTGA sehr viele Bewerbungen erhalten, die nicht aus den genannten Ballungszentren stammten. Gute Ideen können überall entstehen.

Gerhard Wiesheu | Der Brexit sorgte darüber hinaus für Bewegung, denn viele Londoner FinTechs haben ihren Hauptsitz unter anderem nach Frankfurt, Berlin oder München verlegt. Die Wahl dieser Unternehmen zugunsten des Wirtschaftsstandortes Deutschland wird von vielen Faktoren begünstigt: Dazu gehören beispielsweise günstige Finanzierungsbedingungen, Humankapital, vielseitige Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten, lebenswerte Städte und eine gute Infrastruktur. All das bieten die Standorte in Deutschland.

Franz Công Bùi | Bekanntlich bieten die genannten Ballungszentren eine Vielzahl an potenziellen Mitarbeitenden, die sich von einer Stadt eine größere Upward Mobility, aber auch vielfältige Angebote für die Work-Life-Balance versprechen. Dann gibt es dort logistische und technologische Vorteile, und es sind oftmals schon bestehende Ökosysteme vorhanden, was die Vernetzung mit anderen und auch die Positionierung des eigenen Angebots deutlich vereinfacht. Hinzu kommt vielfach auch eine gewisse Dichte an potenziellen Kunden und Kooperationspartnern, und mancherorts auch die Nähe zu Regulierungsbehörden oder anderen fürs Geschäft relevanten Institutionen.

Short List 2021

Jetzt die Short List für den FinTech Germany Award 2021 einsehen!

Welche Rolle spielt die Standortwahl für FinTechs? Ist es in einer digitalen Welt nicht egal, wo der offizielle Unternehmenssitz ist?

Michael Mellinghoff | Ganz und gar nicht! Zwar kann man den rechtlichen Unternehmenssitz zunächst an einem anderen Ort haben, aber Gründer brauchen gerade in der Anfangsphase ihr Team in Rufweite. Nicht umsonst sagt man, dass bei Startup-Investments – erst recht in der Frühphase – das Team das A&O ist, solange das Geschäftsmodell sich noch nicht am Markt bewährt hat. In Pandemiezeiten ist das für junge Teams eine zusätzliche Herausforderung gewesen, aber die meisten erfolgreichen Gründer und Gründerteams zeichnen sich ja durch eine besondere Anpassungsfähigkeit aus.

Gerhard Wiesheu | Zwar spielt sich, vor allem in Pandemiezeiten, der Großteil der unternehmerischen Tätigkeiten digital ab, doch man sollte die Standortwahl nicht unterschätzen – denn irgendwo müssen die Mitarbeitenden leben. „Soft factors“ des Unternehmenssitzes wie Lebensgefühl, Offenheit, Internationalität, Kultur, Natur, Infrastruktur, Gesundheit, Sicherheit und Wohnen sind mehr als ein i-Tüpfelchen im Standortwettbewerb: Sie entscheiden, ob die Mitarbeitenden und ihre Familien sich wohlfühlen – und Deutschland kann damit absolut punkten.

Viele Unternehmen leiden unter den Einschränkungen der Pandemie, manche profitieren von der Situation, weil sie ein Katalysator für überfällige Digitalisierung ist. Inwiefern werden diese Entwicklungen nach dem Ende der Pandemie nachhaltige Veränderungen im Finanzsektor hinterlassen und FinTechs im Zentrum der Aufmerksamkeit bleiben?

Gerhard Wiesheu | FinTechs sind mittlerweile eine ernstzunehmende Konkurrenz für klassische Banken, da sie ihre Dienstleistungen dem Kunden ohne Umwege anbieten können. Laut einer Studie der Unternehmensberatung PwC könnten bis 2023 knapp 40 % aller europäischen Bankfilialen schließen, um Gewinneinbrüche zu kompensieren. Gleichzeitig verpassen viele den Sprung zur Digitalisierung – dementsprechend gering ist ihr Marktanteil bei digitalen Angeboten für ihre Kunden. FinTechs füllen diese Marktlücke, auch wenn ihre Gewinne und Marktanteile zurzeit noch geringer sind als die klassischer Banken. Die Finanzierungsrunden deutscher FinTechs der vergangenen Monate beweisen jedoch, dass die FinTech-Branche ein großes Wachstumspotenzial hat und digitale Innovationen innerhalb der Finanzbranche vorantreibt. Entsprechend groß ist das Interesse klassischer Banken an Kooperationsmöglichkeiten.

Franz Công Bùi | Derzeit ist zu beobachten, dass einige FinTechs sich zusammenschließen, einander übernehmen oder von etablierten Finanzdienstleistern übernommen werden. Gleiches gilt auch für viele handelnde Personen, denn auch hier hat es viele Wechsel aus FinTechs in zum Beispiel Banken gegeben. Interessant wird es sein, zu sehen, ob es dann wiederum genügend neue FinTechs und Gründer gibt, die nachwachsen und die entstehenden Lücken füllen. Und das hängt auch von den Rahmenbedingungen für Gründungen ab, bei denen es noch einige Luft nach oben gibt.

Michael Mellinghoff | Die Pandemie wirkt wie ein Brandbeschleuniger auf alle Geschäftsmodelle, die unmittelbar oder mittelbar von der durch die Pandemie erfolgte Lebensumstellung der Menschen profitieren. Die von Herrn Wiesheu genannten Studienergebnisse sind daher nachvollziehbar: Wenn vielen Kunden eine Bankfiliale nicht besuchen dürfen, können oder aus Vorsichtsgründen möchten, wird sich das Bankmanagement schnell die Frage stellen (müssen), ob diese teure Investition noch lohnenswert ist, wenn ohnehin die große Masse der Kunden onlinebanking-fähig und -willig ist. Ein schönes Beispiel sind auch die Online-Broker, die vom Handelssturm der zu Hause sitzenden Neu-Börsianer förmlich überrannt wurden.

Wie nachhaltig die neu erreichten Umsatzniveaus in den einzelnen Fintech-Sektoren sein werden, ist sektorabhängig und natürlich unternehmensspezifisch. Klar ist, dass die Umstellung der Lebensgewohnheiten – sonst ein eher langfristiger Prozess – quasi über Nacht geschehen ist bzw. geschehen musste.

Deutschland ist ein attraktiver Standort für ausländische FinTechs. Nicht umsonst vergibt der Fintech Germany Award die Auszeichnung „Best Foreign Entrant to Germany“. Inwiefern haben die Pandemie-Einschränkungen die länderübergreifenden Aktivitäten im FinTech-Sektor beeinflusst?

Michael Mellinghoff | Den Award für ausländische FinTech-Startups in Deutschland haben wir vor einigen Jahren beim FTGA eingeführt, weil der deutsche Markt auch aus internationaler Sicht ansprechend groß und damit als Dienstleistungsmarkt attraktiv ist. Ein großer Markt hat aber auch Nachteile: Er macht die Marktteilnehmer mitunter träge. In kleineren Märkten beobachten wir mitunter innovative Geschäftsmodelle früher als in Deutschland. Der Award für ausländische Startups hat also auch etwas von internationaler Wettbewerbsbeobachtung und -förderung.

Gerhard Wiesheu | Der FinTech-Sektor ist eindeutig einer der wenigen Gewinner der Corona-Pandemie, da die Digitalisierung von Finanzdienstleistungen – und auch in vielen anderen Lebensbereichen – immens beschleunigt wurde und somit das Geschäftsmodell der FinTechs beflügelt hat. Die weltweiten Lockdown-Einschränkungen haben große Teile des Wirtschafts- und Privatlebens in den digitalen Raum verlagert: Während internationale Lieferketten ins Stocken geraten oder ganz zum Stillstand gekommen sind, läuft das digitale Ökosystem ungebremst weiter. Gleichzeitig haben FinTechs die Zeit genutzt, sich durch Kooperationen mit klassischen Banken breiter und internationaler aufzustellen.

Franz Công Bùi | Es gab sicher Expansionspläne mancher FinTechs, die durch die Pandemie fürs Erste aufs Eis gelegt wurden. Aber letztlich ließ sich für mich ein richtiges Abebben der Bestrebungen, in die Märkte anderer Länder vorzudringen, nicht in der Breite wahrnehmen. Zum Teil ist bei manchen Startups sogar die Notwendigkeit unterstrichen worden, ins Ausland zu expandieren, um Wachstum zu generieren.

Was sind die Herausforderungen und Chancen, vor denen das deutsche FinTech-Ökosystem aktuell steht?

Gerhard Wiesheu | Es müssen gute Voraussetzungen für die Gründung und das Wachstum von FinTechs geschaffen werden: Beim Aufbau des digitalen Ökosystems hat Frankfurt beispielsweise viele richtige Schritte unternommen. So wurde Frankfurt neben Berlin ein Fördercluster für FinTechs. Mit Acceleratoren und Inkubatoren, der SDG-FinTech-Initiative für Nachhaltigkeit, dem Techquartier und dem FintechGermany Award sind wichtige Grundlagen gelegt. Es ist wichtig, dass die Finanzindustrie deutsche FinTechs beim Sprung in die Internationalität unterstützt. Gleichzeitig muss Deutschland ein guter Platz für Markteintritte internationaler FinTechs sein. FinTech kann nicht nur national gedacht werden, sondern ist immer in einen internationalen Kontext eingebettet.

Michael Mellinghoff | Das Internet ermöglicht erstmals in der Geschichte, so etwas wie globale Monopole. Die länderspezifische Regulierung verhindert das zwar im FinTech-Segment ein Stück weit, aber die Tendenz des Weges ist vorgezeichnet, siehe zum Beispiel Paypal. Leider ist die Wahrscheinlichkeit ist groß, dass ein globaler Monopolist oder ein Quasimonopolist nicht aus der EU kommt. Diese Aussicht sollte eigentlich die einzelnen Hubs in Deutschland einen und letztlich auch die Kollaboration zwischen Banken und FinTechs befeuern. Ein starker Gegner eint. Wer das wann in welchem FinTech-Segment sein wird, ist aus meiner Sicht die spannende Frage.

Der FinTech Germany Award reist durch Deutschland und macht dieses Jahr in Stuttgart Halt. Können Sie schon verraten, wo in den nächsten Jahren die goldenen Zangen überreicht werden?

Michael Mellinghoff | Ich hoffe, dass wir in allen FinTech oder InsurTech-Hubs in Deutschland in den kommenden Jahren gastieren können. Denn Kernstück des FTGA ist die breit gefächerte derzeit 24-köpfige Jury, deren Mitglieder aus vielen Städten in Deutschland stammen und auch die Startup-Bewerbungen kommen verteilt aus der ganzen Republik.

Gerhard Wiesheu | Wir freuen uns natürlich erst einmal auf die diesjährige Verleihung in Stuttgart, können aber schon so viel verraten: Der nächste Fintech Germany Award wird definitiv in Deutschland verliehen.

 

Titelbild: FinTech Germany Award
Short List Foto: Sebastian Staines via Unsplash

Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print
(Visited 93 times, 1 visits today)
Close